The Next Day - David Bowie
User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 137 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 11 out of 137

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 12, 2013
    10
    At first i missed an experimental avantgarde sound, but the more i listen, the more it´s great. i guess it´ll follow me a longer time with it´s catchy melodies and fresh energy.
  2. Mar 21, 2013
    10
    I love PJ Harvey. I love Nick Cave and Jack White. They have each released an album recently, and they're all incredible. I only bring that up here because I want to emphasize that David Bowie has released the best album I have heard in a very long time. Every song, in its own way, is brilliant. I don't have the time to go into a rant about how much I hate music critics: a bunch ofI love PJ Harvey. I love Nick Cave and Jack White. They have each released an album recently, and they're all incredible. I only bring that up here because I want to emphasize that David Bowie has released the best album I have heard in a very long time. Every song, in its own way, is brilliant. I don't have the time to go into a rant about how much I hate music critics: a bunch of worthless upper-middle-class folks who try but fail to make up in knowledge of the subject what they lack in human experience, but an 84 for this album is an insult. This is, after only a few listens, one of my favorite Bowie albums. I love Ziggy Stardust, I love Hunky Dory, Aladdin Sane, Daimond Dogs, Lodger, Station to Station, Heroes, Scary Monsters, and I love The Next Day. If you love Bowie, you will be, as I was, ecstatic. I had hope, but still relatively low expectations for this album. I was very, very wrong. Buy it. If you're a fan of what Bowie does, and that goes much deeper than you might think, then you will love this album. It's F***ing GREAT!!! P.S. Someone called this album dull. I don't know what he listens to, maybe dance music or something, but as far a good music goes, there is not a dull moment on the record. I can't get my head around someone who listens to this and thinks "booooring...". Maybe he's a meth addict (just a joke, by the way. Don't get upset.) But this is every bit as energizing, hook-filled, and entertaining as any of Bowie's other classics, so I just do not get the "dull" thing. In about 6 or 7 listens, I've only felt that it got better, and even from the first, I never thought it dull. It's just very strange to me. Expand
  3. Mar 31, 2013
    10
    After 10 years David Bowie releases his new album 'The Next Day'; an experimental collection of songs that are the best in his catalogue of material and the best since 'Scary Monsters...' 33 years ago. After some disappointing work in the 90s and early 2000s this is a return to form for Bowie and is the greatest comeback album for any act of the past decade. From nostalgic ballads (WhereAfter 10 years David Bowie releases his new album 'The Next Day'; an experimental collection of songs that are the best in his catalogue of material and the best since 'Scary Monsters...' 33 years ago. After some disappointing work in the 90s and early 2000s this is a return to form for Bowie and is the greatest comeback album for any act of the past decade. From nostalgic ballads (Where Are We Now) to songs from the perspective of school shooters and WW2 soldiers (Valentine's Day and I'd Rather Be High respectively) this is Bowie at his most creative and innovative. Expect more of this in the future. Expand
  4. Apr 18, 2013
    10
    This album contains some good ol' Bowie work turned into a new shape, but new innovative music too. Some songs sounds like the music he did during the eighties, but in better XD. A solid work, a great come back.
  5. Jan 4, 2014
    10
    It is David Bowie. If you need something else let me just tell he is as or more importan for rock and british music than The Beatles. Every year something happens with The Beatles but every time Sir David Bowie delivers something new is a retrospective journey for meny genres. Just how he can kepp writing and reinventig himself, not like McCartney or Bob Dylan.
  6. Mar 24, 2014
    10
    I'm immensely glad that Bowie's got a new album, and for the first time in 10 years as well! The Next Day is not just satisfying album, but in a sense, a mind blowing one too. The song structures and the lyrics remain like normal for Bowie, picture perfect in their own weirdness. But in The Next Day I feel there's something new, something Bowie hasn't tried before. Unlike some people, II'm immensely glad that Bowie's got a new album, and for the first time in 10 years as well! The Next Day is not just satisfying album, but in a sense, a mind blowing one too. The song structures and the lyrics remain like normal for Bowie, picture perfect in their own weirdness. But in The Next Day I feel there's something new, something Bowie hasn't tried before. Unlike some people, I wouldn't say this was his best since Scary Monsters, but Heroes. Expand
  7. MES
    Mar 29, 2013
    9
    In a surprise release in January and again, in March, David Bowie has revealed his first album in 10 years. It is proclaimed by critics to be his best in 30 years. It may well be.
    Let's put this in perspective. 1983 was the year that Bowie released Let’s Dance. It was a good album containing at least five good songs (out of a total of 8 songs) including Modern Love, China
    In a surprise release in January and again, in March, David Bowie has revealed his first album in 10 years. It is proclaimed by critics to be his best in 30 years. It may well be.
    Let's put this in perspective. 1983 was the year that Bowie released Let’s Dance. It was a good album containing at least five good songs (out of a total of 8 songs) including Modern Love, China Girl, Let’s Dance and Cat People. Since that time, Bowie has released 10 albums. Most of them were interesting but none of them came close to the accessibility and intrigue of his earlier work. Sorry David; the truth is sometimes painful.

    One other part of this perspective is that David Bowie is the man who, in one five year period released Ziggy Stardust, Aladdin Sane, Diamond Dogs, Young Americans and his Berlin Trilogy (Station to Station, Low, Heroes). Each of these albums were remarkable the totality of them was just short of amazing. They boasted great riffs, original sounds, fascinating lyrics and groundbreaking personalities.

    We now fast forward to the present day and Bowie offers us all a 66th birthday gift. The fact that he allows us all to listen to the album for free during a two week period prior to its release makes the gift that much more special. It’s an unusually prolific album boasting 14 songs. Some border on great (Where Are We Now, The Stars, Valentine’s Day, I’d Rather Be High), some are excellently crafted pop songs (Love is Lost, Dancing Out in Space, How Does the Grass Grow, You Feel So Lonely You Could Die). It’s an album that begs to be listened to repeatedly much like his best albums of the past. One of the best tracks is a bonus track “I’ll Take You There”. GREAT bonus track!

    It’s shortcomings? It is largely derivative. Rather than breaking new sonic ground, Bowie pulls from his Honky Dory/Diamond Dogs/Low/Scary Monster catalogue of sound and fury. It is also not as catchy as some of his greatest albums. Only a few of the songs resonate in my head after listening. Still, this is a truly wonderful gift that Bowie has presented to us all. It’ll keep your ears happy for many weeks/months/years.

    Thank you David!
    Expand
  8. Mar 13, 2013
    9
    Is it his best work? No. But I think the fact that at age 66 and after a 10 year hiatus he made the kind of record everyone was hoping would follow Scary Monsters makes it all the more remarkable. It's an undeniably great album, by any measure. The fact that a) he was thought to be retired and/or dying and that b) he spent nearly 20 years making fairly mediocre albums is contributing toIs it his best work? No. But I think the fact that at age 66 and after a 10 year hiatus he made the kind of record everyone was hoping would follow Scary Monsters makes it all the more remarkable. It's an undeniably great album, by any measure. The fact that a) he was thought to be retired and/or dying and that b) he spent nearly 20 years making fairly mediocre albums is contributing to the hysteria. I say this as someone who considers Bowie to be one of his all time favourite artists. Don't get me wrong, there have been some great individual tracks, but this is the first record since Black Tie White Noise that I can listen to without skipping any tracks. Expand
  9. Mar 12, 2013
    9
    After a few listens it was clear there were some exceptional good songs on this album. Some have mentioned in other reviews that this album sounds like other Bowie albums. I have to ask, "is that really a bad thing?" Of course not, Bowie had some remarkable work. Still when one listens to an album, one wants to hear variety. This album does not fail to provide that. There is a nice mixAfter a few listens it was clear there were some exceptional good songs on this album. Some have mentioned in other reviews that this album sounds like other Bowie albums. I have to ask, "is that really a bad thing?" Of course not, Bowie had some remarkable work. Still when one listens to an album, one wants to hear variety. This album does not fail to provide that. There is a nice mix of mid-tempo, ballad and higher rockers. For some of us, a mixture is necessary. I can't always take several high intensity songs back to back, nor can I listen to so many slow pace songs that sleep overtakes me. As for genres of music, one can hear rock, alternative, pop and even a slightly jazzy mix in the second song on the album. There are traditional compositions of basic guitar and drums, more elaborate orchestra arrangements with synths and horns, and even a song or two with relatively stripped down acoustics. Don't let that fool you, basic composition does not not mean mundane or redundant. You are not listening to the same songs over and over with just different words. Bowie puts a different enough spin on each song, the uniqueness of each shines through. Speaking of words, Bowie packs a lot into the lyrics. Some of the songs play like Bowie's Bewley Brothers or Quicksand with heavy references to philosophy, history, and past and current culture. However, Bowie fans of old will find this a step forward (or rather backward) to some of Bowie's best albums of the past. Expand
  10. Mar 14, 2013
    9
    I might say something like this is his best album since Scary Monsters but the truth is I will only listen to Scary Monsters maybe once or twice a year. And like The Next Day, I bought that album the day it came out. So I've had a lot of time with it. No, I would have to say this is his best album since "Heroes". I can listen to that album 20, 30 times a year. I've already listened toI might say something like this is his best album since Scary Monsters but the truth is I will only listen to Scary Monsters maybe once or twice a year. And like The Next Day, I bought that album the day it came out. So I've had a lot of time with it. No, I would have to say this is his best album since "Heroes". I can listen to that album 20, 30 times a year. I've already listened to The Next Day 7 or 8 times and it just gets better and better. It's already like a dear friend. I have nothing intellectual to offer, just that. It may end up, in a way, being my favorite Bowie album. Kind of like Iggy's, New Values. It may not be his best but it's the one I listen to the most. If you don't have The Next Day yet well, get on it! Expand
  11. Mar 14, 2013
    9
    A brilliant treat from an enduring original. It's all about what was once known as "Album Oriented Rock" While there is no clear chart topping hit, every song works towards the creation of a greater whole. Each listen, three as of this writing, gives me something new to appreciate and I'm getting right back in there as soon as I'm done here. It's been far too long an absence of Bowie fromA brilliant treat from an enduring original. It's all about what was once known as "Album Oriented Rock" While there is no clear chart topping hit, every song works towards the creation of a greater whole. Each listen, three as of this writing, gives me something new to appreciate and I'm getting right back in there as soon as I'm done here. It's been far too long an absence of Bowie from the musical zeitgeist and he's back with some really thoughtful, topical lyrics and a great band of musical co conspirators. Haven't heard anything nearly as compelling for over a decade from the corporate wasteland of well hyped mediocrity Expand
  12. Jun 15, 2013
    9
    Bowie is back! The songs are melodically tight, arrangement-wise a treat, and lyrically brilliant Which is the reason we all tuned into Bowie in the first place. It grows with each passing listen Definitely one of 2013's best album, un-expectation and all.
Metascore
81

Universal acclaim - based on 44 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 44
  2. Negative: 0 out of 44
  1. 80
    A vintage Bowie album for vintage Bowie people, of whom there are many; a reflection on his own journey and also on ours. [Apr 2013, p.92]
  2. Jun 4, 2013
    80
    The Next Day is certainly his most engaging and intriguing since Outside. For now, that’s more than enough.
  3. May 2, 2013
    67
    His innovative days may be long behind him, but Bowie's melodic gifts remain undiminished and his lyrics appropriately ambiguous.