• Record Label: Epic
  • Release Date: Nov 18, 2008
User Score
7.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 18 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 18
  2. Negative: 2 out of 18

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. MislavF
    Nov 19, 2008
    7
    First, it should be said that anybody who enjoyed Lost and Found will probably enjoy this album. Also, this should be listened to in context, preferably right after listening to previous Mudvayne albums, at least for the first listen. This album is not a large departure from their old sound, but it adds a few new elements to it. First, and most noticeably, is the addition of guitar solos. First, it should be said that anybody who enjoyed Lost and Found will probably enjoy this album. Also, this should be listened to in context, preferably right after listening to previous Mudvayne albums, at least for the first listen. This album is not a large departure from their old sound, but it adds a few new elements to it. First, and most noticeably, is the addition of guitar solos. Those who shudder at that thought should not worry - there are not a lot of guitar solos, and those which are to be found aren't excessive (try Disturbed's latest album, Indestructible, for an example of overdoing it). Also, there are more layers of guitar in many songs which adds an entirely new melodic sound that previous Mudvayne songs didn't have. Some might say this is the beginning of them selling out to the mainstream or something, but it can also be seen as simple musical progression. The rhythm section is excellent as usual, the guitar riffs satisfyingly, and... Chad probably has the least inspired performance out of any of the members. Sure, he sounds good, he's definitely capable, but he lacks the emotion that most of his earlier work had (whether Hellyeah had any effect on his singing now is up to the listener). "Dull Boy" is probably the least interesting song on this album, closely resembling "IMN" from Lost and Found, and it was also released on their fan-inspired album. The first four tracks or so are quality Mudvayne material - "Fish Out of Water", "Do What You Do", "A New Game", and "Have It Your Way". "Fish Out of Water" is a strong opener, but it doesn't quite live up to "Silenced" and "Determined" from Mudvayne's previous two albums. "Do What You Do" sounds like a familiar mix of Lost and Found and The End of All Things to Come, and its accessibility makes it an obvious prime choice for a single. "A New Game" has a strong enough opening two minutes that it seems like it might have been a good opener, but then it slows down, featuring a guitar solo. It takes so long to fade out that it seems like it would have been an appropriate end to the album since "We The People" ends rather abruptly. "Have It Your Way" is a strong fourth track, but "A Cinderella Story" doesn't quite have the same punch. "The Hate in Me" is another strong track, still not quite living up to the anger of older Mudvayne work. "Scarlet Letters" is the first of the two softer songs, and its change of pace makes it a standout. It's more melodic than most of the tracks, and it lets a little beauty shine in an otherwise mostly dark album. The bottom line is that The New Game is a strong album, one that Mudvayne fans should embrace, and it's probably a good start for a more noticeable departure in sound - look out for the new Mudvayne album planned to come out in about six months. The progressive elements that could be heard on Lost and Found are beginning to materialize more in The New Game, and hopefully Mudvayne's newer work will continue to become more interesting. Flawed as it may be, it's definitely a step in the right direction. Expand
  2. MattF
    Nov 30, 2008
    7
    It's a good effort. The record is more mainstream than their past work, a little generic at times, but the heaviness is still there. Fans of Lost and Found won't be disappointed. It's no L.D. 50, though.
  3. AviP.
    Nov 30, 2008
    9
    The first time I listened to this album I was in a mild trance after two hours of meditation, and I was really impressed (and touched!). The sound of the album was shockingly weird to me, with mastery of instruments as usual. Now that I've listened to it a dozen times, I still really like the album, but I'm not as impressed, it might be my fault as the listener though. Chad does The first time I listened to this album I was in a mild trance after two hours of meditation, and I was really impressed (and touched!). The sound of the album was shockingly weird to me, with mastery of instruments as usual. Now that I've listened to it a dozen times, I still really like the album, but I'm not as impressed, it might be my fault as the listener though. Chad does seem to have lost the intensity of suffering that he infused into his signing before, but his getting married might not let him get into deep insane drugged up depressions anymore. My roommate discovered something really cool though. It might be an illusion, but on the four first tracks at least, the opening riff is introduced in the song before it. Look for it, it's really cool! And it might be an indication that Mudvayne's hiding something in their music once again. Sorry if my writing isnt electrifying, I just ate a great deal of cookies. Expand
  4. J.J.
    Dec 2, 2008
    9
    If you do not like this type of music, don't listen to it. You both mention Disturbed and Mudvayne as if they're run-of-the-mill and ... overdo guitar solos? Yeah ... nice. You're both idiots. That is all.
  5. VBS
    Dec 13, 2008
    9
    Great Album - Mudvayne have stepped up there game and put out lean, heavy, sometimes progressive, and catchy record.
  6. JacobP
    Apr 9, 2009
    8
    Not as good as I was expecting, but it's not bad. I think they went too soft on this album. The songs are good, but it's not the Mudvayne I was used to. There we're softer songs on other CD's, but this one is dominated by them. While it's still a good CD, I hope they go back to the old style for their next album.
  7. Ken
    Aug 3, 2009
    8
    OK the album is not Mudvaynes best, Buts they must be making sales. Personally, I like The New Game. When it comes to songs like "Have it your way" or "Do what you do", It gets back down to the roots of what made Mudvaye good in the first place. Blasting out good metal tracks. OK yes, both of those songs are "secure" when it comes to the sound of Mudvayne but not all artists come out with OK the album is not Mudvaynes best, Buts they must be making sales. Personally, I like The New Game. When it comes to songs like "Have it your way" or "Do what you do", It gets back down to the roots of what made Mudvaye good in the first place. Blasting out good metal tracks. OK yes, both of those songs are "secure" when it comes to the sound of Mudvayne but not all artists come out with something fresh and new. But Chad has deffinitly put a lot into this album vocally (compared to L.D. 50). Just listen to "A new game", it thrives on what Chad Grey has learned in his years with Mudvayne (and Hellyeah). Mudvayne have progressed through the years, They have come a long way from "Kill I Oughta" and "L.D. 50". Not to mention, they have progressed for the better. Look at it from their point of view, If they stayed with the sound of "L.D. 50", they wouldn't have half the fan base that they have today. And if they did stick with the sound of "L.D. 50", then everybody would complain that its the same old sond over and over again. Mudvayne have done well to reach as many fans as they possibly can while keeping they existing fans happy. I like the new Mudvayne album "A New Game". Keep up the good work. Expand
Metascore
50

Mixed or average reviews - based on 7 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 7
  2. Negative: 2 out of 7
  1. Some of the fierce headbanging that is Mudvayne's stock in trade can still be found in 'The Hate in Me,' 'We the People' and 'Dull Boy,' but the bulk of the record finds the group playing its New Game with hard-hitting exuberance.
  2. Mudvayne used to be viewed as somewhat of a joke band with its costumes and makeup, but they're more out front and naked now, with markedly more genuine results.
  3. The album's gooey, mid-tempo grind at best evokes System of a Down stripped of ambition and eccentricity, and might elicit sympathy with whatever culprit is running around that no-stoplight town.