The Next Day - David Bowie
User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 128 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 11 out of 128

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 12, 2013
    8
    Even though I'm a die-hard David Bowie fanatic (I've even forgiven him for Tin Machine...), I must say I was a bit nervous/hesitant when I heard about this album being released. However, when I heard the lead-off single, I was quite relieved. I pre-ordered the CD and streamed it. This new release confirmed my hopes & desires for something awesome from Mr. Jones. I highly recommend buying this release. I'm debating getting a copy on vinyl when it's released in that format later this month. Expand
  2. Mar 16, 2013
    4
    I really, really don't know what all the fuss is about. This is a very dull album indeed in my opinion. Bowie is lionized to such a degree that he is now beyond reproach in the minds of fans and critics alike.
  3. Mar 17, 2013
    5
    Sadly, there nothing special about this album except it is Bowie's return. I am glad he is back and his voice sounds great. The production is professional and everything is done like the pro he is. However, there is nothing memorable here that makes one scream out to play a certain track again. It is frankly a boring CD. You will put it on the in the rack after the third listen. Now that he is back, may the next one contain some rock and roll. Expand
  4. MES
    Mar 29, 2013
    9
    In a surprise release in January and again, in March, David Bowie has revealed his first album in 10 years. It is proclaimed by critics to be his best in 30 years. It may well be.
    Let's put this in perspective. 1983 was the year that Bowie released Let’s Dance. It was a good album containing at least five good songs (out of a total of 8 songs) including Modern Love, China
    Girl, Let’s Dance and Cat People. Since that time, Bowie has released 10 albums. Most of them were interesting but none of them came close to the accessibility and intrigue of his earlier work. Sorry David; the truth is sometimes painful.

    One other part of this perspective is that David Bowie is the man who, in one five year period released Ziggy Stardust, Aladdin Sane, Diamond Dogs, Young Americans and his Berlin Trilogy (Station to Station, Low, Heroes). Each of these albums were remarkable the totality of them was just short of amazing. They boasted great riffs, original sounds, fascinating lyrics and groundbreaking personalities.

    We now fast forward to the present day and Bowie offers us all a 66th birthday gift. The fact that he allows us all to listen to the album for free during a two week period prior to its release makes the gift that much more special. It’s an unusually prolific album boasting 14 songs. Some border on great (Where Are We Now, The Stars, Valentine’s Day, I’d Rather Be High), some are excellently crafted pop songs (Love is Lost, Dancing Out in Space, How Does the Grass Grow, You Feel So Lonely You Could Die). It’s an album that begs to be listened to repeatedly much like his best albums of the past. One of the best tracks is a bonus track “I’ll Take You There”. GREAT bonus track!

    It’s shortcomings? It is largely derivative. Rather than breaking new sonic ground, Bowie pulls from his Honky Dory/Diamond Dogs/Low/Scary Monster catalogue of sound and fury. It is also not as catchy as some of his greatest albums. Only a few of the songs resonate in my head after listening. Still, this is a truly wonderful gift that Bowie has presented to us all. It’ll keep your ears happy for many weeks/months/years.

    Thank you David!
    Expand
  5. Mar 14, 2013
    9
    A brilliant treat from an enduring original. It's all about what was once known as "Album Oriented Rock" While there is no clear chart topping hit, every song works towards the creation of a greater whole. Each listen, three as of this writing, gives me something new to appreciate and I'm getting right back in there as soon as I'm done here. It's been far too long an absence of Bowie from the musical zeitgeist and he's back with some really thoughtful, topical lyrics and a great band of musical co conspirators. Haven't heard anything nearly as compelling for over a decade from the corporate wasteland of well hyped mediocrity Expand
  6. Mar 19, 2013
    3
    I've been a Bowie fan for almost exactly 30 years now. The Next Day just leaves me flat. Compared to his works such as Scary Monsters, Low, Hours etc this album just seems plain dull. It jumps around all over the place, almost like Bowie is riffing on his entire catalogue in an effort to "round things up". Bowie has sure had his highs (Scary Monsters, Low) and his lows (Tin Machine, anything in the mid to late 80s) but sadly The Next Day isn't the Bowie I've come to know and love. The album's only saving grace is a single track, Valentine's Day. And the album cover.. sorry.. not clever at all. Expand
  7. Mar 12, 2013
    10
    At first i missed an experimental avantgarde sound, but the more i listen, the more it´s great. i guess it´ll follow me a longer time with it´s catchy melodies and fresh energy.
  8. Mar 12, 2013
    7
    I'm on about my 6th or 7th listen. "The Next Day" and "Where Are We Now?" rank as two of Bowie's best songs. I like "I'd Rather Be High" and to some degree "The Stars Are Out Tonight", which I imagine the public will like best. After that it's a whole lot of rinky-dink filler tunes and the last few songs just end the whole record on a sad and sorry wimper. The title track should come last because it rages against the dying of the light. The praise for this record is a little overblown. 4 good songs, the rest is filler. About as good as you can hope for these days. Expand
  9. Mar 24, 2013
    7
    I love just about every period in David Bowie's shifting musical history, excluding those four years between 1984 and 1988, a period I try not to think too much about. Bowie hasn't put an album out during most of my adult life, so most of my appreciation for him has been in retrospect. This is why I was thrilled to hear about "The Next Day." Where does this new album fit in? While the album cover references his classic "Heroes", this album isn't nearly so artfully crafted. It sounds raw and almost anti-melodic in places. In that way its much more like "Heroes"'s follow up album, "Lodger". It doesn't sound like a 'comeback' album. That is not to say that it isn't very good. Bowie is 66 years old, with one of the most influential canons in music history and £100 Million. He doesn't need to do a 'comeback' album. What he's put out instead is something similar to his last two efforts, an album that is both reflective and experimental. There are parts of the album that thrill me, and there are parts that confuse me, but there's nothing there that's just boring. Expand
  10. Jun 15, 2013
    9
    Bowie is back! The songs are melodically tight, arrangement-wise a treat, and lyrically brilliant Which is the reason we all tuned into Bowie in the first place. It grows with each passing listen Definitely one of 2013's best album, un-expectation and all.
  11. Jun 1, 2013
    0
    I'm a Bowie fan from before Ziggy Stardust. But "The Next Day" is pure crap. It's one of the most tuneless, soulless, robotic and boring pieces of rubbish to ever pollute the airwaves. It's even worse than that; it's excrutiatingly painful and puke-inducing to listen to. Even the most non-musically-talented garage band can do better than this.

    Bowie is the third most brilliant
    musician to have ever lived (after Pink Floyd and Vangelis). What on earth went wrong?

    And why do so many people appear to like this album (or are all the reviewers just paid record company shills)?
    Expand
  12. Mar 17, 2013
    8
    I've never properly listened to David Bowie, but giving this record a few listens has made me reconsider listening to a lot of his older work. The Next Day shows a much older Bowie seeming to come to grips with his life, and reminiscing about his earlier youth. Each track shows a man that's been in the music business for over 4 decades. All In All, David Bowie sounds distant, yet completely intoxicating on The Next Day. Expand
  13. Jan 20, 2014
    7
    It's David Bowie, and he still has it. In a big way. There are some very great tracks in here (not all of them, though). The music is diverse and exciting, resulting in quite a rock album. His singing is a joy to listen to. My favorite track, vocally, is "How Does the Grass Grow?". He sounds so energetic. Glad to see him back. Even if the overall output doesn't reach the heights of his work in the 70s, it's pretty good in its own right. Expand
  14. Apr 5, 2014
    8
    If you take the surprise release element and the hype that came with that aside, your still left with a very solid album and probably his best in about 30 years. In making "The Next Day", Bowie takes the best parts of his 90's and 00' output, distills out the inconsistencies and adds a dollop of modernity and a drop of his vintage best into the mix. The album has several peaks but no real low points and I've grown more fond of it with repeated listens with different tracks standings out at different times. The best thing about the record is that it was essentially made by an OAP, blowing the theory that artists have a finite creative lifespan completely out of the water. The middle section of the album is the strongest in my opinion - I'd rather be high, Boss of Me and Dancing Out in Space seeing Bowie hit a streak of form we've not seen literally in decades.Not his best work but certainly on the next level down. Expand
  15. Mar 28, 2013
    1
    I liked David Bowie's older material but this album I just did not enjoy in the slightest. The song tempos are too slow, the lyrics are forgettable and the pacing was bad. Was just not my cup of tea.
  16. Apr 23, 2013
    8
    I was pleasantly surprised when I heard that David Bowie was coming out with a new album. And this did not disappoint. The first single, "Where Are We Now", is an amazing and downright beautiful track. I even broke my rule about buying deluxe editions and spent the extra bit of cash for the deluxe edition. The bonus tracks were worth it.
  17. Mar 18, 2013
    7
    Avant-grade rock/pop is nice. David Bowie did made a comeback, although not fully perfect, it is good from his previous work. But I wouldn't be singing along with him the whole time though. Despite its concept, I find it...average.
  18. Apr 14, 2013
    5
    Having only heard a few Bowie songs here and there, this was my first time of listening to a full length album. I've been led to believe that it isn't quite like his past work, but as far as I can see, it's ok. There's two bad ones, a few mediocre ones, some very decent ones and some great standouts. Dirty Boys, Love Is Lost, How Does The Grass Grow? and (You Will) Set The World On Fire are definitely the best the album has to offer, You Feel So Lonely You Could Die and Heat are very good and deluxe edition bonus tracks like Plan and God Bless The Girl are worth checking out. Despite all this, there's nothing that completely grips me. I'm not getting all the love for Valentine's Day the final few seconds with the awesome guitar is brilliant, but the rest seems very cheesy to me and Dancing Out In Space is most definitely a track I could've done without. Apart from these two, the piece of work is overall ok. But nowhere near the masterpiece the critics have made it out to be. Expand
  19. Mar 13, 2013
    9
    Is it his best work? No. But I think the fact that at age 66 and after a 10 year hiatus he made the kind of record everyone was hoping would follow Scary Monsters makes it all the more remarkable. It's an undeniably great album, by any measure. The fact that a) he was thought to be retired and/or dying and that b) he spent nearly 20 years making fairly mediocre albums is contributing to the hysteria. I say this as someone who considers Bowie to be one of his all time favourite artists. Don't get me wrong, there have been some great individual tracks, but this is the first record since Black Tie White Noise that I can listen to without skipping any tracks. Expand
  20. Mar 12, 2013
    9
    After a few listens it was clear there were some exceptional good songs on this album. Some have mentioned in other reviews that this album sounds like other Bowie albums. I have to ask, "is that really a bad thing?" Of course not, Bowie had some remarkable work. Still when one listens to an album, one wants to hear variety. This album does not fail to provide that. There is a nice mix of mid-tempo, ballad and higher rockers. For some of us, a mixture is necessary. I can't always take several high intensity songs back to back, nor can I listen to so many slow pace songs that sleep overtakes me. As for genres of music, one can hear rock, alternative, pop and even a slightly jazzy mix in the second song on the album. There are traditional compositions of basic guitar and drums, more elaborate orchestra arrangements with synths and horns, and even a song or two with relatively stripped down acoustics. Don't let that fool you, basic composition does not not mean mundane or redundant. You are not listening to the same songs over and over with just different words. Bowie puts a different enough spin on each song, the uniqueness of each shines through. Speaking of words, Bowie packs a lot into the lyrics. Some of the songs play like Bowie's Bewley Brothers or Quicksand with heavy references to philosophy, history, and past and current culture. However, Bowie fans of old will find this a step forward (or rather backward) to some of Bowie's best albums of the past. Expand
  21. Mar 14, 2013
    9
    I might say something like this is his best album since Scary Monsters but the truth is I will only listen to Scary Monsters maybe once or twice a year. And like The Next Day, I bought that album the day it came out. So I've had a lot of time with it. No, I would have to say this is his best album since "Heroes". I can listen to that album 20, 30 times a year. I've already listened to The Next Day 7 or 8 times and it just gets better and better. It's already like a dear friend. I have nothing intellectual to offer, just that. It may end up, in a way, being my favorite Bowie album. Kind of like Iggy's, New Values. It may not be his best but it's the one I listen to the most. If you don't have The Next Day yet well, get on it! Expand
  22. Mar 21, 2013
    10
    I love PJ Harvey. I love Nick Cave and Jack White. They have each released an album recently, and they're all incredible. I only bring that up here because I want to emphasize that David Bowie has released the best album I have heard in a very long time. Every song, in its own way, is brilliant. I don't have the time to go into a rant about how much I hate music critics: a bunch of worthless upper-middle-class folks who try but fail to make up in knowledge of the subject what they lack in human experience, but an 84 for this album is an insult. This is, after only a few listens, one of my favorite Bowie albums. I love Ziggy Stardust, I love Hunky Dory, Aladdin Sane, Daimond Dogs, Lodger, Station to Station, Heroes, Scary Monsters, and I love The Next Day. If you love Bowie, you will be, as I was, ecstatic. I had hope, but still relatively low expectations for this album. I was very, very wrong. Buy it. If you're a fan of what Bowie does, and that goes much deeper than you might think, then you will love this album. It's F***ing GREAT!!! P.S. Someone called this album dull. I don't know what he listens to, maybe dance music or something, but as far a good music goes, there is not a dull moment on the record. I can't get my head around someone who listens to this and thinks "booooring...". Maybe he's a meth addict (just a joke, by the way. Don't get upset.) But this is every bit as energizing, hook-filled, and entertaining as any of Bowie's other classics, so I just do not get the "dull" thing. In about 6 or 7 listens, I've only felt that it got better, and even from the first, I never thought it dull. It's just very strange to me. Expand
  23. Mar 31, 2013
    10
    After 10 years David Bowie releases his new album 'The Next Day'; an experimental collection of songs that are the best in his catalogue of material and the best since 'Scary Monsters...' 33 years ago. After some disappointing work in the 90s and early 2000s this is a return to form for Bowie and is the greatest comeback album for any act of the past decade. From nostalgic ballads (Where Are We Now) to songs from the perspective of school shooters and WW2 soldiers (Valentine's Day and I'd Rather Be High respectively) this is Bowie at his most creative and innovative. Expect more of this in the future. Expand
  24. Apr 2, 2013
    7
    What can I say about the last album from one of my musical Heroes... Talking about Heroes. I can hear some kind of Heroes stuff in The Next Day. I can hear something of Ziggy, Scary Monsters, Reality, Low or Hunky Dory. In summary, a complex mixture of styles and a nice review of his career. Nice to listen. Obviously is not Bowie at his best, but is a better Bowie than Outside one or Heathen one. Not a classic, but probably better than any 2013 album of any pop/rock world star. Expand
  25. Apr 4, 2013
    3
    This album is not the brilliant return to form it's cracked up to be. In fact, for me, it's a sad, disappointing end to a 10 year wait. I'm a well-worn Bowie fan and have been since the 70's but this is not the product of the creative genius he once was. The arrangements are all similar....there are no decent melodies, the lyrics are just plain weird. It sounds like all the instrumental tracks were recorded in about 3 days....they're all virtually the same. Then...Bowie just improvises a tune over the top....and I use the word 'tune' loosely. Even the packaging has almost illegible writing just to prolong the agony. Bowie's stuff is treated like The Emperor's New Clothes. None of the media want to say it like it is. For me, this album is simply light-years away from his best material....they're not really songs at all. So much repetition, no soaring choruses or clever chord changes. And to think this has all been kept under wraps until January making us all think this is a masterpiece. Very wide of the mark. He once made an album called 'Never Let Me Down.' Well I paid £13 for the album so I've done my bit.....a shame it wasn't reciprocated. Expand
  26. Apr 10, 2013
    4
    A few bright spots, but i dont think this holds up against the majority of his other (successful) work.
    I understand that he's changed and times have changed as well but the band's sound is way too processed/antiseptic and could really benefit from a few adjustments. (although that's also been the case for the last few albums) To draw comparisons, I enjoyed more of Heathen than of this
    album.. no hate, just underwhelmed.

    Also rolled my eyes a little at the uninspired cover
    Expand
  27. Apr 18, 2013
    10
    This album contains some good ol' Bowie work turned into a new shape, but new innovative music too. Some songs sounds like the music he did during the eighties, but in better XD. A solid work, a great come back.
  28. May 4, 2013
    8
    David Bowie is back to his best with this release in my opinion. This album is more rocky than some of his previous works and the album stands out because of this. My only complaint would be many of the songs sound similar. Apparently 29 tracks were recorded so I really hope these are released as well!
  29. Jun 4, 2013
    8
    What a great surprise for 2013 The first track I heard was "Where Are They Now". Which was grown on me in the subsequent weeks. There are still more albums in the tank for the "Thin White Duke">
  30. Jan 4, 2014
    10
    It is David Bowie. If you need something else let me just tell he is as or more importan for rock and british music than The Beatles. Every year something happens with The Beatles but every time Sir David Bowie delivers something new is a retrospective journey for meny genres. Just how he can kepp writing and reinventig himself, not like McCartney or Bob Dylan.
Metascore
81

Universal acclaim - based on 44 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 44
  2. Negative: 0 out of 44
  1. 80
    A vintage Bowie album for vintage Bowie people, of whom there are many; a reflection on his own journey and also on ours. [Apr 2013, p.92]
  2. Jun 4, 2013
    80
    The Next Day is certainly his most engaging and intriguing since Outside. For now, that’s more than enough.
  3. May 2, 2013
    67
    His innovative days may be long behind him, but Bowie's melodic gifts remain undiminished and his lyrics appropriately ambiguous.