• Record Label: Island
  • Release Date: Apr 22, 2014
User Score
5.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 487 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 16, 2014
    0
    This isn't creative. A Pop álbum from a model who says that can write songs. It has no sense of power and glory. It's not classic anyway. This is a trash to Hip-Hop cuture.
  2. Apr 22, 2014
    0
    god awful album **** terrible and this **** is not hot. worst piece of **** dog **** ive ever have the misfortune o hear i mean what in the **** **** what this ratchet ass hoe thinking when she made this travesty?
  3. Sep 24, 2014
    0
    this is soooooooo bad! her voice is annoying and that fake ass accents isn't working, she can't even rap. only thing good about this album is charlis hook and rita the rest is annoying
  4. Dec 18, 2014
    0
    Iggy era muito boa, mas esse album está muito superficial, saudades da Iggy no estilo WORK, **** MY WORLD, esse album é totalmente descartável. Que no próximo, sem ser o reclassified que é outro lixo, ela venha lacrando tudo.
  5. Oct 20, 2015
    2
    this trash is not rap!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  6. Dec 3, 2014
    0
    She's not definetely a rapper or something that's near to that.
    Her bases are simply pop e she just talks about nothing that really matters; female rap hasn't been as great as it used to be for a long time.
  7. Nov 8, 2014
    0
    Why would you listen to this when you can buy and enjoy Broke With Expensive Taste (Azealia Banks)? Iggy makes pop music while Azealia makes rap and hip hop with substance.
  8. Dec 9, 2014
    3
    So, you're sitting in your room, listening to Tupac,Biggie,Jay Z,Nas,Eminem,Rakim etc. and suddenly you hear there's hip-hop's hottest thing this year. You download it, and start listening to it and your like "Oh boy, Hip-Hop is so screwed". Then again there's some teenage girl chanting Fancy's raw and energetic hook (thanks to Charli XCX) and she's screaming her lungs out "This is theSo, you're sitting in your room, listening to Tupac,Biggie,Jay Z,Nas,Eminem,Rakim etc. and suddenly you hear there's hip-hop's hottest thing this year. You download it, and start listening to it and your like "Oh boy, Hip-Hop is so screwed". Then again there's some teenage girl chanting Fancy's raw and energetic hook (thanks to Charli XCX) and she's screaming her lungs out "This is the greatest song ever" and your like "KILL ME NOW". But anyways, this album has some high points (Fancy and Work, for example) but you might as well buy those singles and save yourself some time and trouble, and of course some money. Expand
  9. Dec 27, 2014
    0
    If Iggy wanted her new album to be a New Classic, I'm sorry girl, but it didn't work. It was mean to be a rap album, but it's more a bubblegum pop. The musics stay in our minds but there's no quality in there. One example: Fancy, it's a #1 song, but it sucks. Hope that Iggy becomes more rap and make songs with more quality.
  10. Jan 27, 2015
    0
    Theres only one thing wrong with this. ITS F****ING HORRIBLE! Just like Iggy !
  11. Dec 29, 2014
    0
    For the love of God, that is rap? This album is just an amalgamation of pop music with acceleration effect. It doesn't turn rap or hip-hop or if it is translated into Chinese.
  12. Mar 10, 2015
    3
    I'm not criticizing her rap, because she has actually some talent in rapping.
    Anyway this album is a bad acoustic experience further worsened by trashy minimal instrumentals and by a total, demeaning lack of variety.

    'The New Overrated'
  13. Mar 14, 2015
    0
    The New Classic, though stacked from top to bottom with an impressive collection of production efforts, is nothing more than derivative delivery soaked in stylistic heresy.
  14. Jul 12, 2014
    0
    Wow this album is beyond **** terrible.First let me start of with the subject matter. Sure it was expected of Iggy to rap about an avaricious lifestyle that was the consequence of prospering over the "struggle" which she claims it to be. What's intriguing about this is that well she has that same mentality as other hip-hop artists do (I.E. your boy Drizzy) about persevering through a hardWow this album is beyond **** terrible.First let me start of with the subject matter. Sure it was expected of Iggy to rap about an avaricious lifestyle that was the consequence of prospering over the "struggle" which she claims it to be. What's intriguing about this is that well she has that same mentality as other hip-hop artists do (I.E. your boy Drizzy) about persevering through a hard lifestyle by sticking to their values and "working hard" (spoken about on the track "Work") to make it out. However, most of the time their lives are usually no where near as difficult as they portray them to be. Living in Australia for more than 10 years I can safely say that minimum wage working areas and less-than-average wage earners (ie the hood or the projects) are no where near as bad as their US counterpart. With that being said, I think Iggy does manage to portray what she intends to portray to the listener quite well. Leading on the her lyrics. Although she does have decent lyrics/punchlines sometimes. most of the time they are very hit-or-miss. Mostly miss actually. Lines like "Giving blowjobs for Christian Louboutin. I call that head over heels" are extremely cringe-inducing. Futhermore he technical skill is lacking significantly, a key factor to making a good hip-hop record but since this is a pop-rap record, I'll let this one slide. Now her flow and delivery, are very close to the stereotypical modern Southern rappers. A sound that is very dominate in radio/commercial music of course. Using such an un-innovative sound that we have heard countless of times leads to wonder on the severity of Iggy's identity crisis. Now the production. A lot of trap-influence pop and dance-fused beats are incorporated into the LP. Now while instumentally, the beats are far from mediocre, Iggy's voice over them seems lost yet when she overpowers them, it sounds very unappealing. You know when DJ mustard can't stop you from hating a track, you really do hate it. Overall to make it brief, I gave this CD a solid 0/10. F- Expand
  15. May 8, 2014
    1
    A mockery of hip hop. When Eminem came out as one of the first white Emcees to make it big, people respected him. They respected him because he had legit skill, a sick flow, ill production, and was dedicated to the craft of writing poetic; yet aware and often violent lyrics.

    Iggy Azalea is straight talentless white trash with a decent flow and some okay production. This is party rap,
    A mockery of hip hop. When Eminem came out as one of the first white Emcees to make it big, people respected him. They respected him because he had legit skill, a sick flow, ill production, and was dedicated to the craft of writing poetic; yet aware and often violent lyrics.

    Iggy Azalea is straight talentless white trash with a decent flow and some okay production. This is party rap, nothing else. She should not be taken seriously for this project.
    Expand
  16. Nov 21, 2014
    0
    walk the line, dont need yall e work boas, de resto, td lixo, a mulher n tem folego pra terminar uma frase, e precisa de cantoras pop pro refrao
    volta pra escola amore
  17. Dec 14, 2014
    0
    the way she has been on the charts i thought she would be near Nicki Minaj's level clearly sh isn't, now im wondering how this got nominated for a Grammy. Now The Pinkprint that's a good album
  18. Dec 16, 2014
    0
    worst album 2014 , a disgrace to the rap , this album a disaster , it was not to be considered rapper, she loses my breath in the lives faster than an old having sex , the music does not sound so good, most are tiring , ridiculous album ...
  19. Dec 15, 2014
    0
    worst Album i have ever heard in my life, not worth it at all i expected more from her, and specially cuz she used to many pop girl to hide her ability of not singing if you are a rapper and can't sing stick to that.. only song i liked was work.
  20. Mar 5, 2015
    0
    Because this **** can be called rap album? This is a sound garbage, a ridiculous , which can not even do a freestyle , want to give a badass rapper.
    I hope Iggy Azalea change from now on, because if she continues with this style The New Classic , it only tends to get worse.
  21. Dec 16, 2014
    1
    This album is pop she isn't a rapper.
    Fancy is the worst rap song ever and her voice is annoying, she can't rap or sing... Broke With Expensive Taste and Pink Friday are better than this "hip-hop album"
  22. Mar 7, 2015
    0
    WTF? People really like this? OMFM.... I really don't know what talk about... This is so awful and terrible. Sorry, but she's a pop artist not a rapper...
  23. Mar 17, 2015
    0
    god awful album **** terrible and this **** is not hot. worst piece of **** dog **** ive ever have the misfortune o hear i mean what in the **** **** what this ratchet ass hoe thinking when she made this travesty?
  24. Feb 17, 2015
    0
    The directionless album may have a number of songs that will make radio programmers drool, but the staying power resembles anything but a classic. She's really bad!
  25. Dec 15, 2014
    3
    An underwhelming debut album. I didn't expect that much of the album anyway. To me, the songs sounded very bland and dull. It just doesn't have the right qualities of a good album.
  26. Feb 17, 2015
    0
    The New Classic, though stacked from top to bottom with an impressive collection of production efforts, is nothing more than derivative delivery soaked in stylistic heresy.
  27. Jun 16, 2014
    1
    Deveria ser melhor, nada comparado com a verdadeira rapper, Nicki Minaj. Apesar de Nicki também ter suas músicas pop, a mesma pode fazer de tudo sem se preocupar. Espero mais do próximo álbum
  28. Jun 24, 2014
    3
    It feels like Iggy tried to do something to change the game (which is something I appreciate) and it would surely work if she had followed only one direction on this album. But instead, we see too many different beats, the tracks "Don't Need Y'all", "100" and "Impossible Is Nothing" are too calm and (unsuccessfully) try to achieve a mix between R&B and hip-hop, while "Bounce" and the #1It feels like Iggy tried to do something to change the game (which is something I appreciate) and it would surely work if she had followed only one direction on this album. But instead, we see too many different beats, the tracks "Don't Need Y'all", "100" and "Impossible Is Nothing" are too calm and (unsuccessfully) try to achieve a mix between R&B and hip-hop, while "Bounce" and the #1 hit "Fancy" bring some very mainstream hooks and cheap verses. On another hand, she deserves some credit for the inspiring track "Work", the well-built pop/hip-hop anthem "Black Widow" and the ultimate contemporary hip-hop statement, "Rolex". At the end of the day, she tried too hard. Expand
  29. Jul 11, 2014
    0
    If had to listen to this every day I would blow up my own eardrums. Stay away if you have at least a tiny speckle of taste in music. If you are a pre-teen/teen girl that needs to get their 'swagger' up go for it.
  30. Nov 8, 2014
    0
    Uma vergonha para as trans! Ela chega com Work e promete derrubar forninhos, mas logo em seguida lança Fancy e nesse momento o coisinha acelera e eu perco meu óculos, mas o desmaio da juliana não é de emoção nem felicidade é de decepção. Espero que ela saia dessa vibe de rap-pop chiclete senão melhor vender a arte dela na praia ou ser feirante vendendo planta do que esse papel de trouxaUma vergonha para as trans! Ela chega com Work e promete derrubar forninhos, mas logo em seguida lança Fancy e nesse momento o coisinha acelera e eu perco meu óculos, mas o desmaio da juliana não é de emoção nem felicidade é de decepção. Espero que ela saia dessa vibe de rap-pop chiclete senão melhor vender a arte dela na praia ou ser feirante vendendo planta do que esse papel de trouxa que ela ta pagando, até dona neide da novela rubi consegue falar mais rápido sem preder o fôlego do que a iggy cantando rap. Expand
  31. Feb 27, 2015
    3
    This album definitely has it club bangers but Iggy loses herself in her own raps, making it hard for the audience to understand her word. Im not sure if Iggy herself understands what she's speaking upon, but its obvious to say that Iggy Azalea is not a good rapper what so ever. "Black Widow" and "Fancy" are the highlights of the album but not because of Iggy's rap but for the catchy popThis album definitely has it club bangers but Iggy loses herself in her own raps, making it hard for the audience to understand her word. Im not sure if Iggy herself understands what she's speaking upon, but its obvious to say that Iggy Azalea is not a good rapper what so ever. "Black Widow" and "Fancy" are the highlights of the album but not because of Iggy's rap but for the catchy pop choruses sang by featured artist Rita Ora and Charli XCX. This isn't the worse album ever but it sure does lack a lot effort and stability. The album could had garned a better responses if it was just a flat out pop album that had nothing to do with Iggy rapping. Expand
  32. Dec 18, 2014
    1
    This is a **** **** **** I want more **** and work, not FANCY, fancy is a complete **** I hate so much this album, Iggy can do better, of course on studio, cause live, she dont sing.
  33. Aug 25, 2015
    0
    Worst rap album , her voice is annoying , breathless, that's not true rap , your place is not in rap but in pop . You have to improve a lot for joining with quality in the world of rap .
  34. Jul 3, 2015
    1
    The New Classic is everything, but just not:
    - The (Rap) Album of the Year.
    - A high quality album.
    - Original.
    - possibly diverting.
    - A New Classic.
  35. Feb 1, 2016
    0
    Utter **** What else should I say to this trash? The only memorable track is Black Widow and still has nothing to offer but alright vocals from Rita Ora and still is a cringy track.
  36. Apr 27, 2014
    0
    Really bland, generic debut album. The only songs that i can hold to any merit are 'Fancy' and 'Work'. Fancy because of the great hook by Charli and 'Work' because it doesn't feel contrived, unlike the majority of the record.
  37. Dec 13, 2014
    1
    The New Classic is a pretty disappointing album. Whilst Work, Fancy & Bounce may be great bops they aren't very impressive. Other female rappers like Azealia Banks & Nicki Minaj can pull of more commercial music because they have plenty of other songs which display their talent.
  38. Jun 14, 2015
    0
    A unica coisa ''''''''''''boa'''''''''''' nesse album são os instrumentais de ''Bounce''...

    Nem de ''Fancy'' música em colaboração com uma das minhas cantoras prefiridas (Charli XCX) eu consigo gostar...

    Melhores músicas : Nenhuma

    Resumindo esse album em uma palavra : LIXO
  39. Dec 17, 2014
    3
    Esse album é uma vergonha pras trans, vergonha mesmo!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  40. Jul 12, 2015
    0
    The problem with Iggy Azalea is she thinks is the new queen of rap but everybody knows the only queen of Rap is Nicki Minaj, NIcki is pure talent and Azalea is very bad in Rap. #NOSHADE
  41. Oct 13, 2015
    0
    Parece que Iggy perdeu toda a essência da música, esse álbum é um amontoado de músicas descartáveis as única que tem um potencial bom é Work mas o resto é hórrivel, espero que no próximo álbum ela melhore.
  42. Oct 23, 2016
    0
    O álbum tem uma produção ótima! Os vocais são péssimos. O flow dela é horrível. As letras não tem mão dela. Iggy como uma ótima máquina de lucros, é uma péssima artista em estúdio e não pode fazer um álbum bom.

    Ela pode tentar o Dance, que a probabilidade do autotune dar certo é 100%.

    Tente de novo, Iggy.
  43. Jan 24, 2016
    2
    Well yeah this album not shambolic but not brilliant either without a doubt a negative review the days of female rappers like Lil Kim and Missy Elliott are over with Iggy and Nicki shame really they were brilliant days.
  44. Dec 13, 2015
    2
    This album is so bad it hurts to hear. There's nothing really great or outstanding here, it's not a classic. Iggy Azalea has no talent, how can she thinks she is good enough to reinvent hip hop music? She can't even freestyle. Oh, she is a slave master? Funny.
  45. Nov 9, 2015
    2
    Ruim. Rapper, sério? Ela vai ter que comer muito arroz e feijão para ser uma BOA rapper, mas acho difícil com a voz irritante dela (sério, que voz chata), mas dou dois por Black Widow, não pelo desempenho dela, mas pelo o da Rita Ora que foi MARAVILHOSO.
  46. Mar 30, 2016
    2
    The way she raps it´s just to awful. The beats aren't good. Terrible. _________________________________________________________________________________________________
  47. Sep 11, 2016
    3
    The album is funny and catchy in some parts, but in general is a disappointment. It's not new, it's not classic, it's just messy. There is no composition and no voice.
  48. Nov 29, 2016
    3
    Iggy tried and Iggy failed. No need to say more. Maybe it's not one of the worst albums I've heard and maybe it does have some cute bops, but overall this release is still very far from what we could call "The New Classic"
Metascore
56

Mixed or average reviews - based on 26 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 26
  2. Negative: 2 out of 26
  1. Oct 30, 2014
    40
    Iggy Azalea's a fun girl booty-shaking a few morsels of neon, hashtag-spangled pop.
  2. 33
    The New Classic, though stacked from top to bottom with an impressive collection of production efforts, is nothing more than derivative delivery soaked in stylistic heresy.
  3. Q Magazine
    May 20, 2014
    40
    While Azalea drops the occasional zinger, The New Classic is the sound of an ersatz rebel playing to script, having a shot at the rap career Paris Hilton never quite got round to. [Jun 2014, p.123]