The Moon & Antarctica

  • Record Label: Sony
  • Release Date: Jun 13, 2000
User Score
9.1

Universal acclaim- based on 113 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 2 out of 113

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jack
    Jul 12, 2006
    10
    Oh yes... Ohhh yes.
  2. May 28, 2011
    10
    Staggering. A masterpiece of sound, ambition, ambiance, and songwriting, this album is something that no alt-rock collection is complete without.
  3. TimE
    Nov 8, 2005
    6
    This is a fans only record. All the hardcore fans will say this is the best because it didn't have any top 40 hits. I aint no sell out and say that Good News... is there epic masterpiece
  4. tim
    Mar 20, 2007
    5
    Neither is this one ya assclown! I hate it when people backtrack instead of sticking to their guns and that's what people did with this record. I guarendamtee you had "float on" not become such a hit this album would simply be considered average.
  5. [Anonymous]
    Mar 20, 2007
    5
    You 2 are right this album is a masterpiece....of crap. Don't hate just because your precious emo became mainstream.
  6. time
    Nov 14, 2006
    5
    Give me a break! Spin magazine was right the first time. And this was back when Spin was considered groundbreaking. Nobody even payed attention to this album until "Float On" became a hit. People were pissed off at them for making it big so they just went to this album because it was more "Indie" than "Good News..." Hating a band because they had a hit. How pathetic. Good News is not only Give me a break! Spin magazine was right the first time. And this was back when Spin was considered groundbreaking. Nobody even payed attention to this album until "Float On" became a hit. People were pissed off at them for making it big so they just went to this album because it was more "Indie" than "Good News..." Hating a band because they had a hit. How pathetic. Good News is not only their best but it's one of the best albums of the entire decade. Expand
  7. JimT.
    Jun 7, 2001
    10
    Now, the thing about this album is, it's totally excellent. Do not listen to such naysayers as "Spin", for they are wrong. "The Moon and Antarctica" is not just that it is the best Modest Mouse album yet, but that it is the best American album of 2000.
  8. PhilV
    Jul 29, 2005
    10
    A very impressive musical blender. The Moon & Antarctica drives itself from the wandery first song - 3rd Planet, coasts through to a steep turn - tiny city's made of ash. Out of that twist, comes a race to end, with a wide open What People Are Made Of. Four more songs remain... "retellings" of 4 previous tracks, in case you do not have autorepeat. Go ahead press autorepeat now. It is A very impressive musical blender. The Moon & Antarctica drives itself from the wandery first song - 3rd Planet, coasts through to a steep turn - tiny city's made of ash. Out of that twist, comes a race to end, with a wide open What People Are Made Of. Four more songs remain... "retellings" of 4 previous tracks, in case you do not have autorepeat. Go ahead press autorepeat now. It is worth it. Having recieved this CD in Dec of 04 I am still popping it in Aug 05. Until iPods have lyric sheets, this disk will be traveling with me. Expand
  9. AndrewK
    Sep 9, 2005
    10
    So just because lame music review sites in some drunken stupor rate this amazing album 30-70 it gets an 80????? That is incredibly stupid as this album is amazing. A tip for reviewing an album is to actually listen to ALL songs instead of the two widely advertised ones..... Anyway woohoo pitchfork media, best music site ever
  10. dr.tufflove
    Mar 3, 2007
    9
    While it is certain that anyone with a brain can agree that time e is an idiot, he does make one good point: Good News is one of the best albums of the this decade. Moon & A is timeless and confirms Isaac Brock is a friggin' genius.
  11. GregoryS.
    Apr 13, 2002
    6
    Ok, I'm going to try to explain this the best way I can. I love Modest Mouse. When I first heard Brock's voice on Neverending Math Equation, I couldn't help but be interested. The voice grew on me, and I have adored the group ever since. I love(d) their stripped-down, rockin feel, and Isaac's lyrics always hit home, regardless of whether or not you knew what the hell Ok, I'm going to try to explain this the best way I can. I love Modest Mouse. When I first heard Brock's voice on Neverending Math Equation, I couldn't help but be interested. The voice grew on me, and I have adored the group ever since. I love(d) their stripped-down, rockin feel, and Isaac's lyrics always hit home, regardless of whether or not you knew what the hell he was talking about. Modest Mouse have songs that are as emotional as songs get: Edit the Sad Parts, Dramamine, Talkin Shit About a Pretty Sunset, Baby Blue Sedan, Positive/Negative, Other People's Lives, Broke, Bankrupt on Sellin, etc. I could go forever. But now comes along The Moon and Antarctica, an album time and time again I have given chances to grow on me, yet it fails to succeed. Purists will tell you Modest Mouse "sold out" when they signed with Epic. They didn't. They wanted to make an album with good production values and a lot of bells and whistles to enhance the emotional impact of their songs. But, instead of helping the listener connect with Brock's thoughts, the production distances us even more from the already emotion-less tracks on this sadly misdirected album. Some of the tracks here are almost unlistenable - Tiny Cities Made of Ashes sounds like it was fished out of a dumpster and then rearranged with a few ill-placed synth arrangements in the backround. Some, like A Different City, The cold Part, Alone Down There, and Perfect Disguise are simply boring, go nowhere and do nothing. Luckily, the first few tracks aren't complete throwaways, though they make me beg for what I can now safely call the "old days" when the band were more sincere. Out of the fifteen tracks on this album, there are a few that can stand side by side with some of the Mouse's old work: The Stars Are Projectors has that epic feel that made some of their previous stuff so engrossing, Paper Thin Walls, I Came As a Rat and What People Are Made Of are the kind of departures from typical Modest Mouse the band could have used more of. And finally, Lives is about as intimate as the band has ever got. More than anyone on the face of this planet I would like to recommend this record, because, like the Pixies and Pavement before them, they used to really be able to reach out to me with their music, whether they meant to or not. The Moon and Antarctica is a blemish on the face of what once was (and still might be) a very promising career. Just take "night on the sun", now that's a Modest Mouse song. Here's hoping one day I'll be able to find out what makes this album so good, like everyone has been saying. Expand
  12. dans
    Jun 10, 2003
    10
    genius, nothing more needs to be said
  13. daver
    Oct 18, 2005
    10
    freking awsome!
  14. LawrenceP
    Mar 7, 2005
    10
    I think this will be one of the best LP's of the 90's. Spin magazine doesn't know what the hell they are talking about. It wouldn't surprise me if the same magazine praises their next LP!
  15. JulioP
    Oct 4, 2006
    10
    A fantastic album. You will listen to this over and over...
  16. ryan
    Jan 4, 2007
    9
    Tim E, you are an idiot. Moon & Antarctica had people complaining about people moving away from their "indie" sound. This album had tons of accolades at the time it came out. Good News ain't a terrible album but itcertainly aint great.
  17. JohannB
    Feb 21, 2008
    10
    It's an absolute masterpiece. If you grew up in the Rocky Mountains then you get it. Isaac and company capture what it was like to grow up and to come of age in those barren wastelands. I'm still a huge "Lonesome..." fan, but this edges it out.
  18. Kevin
    Nov 5, 2009
    10
    I first caught on to Modest Mouse after hearing Ocean Breathes Salty. For a while, all I listened to was their more mainstream albums. I thought they where great at the time, and they where, but they got old. That's when I came across this album. Compared to The Moon and Antarctica, Good News and We Were Dead are fluff. Sure they've got some pretty cool guitar jams and catchy I first caught on to Modest Mouse after hearing Ocean Breathes Salty. For a while, all I listened to was their more mainstream albums. I thought they where great at the time, and they where, but they got old. That's when I came across this album. Compared to The Moon and Antarctica, Good News and We Were Dead are fluff. Sure they've got some pretty cool guitar jams and catchy tunes, but they're nowhere near as deep and inquisitive as The Moon. I'm not saying that they're bad albums, they're definitely listen worthy, but The Moon and Antarctica is just so good. Expand
  19. Sam
    Apr 12, 2010
    10
    Angst never felt so good.
  20. AndrewC.
    May 25, 2001
    9
    Manages to be both diverse and coherent; both wry and beautiful.
  21. JonS.
    Jul 28, 2001
    9
    Why would ANYONE base their musical choices on pathetic publications such as Spin and Rolling Stone? Modest Mouse is fabulous.
  22. Dan
    Aug 31, 2002
    10
    well, let's start from the beginning. moon... opens with 3rd planet, easily among the most beautiful songs i've ever heard before continuing into the luscious pop hooks of gravity rides everything and the fiercely individualistic albeit catchy dark center of the universe and the simple, acoustic beauty of perfect disguise. from there on, the songs only grow bigger, more well, let's start from the beginning. moon... opens with 3rd planet, easily among the most beautiful songs i've ever heard before continuing into the luscious pop hooks of gravity rides everything and the fiercely individualistic albeit catchy dark center of the universe and the simple, acoustic beauty of perfect disguise. from there on, the songs only grow bigger, more expansive, and ultimately more beautiful. lives is a lovely isaac brock solo number, the stars are projectors a mind-blowing tour de force of mercury rev/yerself is steam intensity, and life like weeds a pained, unpretentious probing into the sadness at the heart. the "i could have told you all that i love you" verse is simply stunning for all of its poetic beauty. absolutely essential. the best offering from one of the best bands around. 3rd planet stands with sparklehorse's sunshine and son volt's windfall as one of the three best songs of the decade. buy this record! Expand
  23. amyc
    Sep 26, 2003
    10
    leaves me breathless every time.
  24. DylanS
    Oct 21, 2004
    10
    Absolutely amazing production, and as always lyrics that make you think. This is a strange trip of an album i highly suggest checking it out if you like music that pushes boundaries.
  25. kenf
    Jan 11, 2005
    10
    One of the most interesting listens i've heard in a long time. The masterpiece has finally arrived in the bands most creatively brilliant album.
  26. yaright
    Jan 10, 2005
    10
    this is the best record ive heard in a long time. These guys are amazing.
  27. StevenL
    Oct 2, 2005
    10
    This is the greatest album I've ever heard in my life. End of story.
  28. MarcF
    Dec 15, 2005
    10
    Indie-Rock at its best! What more can I say.
  29. kayleec
    Feb 16, 2005
    10
    I ia and awesome album, with awesome vocals
  30. NagillyBumpkin
    Aug 11, 2005
    10
    The people who thought this album was emotionless couldn't be farther from the truth. Apparently their ears just aren't equipped to hear Brock's emotional depth. It's there - it may take a little effort on the listener's part, but music that requires effort on the part of the listener is the most worthwhile.
  31. davepv
    Sep 6, 2005
    10
    I've been listening to this album for 5 years since its release. It never gets stale; always enthralls. Such energetic vitriol through the fractured prism of young men trying to make sense of things. (Yeah, I was a young man when purchased; still am). Yet they never do-- make sense of it, I mean. They are on a ceaselessly eliptical loop here and it collapses into despair and darkness I've been listening to this album for 5 years since its release. It never gets stale; always enthralls. Such energetic vitriol through the fractured prism of young men trying to make sense of things. (Yeah, I was a young man when purchased; still am). Yet they never do-- make sense of it, I mean. They are on a ceaselessly eliptical loop here and it collapses into despair and darkness and desolation. Its all the more breathtaking for it. But, man, that energy. Did I mention it rocks!? Collapse
  32. TylerC
    Nov 1, 2006
    10
    I started listening to modest mouse about two years before "Good News" came out and the song that caught my ears to them was first "Mice Eat Cheese" and then I heard 3rd Planet, which i believe is easily one of there best songs. I love so many songs they have made and all there albums and this is easily there best. I love his voice and the music is so different and i could listen to this I started listening to modest mouse about two years before "Good News" came out and the song that caught my ears to them was first "Mice Eat Cheese" and then I heard 3rd Planet, which i believe is easily one of there best songs. I love so many songs they have made and all there albums and this is easily there best. I love his voice and the music is so different and i could listen to this album over and over and i do. Expand
  33. AxelT
    Jan 31, 2006
    10
    This album will take you away from your current state of mind and make you think about the modern world. Amazing.
  34. FletcherB
    Jan 5, 2006
    10
    Ummm....3rd Planet.
  35. JayB
    May 18, 2006
    10
    uhh... the best album from one of my favourite bands is it perfect? of course not. there are even a few weak songs. but it's the most emotionally affecting album i've ever heard. absolutely essential.
  36. DaveO'D
    Sep 16, 2006
    10
    One of the few truly greay albums of the last few years
  37. JamesG
    Sep 6, 2006
    10
    This is my favourite Modest Mouse album, very closely followed by Lonesome Crowded West. Reading the critics reviews of this goes a long way towards reminding me why I've never paid any attention to music criticism, and it's definitely the best reason why you shouldn't either. Not to say that they're wrong, exactly, but that this album aptly demonstrates that the This is my favourite Modest Mouse album, very closely followed by Lonesome Crowded West. Reading the critics reviews of this goes a long way towards reminding me why I've never paid any attention to music criticism, and it's definitely the best reason why you shouldn't either. Not to say that they're wrong, exactly, but that this album aptly demonstrates that the experience of music is VERY subjective. For ME, this is one of the most powerful albums ever made, and I would strongly recommend it to anyone who wants to stretch their ears a bit. Expand
  38. DomS.
    Aug 12, 2003
    10
    Isaac Brock is one genius hick. But, that's too easy. What is so amazing about this album is that in every note, word, and arrangement, blood, sweat, tears, and other bodily fluids can be heard, churning and issuing from the realms of some spectacular, hidden place.
  39. NajeebA
    Oct 27, 2004
    10
    The best album of all time.
  40. maxm
    Jun 29, 2004
    10
    i got the album in november of 2002 as a present. i have been listing to it almost every day since then and it never got old. and it makes me so angry to hear that spin would give such a good album the rating that they did. this album could save the world.
  41. NateH
    Nov 15, 2005
    10
    Absolute perfection. There is nothing better. There never was. There never will be. I mean, look at this and look at Kid A. Kid A is obviously an incredible album, capable of elliciting emotion so strong it will practically make you cry. The Moon and Antarctica is equally as good a piece of art, but the music is so breathtakingly beautiful that you are too busy being amazed to cry. The Absolute perfection. There is nothing better. There never was. There never will be. I mean, look at this and look at Kid A. Kid A is obviously an incredible album, capable of elliciting emotion so strong it will practically make you cry. The Moon and Antarctica is equally as good a piece of art, but the music is so breathtakingly beautiful that you are too busy being amazed to cry. The warmth that radiates from "Gravity Rides Everything" is dazzling, but somehow it still has this sentimentality that almost makes your heart ache. "Life Like Weeds" is one of the most profound metaphors ever written. "Eyes need us to see, hearts need us to bleed," Brock sings. Anyone who doesn't love this album has inferior tastes. Expand
  42. drewk
    Sep 13, 2005
    10
    This is one of my three favorite albums of all-time (OK Computer & Kid A being the others). Spin magazine should be taken to the woodshed for giving this album such a poor review. M&A over time will come to be considered one the true masterpieces of the last 20 years. Unbelievable.
  43. TC
    Mar 24, 2007
    10
    omg teh best album evar
  44. KindallG.
    Jul 17, 2007
    10
    I thought this was at once a peaceful and jarring record. Songs like "Cities Made of Ashes" and "Alone Down There" jolted me awake with their ugly abruptness, while spare, strange beauties such as "The Cold Part" made me think of dark European cities and lonely country roads. Basically, like much of their previous work, "The Moon and Antactica" explores the frightening and fascinating I thought this was at once a peaceful and jarring record. Songs like "Cities Made of Ashes" and "Alone Down There" jolted me awake with their ugly abruptness, while spare, strange beauties such as "The Cold Part" made me think of dark European cities and lonely country roads. Basically, like much of their previous work, "The Moon and Antactica" explores the frightening and fascinating elements of travel, death, and the human heart. I think it is ambitious because it doesn't placate it's fans with catchy tunes; the record tries for something more: art. Expand
  45. kimw
    Jul 22, 2007
    9
    Amazing album. Have been a fan of Modest Mouse for a few years and for some weird reason only recently started playing this one - even though i've owned it for a long time - I feel like I've wasted those years of my life when i was playing it. That's not true, but sounds poetic. 'Dartk Centre of the Universe' is especially good. One of the all time best though has Amazing album. Have been a fan of Modest Mouse for a few years and for some weird reason only recently started playing this one - even though i've owned it for a long time - I feel like I've wasted those years of my life when i was playing it. That's not true, but sounds poetic. 'Dartk Centre of the Universe' is especially good. One of the all time best though has to be 'The Cold Part. Expand
  46. wobo
    Jan 12, 2008
    10
    Wow... No matter what anybody says, this is one of the top five albums EVER MADE. Reviewers give it 30's??? Wow. Everything on this album is perfect. The lyrics, the musicianship, the MOOD. Any living being, music lover or not, modest mouse fan or not, needs to hear this album. Your life will change.
  47. TomP
    Jun 29, 2009
    10
    It doesn't matter whether you're a fan or not; you need to get this album somehow, immediately. I'm not exaggerating when I say that this is easily one of the ten best albums to come out in this decade.
  48. Mar 22, 2011
    9
    Took me awhile to fully appreciate this album but what an album it is. Sounds completely different from Modest Mouse today. The lyrics are dark and the tracks are teetering on the edge of Neo-psychedelic rock. The lyrics are very well written and it's just a really good album. All In All, you may not like it the first time but give it a second go and you'll definitely enjoy this album. A-
  49. Dec 22, 2010
    10
    Modest Mouse gained huge popularity in the late 2010's for their album good news for people who love bad news. But Brock's greatest work is no doubt The moon and Antarctica. A surreal musical adventure the strongest of all the albums and one of the few of their albums were i haven't found at least one average song (even good news had some annoying songs notably bury me with it).
  50. Feb 29, 2012
    7
    Parts of this are absolute brilliance, other parts are a bit strange and meandering but then I suppose that's Modest Mouse for you. It doesn't have the same consistency as Good News...... had but it's one of those records that is enjoyable to get into. While "The Stars Are Projectors" is up there with anything they've ever done, there are probably too many tracks on it that sound like halfParts of this are absolute brilliance, other parts are a bit strange and meandering but then I suppose that's Modest Mouse for you. It doesn't have the same consistency as Good News...... had but it's one of those records that is enjoyable to get into. While "The Stars Are Projectors" is up there with anything they've ever done, there are probably too many tracks on it that sound like half formed idea's rather than completed songs. Expand
  51. Mar 24, 2015
    10
    Straight Masterpiece. Love love love. Ignore bad reviews and listen to this and make it part of your life.

    Please listen through a handful of times before you give up on this album if you're on the fence about it, as you listen more you will learn this is the album that you need in your life.
  52. Aug 7, 2012
    10
    A great kaleidoscope of emotion and sound. Few albums are as hard hitting as "The Moon And Antarctica" Isaac Brock is nothing short of a genius, this album is a look into the head of the Modest Mouse Front-man. This album takes you on a journey through his mind, like a collage of memories, drunk ramblings, introspective thoughts, and beautiful soundscapes. "The Moon And Antarctica" is aA great kaleidoscope of emotion and sound. Few albums are as hard hitting as "The Moon And Antarctica" Isaac Brock is nothing short of a genius, this album is a look into the head of the Modest Mouse Front-man. This album takes you on a journey through his mind, like a collage of memories, drunk ramblings, introspective thoughts, and beautiful soundscapes. "The Moon And Antarctica" is a classic and if at first you don't "get it" give it a couple more listens it's well worth it for this timeless slice of Americana. Expand
  53. Nov 2, 2013
    8
    [8.8] You might figure that an odd band like Modest Mouse has to reach the full extent of their eccentricity to make their best album. The Moon and Antarctica is relatively tame for Modest Mouse, and consistently great. The distortion of this album, its constant distant echo, its playfully serious tone, and most importantly, Issac Brock's schizophrenic approach to singing. This is easily[8.8] You might figure that an odd band like Modest Mouse has to reach the full extent of their eccentricity to make their best album. The Moon and Antarctica is relatively tame for Modest Mouse, and consistently great. The distortion of this album, its constant distant echo, its playfully serious tone, and most importantly, Issac Brock's schizophrenic approach to singing. This is easily accessible to those who understand it in context, but to those who dismiss it as "weird," shouldn't have bothered to try Modest Mouse in the first place. The Moon and Antarctica is as "consistent" as Modest Mouse can possibly get. Expand
  54. Aug 16, 2015
    10
    A viscous essay on the futility (and occasional pointlessness) of the human existence, The Moon & Antarctica is less of an album and more of a sonic experience. And yes, that's a good thing. 9.8/10
Metascore
82

Universal acclaim - based on 22 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 22
  2. Negative: 1 out of 22
  1. A sort of concept album about cold and distant places--creepy sound effects and odd nods to science and space abound--these 15 songs rarely settle into one place for long, opening with the characteristically potent "3rd Planet" before veering off into weird cacophony, jarring interludes, mellow meanderings, and general tunelessness.
  2. The music on The Moon & Antarctica is as lonely and desolate as the title suggests...
  3. Clocking in at an hour, and incorporating much schizophrenic style-hopping, this is far from the concession to one-dimensional economy often required for a major-label debut. [#47, p.53]