The Next Day

The Next Day Image
Metascore
81

Universal acclaim - based on 44 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 164 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In the works for over two years with producer Tony Visconti, this is the first new studio release from David Bowie in ten years.
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 44
  2. Negative: 0 out of 44
  1. Q Magazine
    Mar 11, 2013
    100
    The Next Day is a loud, thrilling, steamrollingly confident rock and roll album full of noise, energy, and words that--if as cryptic as ever they were--sound like they desperately need to be sung. [Apr 2013, p.92]
  2. Feb 25, 2013
    100
    It is an enormous pleasure to report that the new David Bowie album is an absolute wonder: urgent, sharp-edged, bold, beautiful and baffling, an intellectually stimulating, emotionally charged, musically jagged, electric bolt through his own mythos and the mixed-up, celebrity-obsessed, war-torn world of the 21st century.
  3. Mar 11, 2013
    88
    It’s his most consistent and rewarding work since “Scary Monsters and Super Creeps” in 1980.
  4. Feb 25, 2013
    80
    An album that's thought-provoking, strange and filled with great songs.
  5. Mar 11, 2013
    80
    The Next Day offers many sides of a multifaceted artist and almost all of them mesmerizing, as the songs grow richer with each listen.
  6. It demands that you listen to it in this moment, not that you give it an easy ride because this is the man who made ‘Heroes’; and its songs more than live up to the demand.
  7. The Wire
    Apr 24, 2013
    40
    The rest of the album makes the distance between now and (Berlin) then of "Where Are We Now?" painfully evident, a pain heightened by Visconti's failure to convert this collection of session muso workouts into anything memorable. [May 2013, p.55]

See all 44 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 38
  2. Negative: 5 out of 38
  1. Mar 12, 2013
    10
    At first i missed an experimental avantgarde sound, but the more i listen, the more it´s great. i guess it´ll follow me a longer time withAt first i missed an experimental avantgarde sound, but the more i listen, the more it´s great. i guess it´ll follow me a longer time with it´s catchy melodies and fresh energy. Expand
  2. Mar 24, 2014
    10
    I'm immensely glad that Bowie's got a new album, and for the first time in 10 years as well! The Next Day is not just satisfying album, but inI'm immensely glad that Bowie's got a new album, and for the first time in 10 years as well! The Next Day is not just satisfying album, but in a sense, a mind blowing one too. The song structures and the lyrics remain like normal for Bowie, picture perfect in their own weirdness. But in The Next Day I feel there's something new, something Bowie hasn't tried before. Unlike some people, I wouldn't say this was his best since Scary Monsters, but Heroes. Expand
  3. MES
    Mar 29, 2013
    9
    In a surprise release in January and again, in March, David Bowie has revealed his first album in 10 years. It is proclaimed by critics toIn a surprise release in January and again, in March, David Bowie has revealed his first album in 10 years. It is proclaimed by critics to be his best in 30 years. It may well be.
    Let's put this in perspective. 1983 was the year that Bowie released Let’s Dance. It was a good album containing at least five good songs (out of a total of 8 songs) including Modern Love, China Girl, Let’s Dance and Cat People. Since that time, Bowie has released 10 albums. Most of them were interesting but none of them came close to the accessibility and intrigue of his earlier work. Sorry David; the truth is sometimes painful.

    One other part of this perspective is that David Bowie is the man who, in one five year period released Ziggy Stardust, Aladdin Sane, Diamond Dogs, Young Americans and his Berlin Trilogy (Station to Station, Low, Heroes). Each of these albums were remarkable the totality of them was just short of amazing. They boasted great riffs, original sounds, fascinating lyrics and groundbreaking personalities.

    We now fast forward to the present day and Bowie offers us all a 66th birthday gift. The fact that he allows us all to listen to the album for free during a two week period prior to its release makes the gift that much more special. It’s an unusually prolific album boasting 14 songs. Some border on great (Where Are We Now, The Stars, Valentine’s Day, I’d Rather Be High), some are excellently crafted pop songs (Love is Lost, Dancing Out in Space, How Does the Grass Grow, You Feel So Lonely You Could Die). It’s an album that begs to be listened to repeatedly much like his best albums of the past. One of the best tracks is a bonus track “I’ll Take You There”. GREAT bonus track!

    It’s shortcomings? It is largely derivative. Rather than breaking new sonic ground, Bowie pulls from his Honky Dory/Diamond Dogs/Low/Scary Monster catalogue of sound and fury. It is also not as catchy as some of his greatest albums. Only a few of the songs resonate in my head after listening. Still, this is a truly wonderful gift that Bowie has presented to us all. It’ll keep your ears happy for many weeks/months/years.

    Thank you David!
    Expand
  4. Jun 4, 2013
    8
    What a great surprise for 2013 The first track I heard was "Where Are They Now". Which was grown on me in the subsequent weeks. There areWhat a great surprise for 2013 The first track I heard was "Where Are They Now". Which was grown on me in the subsequent weeks. There are still more albums in the tank for the "Thin White Duke"> Expand
  5. Mar 24, 2013
    7
    I love just about every period in David Bowie's shifting musical history, excluding those four years between 1984 and 1988, a period I try notI love just about every period in David Bowie's shifting musical history, excluding those four years between 1984 and 1988, a period I try not to think too much about. Bowie hasn't put an album out during most of my adult life, so most of my appreciation for him has been in retrospect. This is why I was thrilled to hear about "The Next Day." Where does this new album fit in? While the album cover references his classic "Heroes", this album isn't nearly so artfully crafted. It sounds raw and almost anti-melodic in places. In that way its much more like "Heroes"'s follow up album, "Lodger". It doesn't sound like a 'comeback' album. That is not to say that it isn't very good. Bowie is 66 years old, with one of the most influential canons in music history and £100 Million. He doesn't need to do a 'comeback' album. What he's put out instead is something similar to his last two efforts, an album that is both reflective and experimental. There are parts of the album that thrill me, and there are parts that confuse me, but there's nothing there that's just boring. Expand
  6. Mar 18, 2013
    7
    Avant-grade rock/pop is nice. David Bowie did made a comeback, although not fully perfect, it is good from his previous work. But I wouldn'tAvant-grade rock/pop is nice. David Bowie did made a comeback, although not fully perfect, it is good from his previous work. But I wouldn't be singing along with him the whole time though. Despite its concept, I find it...average. Expand
  7. Jun 1, 2013
    0
    I'm a Bowie fan from before Ziggy Stardust. But "The Next Day" is pure crap. It's one of the most tuneless, soulless, robotic and boringI'm a Bowie fan from before Ziggy Stardust. But "The Next Day" is pure crap. It's one of the most tuneless, soulless, robotic and boring pieces of rubbish to ever pollute the airwaves. It's even worse than that; it's excrutiatingly painful and puke-inducing to listen to. Even the most non-musically-talented garage band can do better than this.

    Bowie is the third most brilliant musician to have ever lived (after Pink Floyd and Vangelis). What on earth went wrong?

    And why do so many people appear to like this album (or are all the reviewers just paid record company shills)?
    Expand

See all 38 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. This Month's Best New Albums: March 2013

    This Month's Best New Albums: March 2013 Image
    Published: March 28, 2013
    Check out our list of the past month's best new album releases (including LPs from David Bowie, Low, Kacey Musgraves, and more), and listen to each one.