• Record Label: Sony
  • Release Date: Jun 13, 2000
User Score
9.1

Universal acclaim- based on 112 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 2 out of 112

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jack
    Jul 12, 2006
    10
    Oh yes... Ohhh yes.
  2. May 28, 2011
    10
    Staggering. A masterpiece of sound, ambition, ambiance, and songwriting, this album is something that no alt-rock collection is complete without.
  3. TimE
    Nov 8, 2005
    6
    This is a fans only record. All the hardcore fans will say this is the best because it didn't have any top 40 hits. I aint no sell out and say that Good News... is there epic masterpiece
  4. tim
    Mar 20, 2007
    5
    Neither is this one ya assclown! I hate it when people backtrack instead of sticking to their guns and that's what people did with this record. I guarendamtee you had "float on" not become such a hit this album would simply be considered average.
  5. [Anonymous]
    Mar 20, 2007
    5
    You 2 are right this album is a masterpiece....of crap. Don't hate just because your precious emo became mainstream.
  6. time
    Nov 14, 2006
    5
    Give me a break! Spin magazine was right the first time. And this was back when Spin was considered groundbreaking. Nobody even payed attention to this album until "Float On" became a hit. People were pissed off at them for making it big so they just went to this album because it was more "Indie" than "Good News..." Hating a band because they had a hit. How pathetic. Good News is not only Give me a break! Spin magazine was right the first time. And this was back when Spin was considered groundbreaking. Nobody even payed attention to this album until "Float On" became a hit. People were pissed off at them for making it big so they just went to this album because it was more "Indie" than "Good News..." Hating a band because they had a hit. How pathetic. Good News is not only their best but it's one of the best albums of the entire decade. Expand
  7. JimT.
    Jun 7, 2001
    10
    Now, the thing about this album is, it's totally excellent. Do not listen to such naysayers as "Spin", for they are wrong. "The Moon and Antarctica" is not just that it is the best Modest Mouse album yet, but that it is the best American album of 2000.
  8. PhilV
    Jul 29, 2005
    10
    A very impressive musical blender. The Moon & Antarctica drives itself from the wandery first song - 3rd Planet, coasts through to a steep turn - tiny city's made of ash. Out of that twist, comes a race to end, with a wide open What People Are Made Of. Four more songs remain... "retellings" of 4 previous tracks, in case you do not have autorepeat. Go ahead press autorepeat now. It is A very impressive musical blender. The Moon & Antarctica drives itself from the wandery first song - 3rd Planet, coasts through to a steep turn - tiny city's made of ash. Out of that twist, comes a race to end, with a wide open What People Are Made Of. Four more songs remain... "retellings" of 4 previous tracks, in case you do not have autorepeat. Go ahead press autorepeat now. It is worth it. Having recieved this CD in Dec of 04 I am still popping it in Aug 05. Until iPods have lyric sheets, this disk will be traveling with me. Expand
  9. AndrewK
    Sep 9, 2005
    10
    So just because lame music review sites in some drunken stupor rate this amazing album 30-70 it gets an 80????? That is incredibly stupid as this album is amazing. A tip for reviewing an album is to actually listen to ALL songs instead of the two widely advertised ones..... Anyway woohoo pitchfork media, best music site ever
  10. dr.tufflove
    Mar 3, 2007
    9
    While it is certain that anyone with a brain can agree that time e is an idiot, he does make one good point: Good News is one of the best albums of the this decade. Moon & A is timeless and confirms Isaac Brock is a friggin' genius.
  11. GregoryS.
    Apr 13, 2002
    6
    Ok, I'm going to try to explain this the best way I can. I love Modest Mouse. When I first heard Brock's voice on Neverending Math Equation, I couldn't help but be interested. The voice grew on me, and I have adored the group ever since. I love(d) their stripped-down, rockin feel, and Isaac's lyrics always hit home, regardless of whether or not you knew what the hell Ok, I'm going to try to explain this the best way I can. I love Modest Mouse. When I first heard Brock's voice on Neverending Math Equation, I couldn't help but be interested. The voice grew on me, and I have adored the group ever since. I love(d) their stripped-down, rockin feel, and Isaac's lyrics always hit home, regardless of whether or not you knew what the hell he was talking about. Modest Mouse have songs that are as emotional as songs get: Edit the Sad Parts, Dramamine, Talkin Shit About a Pretty Sunset, Baby Blue Sedan, Positive/Negative, Other People's Lives, Broke, Bankrupt on Sellin, etc. I could go forever. But now comes along The Moon and Antarctica, an album time and time again I have given chances to grow on me, yet it fails to succeed. Purists will tell you Modest Mouse "sold out" when they signed with Epic. They didn't. They wanted to make an album with good production values and a lot of bells and whistles to enhance the emotional impact of their songs. But, instead of helping the listener connect with Brock's thoughts, the production distances us even more from the already emotion-less tracks on this sadly misdirected album. Some of the tracks here are almost unlistenable - Tiny Cities Made of Ashes sounds like it was fished out of a dumpster and then rearranged with a few ill-placed synth arrangements in the backround. Some, like A Different City, The cold Part, Alone Down There, and Perfect Disguise are simply boring, go nowhere and do nothing. Luckily, the first few tracks aren't complete throwaways, though they make me beg for what I can now safely call the "old days" when the band were more sincere. Out of the fifteen tracks on this album, there are a few that can stand side by side with some of the Mouse's old work: The Stars Are Projectors has that epic feel that made some of their previous stuff so engrossing, Paper Thin Walls, I Came As a Rat and What People Are Made Of are the kind of departures from typical Modest Mouse the band could have used more of. And finally, Lives is about as intimate as the band has ever got. More than anyone on the face of this planet I would like to recommend this record, because, like the Pixies and Pavement before them, they used to really be able to reach out to me with their music, whether they meant to or not. The Moon and Antarctica is a blemish on the face of what once was (and still might be) a very promising career. Just take "night on the sun", now that's a Modest Mouse song. Here's hoping one day I'll be able to find out what makes this album so good, like everyone has been saying. Expand
  12. dans
    Jun 10, 2003
    10
    genius, nothing more needs to be said
  13. daver
    Oct 18, 2005
    10
    freking awsome!
  14. LawrenceP
    Mar 7, 2005
    10
    I think this will be one of the best LP's of the 90's. Spin magazine doesn't know what the hell they are talking about. It wouldn't surprise me if the same magazine praises their next LP!
  15. JulioP
    Oct 4, 2006
    10
    A fantastic album. You will listen to this over and over...
  16. ryan
    Jan 4, 2007
    9
    Tim E, you are an idiot. Moon & Antarctica had people complaining about people moving away from their "indie" sound. This album had tons of accolades at the time it came out. Good News ain't a terrible album but itcertainly aint great.
  17. JohannB
    Feb 21, 2008
    10
    It's an absolute masterpiece. If you grew up in the Rocky Mountains then you get it. Isaac and company capture what it was like to grow up and to come of age in those barren wastelands. I'm still a huge "Lonesome..." fan, but this edges it out.
  18. Kevin
    Nov 5, 2009
    10
    I first caught on to Modest Mouse after hearing Ocean Breathes Salty. For a while, all I listened to was their more mainstream albums. I thought they where great at the time, and they where, but they got old. That's when I came across this album. Compared to The Moon and Antarctica, Good News and We Were Dead are fluff. Sure they've got some pretty cool guitar jams and catchy I first caught on to Modest Mouse after hearing Ocean Breathes Salty. For a while, all I listened to was their more mainstream albums. I thought they where great at the time, and they where, but they got old. That's when I came across this album. Compared to The Moon and Antarctica, Good News and We Were Dead are fluff. Sure they've got some pretty cool guitar jams and catchy tunes, but they're nowhere near as deep and inquisitive as The Moon. I'm not saying that they're bad albums, they're definitely listen worthy, but The Moon and Antarctica is just so good. Expand
  19. Sam
    Apr 12, 2010
    10
    Angst never felt so good.
  20. AndrewC.
    May 25, 2001
    9
    Manages to be both diverse and coherent; both wry and beautiful.
  21. JonS.
    Jul 28, 2001
    9
    Why would ANYONE base their musical choices on pathetic publications such as Spin and Rolling Stone? Modest Mouse is fabulous.
  22. Dan
    Aug 31, 2002
    10
    well, let's start from the beginning. moon... opens with 3rd planet, easily among the most beautiful songs i've ever heard before continuing into the luscious pop hooks of gravity rides everything and the fiercely individualistic albeit catchy dark center of the universe and the simple, acoustic beauty of perfect disguise. from there on, the songs only grow bigger, more well, let's start from the beginning. moon... opens with 3rd planet, easily among the most beautiful songs i've ever heard before continuing into the luscious pop hooks of gravity rides everything and the fiercely individualistic albeit catchy dark center of the universe and the simple, acoustic beauty of perfect disguise. from there on, the songs only grow bigger, more expansive, and ultimately more beautiful. lives is a lovely isaac brock solo number, the stars are projectors a mind-blowing tour de force of mercury rev/yerself is steam intensity, and life like weeds a pained, unpretentious probing into the sadness at the heart. the "i could have told you all that i love you" verse is simply stunning for all of its poetic beauty. absolutely essential. the best offering from one of the best bands around. 3rd planet stands with sparklehorse's sunshine and son volt's windfall as one of the three best songs of the decade. buy this record! Expand
  23. amyc
    Sep 26, 2003
    10
    leaves me breathless every time.
  24. DylanS
    Oct 21, 2004
    10
    Absolutely amazing production, and as always lyrics that make you think. This is a strange trip of an album i highly suggest checking it out if you like music that pushes boundaries.
  25. kenf
    Jan 11, 2005
    10
    One of the most interesting listens i've heard in a long time. The masterpiece has finally arrived in the bands most creatively brilliant album.
  26. yaright
    Jan 10, 2005
    10
    this is the best record ive heard in a long time. These guys are amazing.
  27. StevenL
    Oct 2, 2005
    10
    This is the greatest album I've ever heard in my life. End of story.
  28. MarcF
    Dec 15, 2005
    10
    Indie-Rock at its best! What more can I say.
  29. kayleec
    Feb 16, 2005
    10
    I ia and awesome album, with awesome vocals
  30. NagillyBumpkin
    Aug 11, 2005
    10
    The people who thought this album was emotionless couldn't be farther from the truth. Apparently their ears just aren't equipped to hear Brock's emotional depth. It's there - it may take a little effort on the listener's part, but music that requires effort on the part of the listener is the most worthwhile.
Metascore
82

Universal acclaim - based on 22 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 22
  2. Negative: 1 out of 22
  1. A sort of concept album about cold and distant places--creepy sound effects and odd nods to science and space abound--these 15 songs rarely settle into one place for long, opening with the characteristically potent "3rd Planet" before veering off into weird cacophony, jarring interludes, mellow meanderings, and general tunelessness.
  2. The music on The Moon & Antarctica is as lonely and desolate as the title suggests...
  3. Clocking in at an hour, and incorporating much schizophrenic style-hopping, this is far from the concession to one-dimensional economy often required for a major-label debut. [#47, p.53]