The Next Day

The Next Day Image
Metascore
81

Universal acclaim - based on 44 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 180 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In the works for over two years with producer Tony Visconti, this is the first new studio release from David Bowie in ten years.
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 44
  2. Negative: 0 out of 44
  1. Q Magazine
    Mar 11, 2013
    100
    The Next Day is a loud, thrilling, steamrollingly confident rock and roll album full of noise, energy, and words that--if as cryptic as ever they were--sound like they desperately need to be sung. [Apr 2013, p.92]
  2. Feb 25, 2013
    100
    It is an enormous pleasure to report that the new David Bowie album is an absolute wonder: urgent, sharp-edged, bold, beautiful and baffling, an intellectually stimulating, emotionally charged, musically jagged, electric bolt through his own mythos and the mixed-up, celebrity-obsessed, war-torn world of the 21st century.
  3. Mar 11, 2013
    88
    It’s his most consistent and rewarding work since “Scary Monsters and Super Creeps” in 1980.
  4. Feb 25, 2013
    80
    An album that's thought-provoking, strange and filled with great songs.
  5. Mar 11, 2013
    80
    The Next Day offers many sides of a multifaceted artist and almost all of them mesmerizing, as the songs grow richer with each listen.
  6. It demands that you listen to it in this moment, not that you give it an easy ride because this is the man who made ‘Heroes’; and its songs more than live up to the demand.
  7. The Wire
    Apr 24, 2013
    40
    The rest of the album makes the distance between now and (Berlin) then of "Where Are We Now?" painfully evident, a pain heightened by Visconti's failure to convert this collection of session muso workouts into anything memorable. [May 2013, p.55]

See all 44 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 40
  2. Negative: 5 out of 40
  1. Mar 12, 2013
    10
    At first i missed an experimental avantgarde sound, but the more i listen, the more it´s great. i guess it´ll follow me a longer time withAt first i missed an experimental avantgarde sound, but the more i listen, the more it´s great. i guess it´ll follow me a longer time with it´s catchy melodies and fresh energy. Collapse
  2. Jan 4, 2014
    10
    It is David Bowie. If you need something else let me just tell he is as or more importan for rock and british music than The Beatles. EveryIt is David Bowie. If you need something else let me just tell he is as or more importan for rock and british music than The Beatles. Every year something happens with The Beatles but every time Sir David Bowie delivers something new is a retrospective journey for meny genres. Just how he can kepp writing and reinventig himself, not like McCartney or Bob Dylan. Expand
  3. Jun 15, 2013
    9
    Bowie is back! The songs are melodically tight, arrangement-wise a treat, and lyrically brilliant Which is the reason we all tuned into BowieBowie is back! The songs are melodically tight, arrangement-wise a treat, and lyrically brilliant Which is the reason we all tuned into Bowie in the first place. It grows with each passing listen Definitely one of 2013's best album, un-expectation and all. Expand
  4. Apr 5, 2014
    8
    If you take the surprise release element and the hype that came with that aside, your still left with a very solid album and probably his bestIf you take the surprise release element and the hype that came with that aside, your still left with a very solid album and probably his best in about 30 years. In making "The Next Day", Bowie takes the best parts of his 90's and 00' output, distills out the inconsistencies and adds a dollop of modernity and a drop of his vintage best into the mix. The album has several peaks but no real low points and I've grown more fond of it with repeated listens with different tracks standings out at different times. The best thing about the record is that it was essentially made by an OAP, blowing the theory that artists have a finite creative lifespan completely out of the water. The middle section of the album is the strongest in my opinion - I'd rather be high, Boss of Me and Dancing Out in Space seeing Bowie hit a streak of form we've not seen literally in decades.Not his best work but certainly on the next level down. Expand
  5. Mar 24, 2013
    7
    I love just about every period in David Bowie's shifting musical history, excluding those four years between 1984 and 1988, a period I try notI love just about every period in David Bowie's shifting musical history, excluding those four years between 1984 and 1988, a period I try not to think too much about. Bowie hasn't put an album out during most of my adult life, so most of my appreciation for him has been in retrospect. This is why I was thrilled to hear about "The Next Day." Where does this new album fit in? While the album cover references his classic "Heroes", this album isn't nearly so artfully crafted. It sounds raw and almost anti-melodic in places. In that way its much more like "Heroes"'s follow up album, "Lodger". It doesn't sound like a 'comeback' album. That is not to say that it isn't very good. Bowie is 66 years old, with one of the most influential canons in music history and £100 Million. He doesn't need to do a 'comeback' album. What he's put out instead is something similar to his last two efforts, an album that is both reflective and experimental. There are parts of the album that thrill me, and there are parts that confuse me, but there's nothing there that's just boring. Expand
  6. Mar 17, 2013
    5
    Sadly, there nothing special about this album except it is Bowie's return. I am glad he is back and his voice sounds great. The production isSadly, there nothing special about this album except it is Bowie's return. I am glad he is back and his voice sounds great. The production is professional and everything is done like the pro he is. However, there is nothing memorable here that makes one scream out to play a certain track again. It is frankly a boring CD. You will put it on the in the rack after the third listen. Now that he is back, may the next one contain some rock and roll. Expand
  7. Jun 1, 2013
    0
    I'm a Bowie fan from before Ziggy Stardust. But "The Next Day" is pure crap. It's one of the most tuneless, soulless, robotic and boringI'm a Bowie fan from before Ziggy Stardust. But "The Next Day" is pure crap. It's one of the most tuneless, soulless, robotic and boring pieces of rubbish to ever pollute the airwaves. It's even worse than that; it's excrutiatingly painful and puke-inducing to listen to. Even the most non-musically-talented garage band can do better than this.

    Bowie is the third most brilliant musician to have ever lived (after Pink Floyd and Vangelis). What on earth went wrong?

    And why do so many people appear to like this album (or are all the reviewers just paid record company shills)?
    Expand

See all 40 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. This Month's Best New Albums: March 2013

    This Month's Best New Albums: March 2013 Image
    Published: March 28, 2013
    Check out our list of the past month's best new album releases (including LPs from David Bowie, Low, Kacey Musgraves, and more), and listen to each one.