The Odd Couple

  • Record Label: Atlantic
  • Release Date: Mar 18, 2008
User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 37 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 37
  2. Negative: 1 out of 37

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 21, 2010
    5
    Not nearly as good as St. Elsewhere, and quite frankly a huge disappointment. With his incredible voice, I wonder if Cee-Lo still has a few gems left in him. Only time will tell.
  2. JJB.
    Mar 25, 2008
    10
    The simple fact is that all the potential I saw on St. Elsewhere (a revolutionary album that I bought before the monumental hit Crazy) is realized on this groundbreaking album. It's a true classic that I'm thinking I'll be listening to for ages to come. It takes you to another place and you never want to come back. Danger Mouse's beats and Cee-Lo's vocals have The simple fact is that all the potential I saw on St. Elsewhere (a revolutionary album that I bought before the monumental hit Crazy) is realized on this groundbreaking album. It's a true classic that I'm thinking I'll be listening to for ages to come. It takes you to another place and you never want to come back. Danger Mouse's beats and Cee-Lo's vocals have made another amazing album. Expand
  3. EugeneJ.
    Mar 26, 2008
    10
    Album is on constant replay. The vocals on "Open Book" were quite a powerful surprise. Have been listening to this album non-stop since yesterday. I'm pretty picky when it comes to food or music. This one tastes great.
  4. ChrisW.
    Apr 2, 2008
    1
    The guy can't sing. The music is nothing more than sampled experimental computer BS.
  5. SeanC.
    Apr 3, 2008
    8
    Great blended album. I loved the incorporation of different sounds in music and Cee-lo voice makes a majority of the tracks really eerie and awesome.
  6. IanM.
    Mar 25, 2008
    9
    Overall, The Odd Couple is a stronger album than St. Elsewhere. Although individual tracks do not quite reach the dizzying heights of Crazy and Smiley Faces, there are plenty of highlights and the album undoubtedly feels more unified. Going On, Blind Mary, No Time Soon and A Little Better are all at least equal to the lead single Run so if you liked that then make sure you pick up the album!!
  7. ColbyC.
    Mar 26, 2008
    7
    Deeper than St. Elsewhere, but not quite as fun.
  8. DouglasL.
    Mar 27, 2008
    9
    Dangermouse and Cee-lo as Gnarls Barkley are like a dystopian Partridge Family going through a mid-life crisis. And we all want to read about it in the tabloids.
  9. JacobS.
    Mar 27, 2008
    10
    Awesome. There's only 2 or 3 tracks really worth complaining about (examples; Would Be Killer, She Knows), all of which I feel were great concepts that would have been astoundingly good had they been fully realized. Unfortunately, they are a little too repetive (for my taste, anyway). The rest of the album is amazing, though. I've listened to Open Book and Going On both many Awesome. There's only 2 or 3 tracks really worth complaining about (examples; Would Be Killer, She Knows), all of which I feel were great concepts that would have been astoundingly good had they been fully realized. Unfortunately, they are a little too repetive (for my taste, anyway). The rest of the album is amazing, though. I've listened to Open Book and Going On both many times, and I still get chills everytime I hear the chorus of either. Whatever is just annoying and whiny enough to be hilarious and somewhat addictive. A Little Better's lyrics/vocals are beautiful and eerie,perfectly sealing together and drawing to a close the somber feel of the album. Definitely worth a listen. Expand
  10. AlD.
    Mar 29, 2008
    7
    The album is definitely for pure Gnarls Barkley fans. If you were merely attracted to these kids just for the single "Crazy" back in 2006, you're going to notice that what you thought was the coolest band ever was merely an experiment that "worked" two years ago....Now....it's just eclectic soul music...love it or leave it.
  11. JayG.
    Apr 1, 2008
    7
    Great album it's worth buying!
  12. RafalR.
    Apr 18, 2008
    9
    Who's Gonna save my soul now?
  13. LouisP.
    Apr 2, 2008
    8
    If you are searching for the next great single, look elsewhere. If you are looking for an often brilliant and solid follow-up album, this is the one. Just like the first, there are a couple misses, but on the whole it's superior to the first. This is more and more obvious with repeat plays.
  14. Dan
    Apr 6, 2008
    9
    Who's gonna save my soul now? The lack of "chart-climbing singles" makes me love this album even more. Anyone expecting some sort of "crazy" pop miracle out of this album completely misunderstood these guys in the first place. And yet, there will definitely be chart-climbing singles. These guys own their sound, and they make it work. Great album.
  15. NickP.
    Mar 24, 2008
    10
    I know a lot of people may not appreciate the album, and it's a shame. There's so much emotion and so much care in this, as much as I "enjoyed" St. Elsewhere, this one really hit home with its themes, it is a fantastic achievement. Kudos to Cee-Lo and Danger Mouse.
  16. TimF.
    Apr 13, 2008
    9
    A focused record that plays better with each listen. This has many growers, and one of their strongest tracks "Who's gonna save my soul."
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 35 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 35
  2. Negative: 1 out of 35
  1. The duo’s modern take on a classic sound runs throughout the new record, a worthy 13-song sophomore effort.
  2. 70
    With The Odd Couple, Gnarls Barkley is unable to come up with anything containing as much pure pop power as their hit song "Crazy," but it's certainly not for lack of trying.
  3. Needless to say, though, Odd Couple doesn't conjure the same immediate wow-factor as "St. Elsewhere."