The New Classic

  • Record Label:
  • Release Date:
The  New Classic Image
Metascore
56

Mixed or average reviews - based on 26 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 473 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The debut full-length studio release for the Australian rapper features guest appearances from Charli XCX, Mavado, Rita Ora, and T.I.
Buy On

Top Track

Fancy
Listen to this jam, show 'em what you got Inbox, fresh First things first, I'm the realest (realest) Drop this and let the whole world feel it (let... See the rest of the song lyrics
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 26
  2. Negative: 2 out of 26
  1. This is an instantly engaging showcase of the 23-year-old Aussie’s talents--poppy without diluting her fierce-flowing charisma.
  2. May 16, 2014
    70
    The production is an expertly judged combination of radio-friendly pop and club-influenced, sparse trap beats. Iggy’s the real deal.
  3. Apr 17, 2014
    60
    Azalea's rags-to-riches story shines on Work, but elsewhere her "bow down to a goddess" schtick grows tiring.
  4. Apr 29, 2014
    60
    If there's one problem with this pop/rap hybrid it is the skittish way she sometimes departs from the beat, losing her flow in EDM choruses or radio friendly R&B pop hooks. Iggy is strongest when she welds her words to a minimal yet delectable bass boom, spelling out her name with mischievous exaggeration.
  5. Apr 22, 2014
    50
    The New Classic mistakenly tries to frame Azalea as hip-hop's newest can't-miss egomaniac, focusing on the riches instead of the far more interesting rags.
  6. There's nothing to really chew on here, nothing to keep you coming back.
  7. May 12, 2014
    30
    The directionless album may have a number of songs that will make radio programmers drool, but the staying power resembles anything but a classic.

See all 26 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 58 out of 129
  2. Negative: 48 out of 129
  1. Nov 14, 2015
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This album is The New Classic, It's fresh and new beats and sounds. Good songs like Don't need Y'a,ll, Impossible is Nothing and the bes song of the album is: Work, a autobiography. Expand
  2. Oct 17, 2015
    10
    Excelent Work my girl hahaha excelent hip-hop! kissesExcelent Work my girl hahaha excelent hip-hop! kisses !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Expand
  3. Apr 22, 2014
    10
    It's finally here!!! AMAZING debut album! Iggy definitely delivered and deserves to be very successful.
    Standouts: Walk The Line, New ****
    It's finally here!!! AMAZING debut album! Iggy definitely delivered and deserves to be very successful.
    Standouts: Walk The Line, New **** Work, Change Your Life.
    Expand
  4. Jun 12, 2016
    6
    Sadly, I can't give Iggy a positive score. For some reasons.

    1-Iggy and her production didn't focused on the lyrics and the songwriting
    Sadly, I can't give Iggy a positive score. For some reasons.

    1-Iggy and her production didn't focused on the lyrics and the songwriting proccess

    2-The production is actually good, but could be better

    3-Iggy didn't worked on the highest part: the rap part.

    I really see that Iggy is giving her best to have people's approve, and I see she's changed a lot from The New Classic to this new era called Digital Distortion.
    But I don't see why some people say this album is a ''trash to hip-hop culture'', while they say ''Drake slays''. This is a trace of the male chauvinism not just on Hip-Hop culture, but as the music industry and a whole thing.

    Another big point to be take note: her vocals. I don't see Iggy working on her voice skills, I don't see Iggy using technique vocals, I see Iggy trying to make more hits like Fancy or Black Widow. And this is the bad thing about music today: artists are working to make hits

    But, I wait for an innovation on Iggy's Digital Distortion, and I hope she make us give her a positive score the next time, I know she can do it.
    Expand
  5. xBo
    Apr 22, 2014
    4
    I'm very disappointed with this album, it has nothing special on it and most of the songs sound the same. The only notable songs are theI'm very disappointed with this album, it has nothing special on it and most of the songs sound the same. The only notable songs are the singles, Goddess and Black Widow, the rest of them are fillers. Really expected more from Iggy. Expand
  6. Dec 13, 2014
    1
    The New Classic is a pretty disappointing album. Whilst Work, Fancy & Bounce may be great bops they aren't very impressive. Other femaleThe New Classic is a pretty disappointing album. Whilst Work, Fancy & Bounce may be great bops they aren't very impressive. Other female rappers like Azealia Banks & Nicki Minaj can pull of more commercial music because they have plenty of other songs which display their talent. Expand
  7. Oct 23, 2016
    0
    O álbum tem uma produção ótima! Os vocais são péssimos. O flow dela é horrível. As letras não tem mão dela. Iggy como uma ótima máquina deO álbum tem uma produção ótima! Os vocais são péssimos. O flow dela é horrível. As letras não tem mão dela. Iggy como uma ótima máquina de lucros, é uma péssima artista em estúdio e não pode fazer um álbum bom.

    Ela pode tentar o Dance, que a probabilidade do autotune dar certo é 100%.

    Tente de novo, Iggy.
    Expand

See all 129 User Reviews