• Record Label:
  • Release Date:
The  New Classic Image
Metascore
56

Mixed or average reviews - based on 26 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 494 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The debut full-length studio release for the Australian rapper features guest appearances from Charli XCX, Mavado, Rita Ora, and T.I.
Buy On

Top Track

Fancy
First things first, I'm the realest Drop this and let the whole world feel it And I'm still in the Murda Bizness I can hold you down like I'm givin'... See the rest of the song lyrics
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 26
  2. Negative: 2 out of 26
  1. This is an instantly engaging showcase of the 23-year-old Aussie’s talents--poppy without diluting her fierce-flowing charisma.
  2. May 16, 2014
    70
    The production is an expertly judged combination of radio-friendly pop and club-influenced, sparse trap beats. Iggy’s the real deal.
  3. Apr 17, 2014
    60
    Azalea's rags-to-riches story shines on Work, but elsewhere her "bow down to a goddess" schtick grows tiring.
  4. Apr 29, 2014
    60
    If there's one problem with this pop/rap hybrid it is the skittish way she sometimes departs from the beat, losing her flow in EDM choruses or radio friendly R&B pop hooks. Iggy is strongest when she welds her words to a minimal yet delectable bass boom, spelling out her name with mischievous exaggeration.
  5. Apr 22, 2014
    50
    The New Classic mistakenly tries to frame Azalea as hip-hop's newest can't-miss egomaniac, focusing on the riches instead of the far more interesting rags.
  6. There's nothing to really chew on here, nothing to keep you coming back.
  7. May 12, 2014
    30
    The directionless album may have a number of songs that will make radio programmers drool, but the staying power resembles anything but a classic.

See all 26 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 58 out of 129
  2. Negative: 48 out of 129
  1. Dec 19, 2015
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Before any of you Azealia banks trolls come at me, you have no idea how hard Iggy's life was- she literally moved to the US at 16, slept on the floor for years and was constantly hated on for being white!!! She is truly talented and speaks at the right time. Her heart and soul has been poured into songs like "Work" and "Walk the Line", and she is business savvy enough to include radio staples such as "Fancy" and "Black Widow"- She can spit over any beat- step aside, because this is only an introduction from which more is to come! Expand
  2. Nov 14, 2015
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This album is The New Classic, It's fresh and new beats and sounds. Good songs like Don't need Y'a,ll, Impossible is Nothing and the bes song of the album is: Work, a autobiography. Expand
  3. Apr 22, 2014
    10
    It's finally here!!! AMAZING debut album! Iggy definitely delivered and deserves to be very successful.
    Standouts: Walk The Line, New ****
    It's finally here!!! AMAZING debut album! Iggy definitely delivered and deserves to be very successful.
    Standouts: Walk The Line, New **** Work, Change Your Life.
    Expand
  4. Jul 4, 2016
    6
    Iggy I have to say that this album for me is not the best there was in 2014 but also not the worst. I have to say that most of the tracks areIggy I have to say that this album for me is not the best there was in 2014 but also not the worst. I have to say that most of the tracks are very listenable and have fresh sound to them. I do think that she will do more success and releases another hit. The collaborations are not bad and very well produced.
    My score:
    1. Walk the line 8/10
    2. Don't need y'all 6/10
    3. 100 ft Watch the duck 7/10
    4. Change your life ft T.I 7/10
    5. FancY ft Charlie XCX 7/10
    6. New **** 5/10
    7. Work 9/10
    8. Impossible is nothing 8/10
    9. Goddess 6/10
    10. Black widow ft Rita Ora 8/10
    11. Lady Patra ft Mavado 6/10
    12. **** love 7/10
    13. Bounce 7/10
    14. Rolex 7/10
    15. Just askin 6/10
    overall: 69
    Expand
  5. xBo
    Apr 22, 2014
    4
    I'm very disappointed with this album, it has nothing special on it and most of the songs sound the same. The only notable songs are theI'm very disappointed with this album, it has nothing special on it and most of the songs sound the same. The only notable songs are the singles, Goddess and Black Widow, the rest of them are fillers. Really expected more from Iggy. Expand
  6. Dec 13, 2014
    1
    The New Classic is a pretty disappointing album. Whilst Work, Fancy & Bounce may be great bops they aren't very impressive. Other femaleThe New Classic is a pretty disappointing album. Whilst Work, Fancy & Bounce may be great bops they aren't very impressive. Other female rappers like Azealia Banks & Nicki Minaj can pull of more commercial music because they have plenty of other songs which display their talent. Expand
  7. Oct 23, 2016
    0
    O álbum tem uma produção ótima! Os vocais são péssimos. O flow dela é horrível. As letras não tem mão dela. Iggy como uma ótima máquina deO álbum tem uma produção ótima! Os vocais são péssimos. O flow dela é horrível. As letras não tem mão dela. Iggy como uma ótima máquina de lucros, é uma péssima artista em estúdio e não pode fazer um álbum bom.

    Ela pode tentar o Dance, que a probabilidade do autotune dar certo é 100%.

    Tente de novo, Iggy.
    Expand

See all 129 User Reviews