The Next Day

The Next Day Image
Metascore
81

Universal acclaim - based on 44 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 163 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In the works for over two years with producer Tony Visconti, this is the first new studio release from David Bowie in ten years.
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 44
  2. Negative: 0 out of 44
  1. Q Magazine
    Mar 11, 2013
    100
    The Next Day is a loud, thrilling, steamrollingly confident rock and roll album full of noise, energy, and words that--if as cryptic as ever they were--sound like they desperately need to be sung. [Apr 2013, p.92]
  2. Feb 25, 2013
    100
    It is an enormous pleasure to report that the new David Bowie album is an absolute wonder: urgent, sharp-edged, bold, beautiful and baffling, an intellectually stimulating, emotionally charged, musically jagged, electric bolt through his own mythos and the mixed-up, celebrity-obsessed, war-torn world of the 21st century.
  3. Mar 11, 2013
    88
    It’s his most consistent and rewarding work since “Scary Monsters and Super Creeps” in 1980.
  4. Feb 25, 2013
    80
    An album that's thought-provoking, strange and filled with great songs.
  5. Mar 11, 2013
    80
    The Next Day offers many sides of a multifaceted artist and almost all of them mesmerizing, as the songs grow richer with each listen.
  6. It demands that you listen to it in this moment, not that you give it an easy ride because this is the man who made ‘Heroes’; and its songs more than live up to the demand.
  7. The Wire
    Apr 24, 2013
    40
    The rest of the album makes the distance between now and (Berlin) then of "Where Are We Now?" painfully evident, a pain heightened by Visconti's failure to convert this collection of session muso workouts into anything memorable. [May 2013, p.55]

See all 44 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 37
  2. Negative: 5 out of 37
  1. Mar 12, 2013
    10
    At first i missed an experimental avantgarde sound, but the more i listen, the more it´s great. i guess it´ll follow me a longer time withAt first i missed an experimental avantgarde sound, but the more i listen, the more it´s great. i guess it´ll follow me a longer time with it´s catchy melodies and fresh energy. Expand
  2. Jan 4, 2014
    10
    It is David Bowie. If you need something else let me just tell he is as or more importan for rock and british music than The Beatles. EveryIt is David Bowie. If you need something else let me just tell he is as or more importan for rock and british music than The Beatles. Every year something happens with The Beatles but every time Sir David Bowie delivers something new is a retrospective journey for meny genres. Just how he can kepp writing and reinventig himself, not like McCartney or Bob Dylan. Expand
  3. Mar 14, 2013
    9
    A brilliant treat from an enduring original. It's all about what was once known as "Album Oriented Rock" While there is no clear chart toppingA brilliant treat from an enduring original. It's all about what was once known as "Album Oriented Rock" While there is no clear chart topping hit, every song works towards the creation of a greater whole. Each listen, three as of this writing, gives me something new to appreciate and I'm getting right back in there as soon as I'm done here. It's been far too long an absence of Bowie from the musical zeitgeist and he's back with some really thoughtful, topical lyrics and a great band of musical co conspirators. Haven't heard anything nearly as compelling for over a decade from the corporate wasteland of well hyped mediocrity Expand
  4. Jun 4, 2013
    8
    What a great surprise for 2013 The first track I heard was "Where Are They Now". Which was grown on me in the subsequent weeks. There areWhat a great surprise for 2013 The first track I heard was "Where Are They Now". Which was grown on me in the subsequent weeks. There are still more albums in the tank for the "Thin White Duke"> Expand
  5. Mar 24, 2013
    7
    I love just about every period in David Bowie's shifting musical history, excluding those four years between 1984 and 1988, a period I try notI love just about every period in David Bowie's shifting musical history, excluding those four years between 1984 and 1988, a period I try not to think too much about. Bowie hasn't put an album out during most of my adult life, so most of my appreciation for him has been in retrospect. This is why I was thrilled to hear about "The Next Day." Where does this new album fit in? While the album cover references his classic "Heroes", this album isn't nearly so artfully crafted. It sounds raw and almost anti-melodic in places. In that way its much more like "Heroes"'s follow up album, "Lodger". It doesn't sound like a 'comeback' album. That is not to say that it isn't very good. Bowie is 66 years old, with one of the most influential canons in music history and £100 Million. He doesn't need to do a 'comeback' album. What he's put out instead is something similar to his last two efforts, an album that is both reflective and experimental. There are parts of the album that thrill me, and there are parts that confuse me, but there's nothing there that's just boring. Expand
  6. Mar 18, 2013
    7
    Avant-grade rock/pop is nice. David Bowie did made a comeback, although not fully perfect, it is good from his previous work. But I wouldn'tAvant-grade rock/pop is nice. David Bowie did made a comeback, although not fully perfect, it is good from his previous work. But I wouldn't be singing along with him the whole time though. Despite its concept, I find it...average. Expand
  7. Jun 1, 2013
    0
    I'm a Bowie fan from before Ziggy Stardust. But "The Next Day" is pure crap. It's one of the most tuneless, soulless, robotic and boringI'm a Bowie fan from before Ziggy Stardust. But "The Next Day" is pure crap. It's one of the most tuneless, soulless, robotic and boring pieces of rubbish to ever pollute the airwaves. It's even worse than that; it's excrutiatingly painful and puke-inducing to listen to. Even the most non-musically-talented garage band can do better than this.

    Bowie is the third most brilliant musician to have ever lived (after Pink Floyd and Vangelis). What on earth went wrong?

    And why do so many people appear to like this album (or are all the reviewers just paid record company shills)?
    Expand

See all 37 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. This Month's Best New Albums: March 2013

    This Month's Best New Albums: March 2013 Image
    Published: March 28, 2013
    Check out our list of the past month's best new album releases (including LPs from David Bowie, Low, Kacey Musgraves, and more), and listen to each one.