The  North Borders Image

Generally favorable reviews - based on 20 Critics What's this?

User Score

Generally favorable reviews- based on 17 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The fifth release for electronic producer Simon Green features guest appearances from Erykah Badu, Cornelia, Grey Reverend, and Szjerdene.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 20
  2. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. Mar 27, 2013
    The North Borders is a triumph--each listen is a revelation; seemingly it’s a breadth of work that marks a new, exciting era of electronic music.
  2. Apr 8, 2013
    As distinctive as it is complex, is as much about the journey as its component pieces, commanding all the familiar electronic music components with ease, but infused with the warmth of soul and a kind of cross-continental sophistication.
  3. Apr 10, 2013
    It might be dismissed as dinner party music by those with a hunger for more experimental fare, but The North Borders is charming, fascinating and a touch mysterious.
  4. Mar 27, 2013
    The North Borders introduces a host of vocalists to accompany solid arrangements.
  5. 70
    Whilst The North Borders is hardly a stylistic leap of faith into the unknown there’s definitely a more confident and varied use of textures and instrumentation than on Black Sands, and it marks a new, very much worthwhile chapter in Bonobo’s continuing story.
  6. 70
    The North Borders now finds Green secure enough in his craft to command the talents of his guest vocalists and create emotional harmonics.
  7. Apr 1, 2013
    By no means is The North Borders sterile, but there isn’t a notably invigorating spark either--at least not of an obtuse or intense gesture.

See all 20 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 1
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 1
  3. Negative: 0 out of 1
  1. Sep 3, 2013
    Literally the best album I have ever heard for this style of music, Bonobo without a doubt has become my favourite artist. Though this album is almost entirely instrumental tracks each track has it own identity and is full of emotion while felling relaxed Collapse