Metascore
81

Universal acclaim - based on 44 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 44
  2. Negative: 0 out of 44
  1. Apr 24, 2013
    40
    The rest of the album makes the distance between now and (Berlin) then of "Where Are We Now?" painfully evident, a pain heightened by Visconti's failure to convert this collection of session muso workouts into anything memorable. [May 2013, p.55]
  2. Mar 14, 2013
    60
    Pop music is never a purely cerebral exercise, and despite its intriguing concept, The Next Day is woefully short on anything to sing along to.
  3. Mar 11, 2013
    60
    The Next Day is a good latter-day Bowie record, worthy of at least a few listens, but since it's so evocative of his earlier, better work there's little reason not to put on Scary Monsters or Heroes instead.
  4. Mar 11, 2013
    60
    A dense, angry, complex rock album.
  5. Mar 11, 2013
    50
    Put quite simply The Next Day is dull.
  6. Mar 4, 2013
    50
    The collision of rhetoric and intentions result in both colorless abstractions like piano ballad and first single "Where Are We Now," and grand melodrama like "You Feel So Lonely You Could Die."
User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 143 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 33
  2. Negative: 4 out of 33
  1. Mar 12, 2013
    8
    Even though I'm a die-hard David Bowie fanatic (I've even forgiven him for Tin Machine...), I must say I was a bit nervous/hesitant when IEven though I'm a die-hard David Bowie fanatic (I've even forgiven him for Tin Machine...), I must say I was a bit nervous/hesitant when I heard about this album being released. However, when I heard the lead-off single, I was quite relieved. I pre-ordered the CD and streamed it. This new release confirmed my hopes & desires for something awesome from Mr. Jones. I highly recommend buying this release. I'm debating getting a copy on vinyl when it's released in that format later this month. Full Review »
  2. Mar 16, 2013
    4
    I really, really don't know what all the fuss is about. This is a very dull album indeed in my opinion. Bowie is lionized to such a degreeI really, really don't know what all the fuss is about. This is a very dull album indeed in my opinion. Bowie is lionized to such a degree that he is now beyond reproach in the minds of fans and critics alike. Full Review »
  3. MES
    Mar 29, 2013
    9
    In a surprise release in January and again, in March, David Bowie has revealed his first album in 10 years. It is proclaimed by critics toIn a surprise release in January and again, in March, David Bowie has revealed his first album in 10 years. It is proclaimed by critics to be his best in 30 years. It may well be.
    Let's put this in perspective. 1983 was the year that Bowie released Let’s Dance. It was a good album containing at least five good songs (out of a total of 8 songs) including Modern Love, China Girl, Let’s Dance and Cat People. Since that time, Bowie has released 10 albums. Most of them were interesting but none of them came close to the accessibility and intrigue of his earlier work. Sorry David; the truth is sometimes painful.

    One other part of this perspective is that David Bowie is the man who, in one five year period released Ziggy Stardust, Aladdin Sane, Diamond Dogs, Young Americans and his Berlin Trilogy (Station to Station, Low, Heroes). Each of these albums were remarkable the totality of them was just short of amazing. They boasted great riffs, original sounds, fascinating lyrics and groundbreaking personalities.

    We now fast forward to the present day and Bowie offers us all a 66th birthday gift. The fact that he allows us all to listen to the album for free during a two week period prior to its release makes the gift that much more special. It’s an unusually prolific album boasting 14 songs. Some border on great (Where Are We Now, The Stars, Valentine’s Day, I’d Rather Be High), some are excellently crafted pop songs (Love is Lost, Dancing Out in Space, How Does the Grass Grow, You Feel So Lonely You Could Die). It’s an album that begs to be listened to repeatedly much like his best albums of the past. One of the best tracks is a bonus track “I’ll Take You There”. GREAT bonus track!

    It’s shortcomings? It is largely derivative. Rather than breaking new sonic ground, Bowie pulls from his Honky Dory/Diamond Dogs/Low/Scary Monster catalogue of sound and fury. It is also not as catchy as some of his greatest albums. Only a few of the songs resonate in my head after listening. Still, this is a truly wonderful gift that Bowie has presented to us all. It’ll keep your ears happy for many weeks/months/years.

    Thank you David!
    Full Review »