The Only Place - Best Coast
User Score
7.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 34 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 34
  2. Negative: 2 out of 34

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 12, 2012
    4
    This album REALLY disappointed me. Crazy for You was fun and breezy, and the kitschy lyrics could be forgiven amidst the great melodies and stoner vibes. But trying to go all Neko Case on us Best Coast ends up falling flat on their face. Thing whole country thing just flat out doesnt work. Maybe if the rhymes weren't recycled from the last album and the subject matter matched the aesthetic, the album can be enjoyed, but the whole album just seems at odds with itself. But lets give credit where credit is due. With her vocals right up front in the mix, Beth Cosentino shows just how great her voice is, something that I think a lot of people missed on the first album, which again was a great album and I dont think a complete re-hashing of it would have worked out either so trying a new sound is at least commendable but just not likeable in this case. Expand
  2. May 16, 2012
    5
    Best Coast could be taking their sound to more grown-up landscapes, but it appears that they're heading down a very, very long road that will only see Best Coast limiting themselves to making music that only becomes the soundtrack to summer, rather than the whole year through. If Best Coast want to stay this way, then I suppose it's an accessible option that keeps their avid fans pleased - but if this really is the best coast, I'll be staying at home in the UK for my holidays this year. Expand
  3. May 17, 2012
    4
    I was a huge Best Coast fan after the release of Crazy for You. I've probably listened to that album a hundred times. However, The Only Place shows how one dimensional Castello really is. While the band tried to create the 60s fuzz pop gold that they had achieved on their first album, the addition of Jon Brion as the producer placed a greater emphasis on the Castello's lyrics, which are easily the bands' weakest attribute. The songs sound like they are poems written by a self-absorbed 7th grader. This lyrical style may have worked on Crazy For You because of the mood that the songs created by the lyrical carelessness. The melodies were infectious, and most of the lyrics were accessible to hit home with many listeners. The lyrics on The Only Place however, are so personalized to Bethany that it alienates its listeners. It's pretty much like listening to 34 minutes of her whining about her problems and telling you why your life sucks because you don't live in California. Expand
  4. May 24, 2012
    7
    I absolutely loved Crazy for You - thought it was a superb album and not just a summer record. Best Coasts sound on their debut was pretty basic (drums, bass, guitar and vocals) but it was all they needed to get their sound out. I did wonder in what direction the band would go next and how they would build on Crazy for You. The Only Place has many of the elements that made its predecessor so likeable but the production is definitely different. There are more layers on this record and it's got a slicker sound. Unfortunately at times the energy and the songs get a bit lost underneath. This record has got good tunes on it but they are still using the same chord sequences and song formula they applied on their first. Essentially there isn't much progression but I'd still recommend the record and would definitely recommend the band. Collapse
  5. May 17, 2012
    10
    I love this album. Let me begin by saying that I did not listen to Best Coast's first album before hearing this one, and I have not heard it all the way through as of writing this. So my perspective comes independent of their previous work.

    All of the critical reviews I've read say two things: the lyrics are too formulated and the album lacks depth/maturity. I respond with the following:
    lyrics are written, they are not spawned. They don't materialize in the depths of the soul and come flying out of the pen. You think of them with your brain and you write them. Criticizing lyrics for being formulated and thought-out is like criticizing a painting for being too painted. That's just not reasonable. Bethany obviously thought about these lyrics and wrote them for a reason, and it's not fair in the slightest to say that they lack meaning or depth. They have great meaning and depth to her, and to a great many listeners.

    Musically, I do not disagree that the songs sound similar and simplistic. 1) That's kind of the whole point of this genre of beach-y, surf-y, indie rock. It's not a symphonic composition, it's a pop song. It's simple, it's easy to sing along to, and it's fun. 2) Simplicity and similarity do not mean immaturity and thoughtlessness. These songs have a great deal of power, and if that isn't clear, you have not given the album a fair listen. I can't speak to how far they've "progressed" from their first album, as I haven't heard that one. But again I think it unfair to say that a band has to change their sound by "x" amount on each release. This album is sonically very different from (what parts I have heard of) the other album without leaving the neighborhood. Production-wise, there is no comparison; this album sounds great.

    This isn't the greatest album of all time, it probably will not win any awards. And that isn't really important. The album is fun and worthwhile, and it is a joy to listen to. I have no complaints.
    Expand
  6. May 15, 2012
    3
    I'd been looking forward to this album since my first listen of Crazy for You. With only one track that I have any desire to listen to on repeat, The Only Place is most certainly a disappointment. This album is completely lacking in the catchy melodies and memorable riffs that made Crazy for You so great. Bethany uses her lyrics rather than her songwriting to continue the beachy Southern California vibe that held the first album together so successfully through it's music. I was expecting a sophomore slump from Best Coast, but The Only Place just sounds empty. I did find a couple of saving graces however, in Bethany's new and improved clean vocals, first hinted at in the iTunes Session, and in the standout track, "No One Like You" which is really the only track that sounds new AND maintains the standard set by the first album, hinting at a possible future direction for the band perhaps? Well, time to get excited about album number three. Expand
  7. May 16, 2012
    7
    Check out the full review at Manik Music: http://www.manikmusic.net/reviews/best-coast-the-only-place/

    C
    Picture every artist/band as a beverage. Iâ
  8. May 16, 2012
    8
    I just heard the song No One Like You and I was pretty sold. It was an interesting listen, although it doesn't really seem like they have progressed since there last album. They are just in the same stage as they were; which isn't so bad in the end.
  9. Jul 21, 2012
    8
    Best Coast's second album seems to ditch the Lo-Fi sound, which I had enjoyed a lot; however, with better production value, the album exposes increased depth in lyrics (compared to 'Crazy for You') and Bethany Consentino's vocal talents. Some tracks have more of a somber tone, which is different from their debut album. Not every track is a stunner, but it definitely worth the listen!
    Favorite tracks: Dreaming My Life Away, The Only Place, Why I Cry
    Expand
Metascore
66

Generally favorable reviews - based on 37 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 37
  2. Negative: 2 out of 37
  1. Jul 18, 2012
    60
    It's still summer music, but The Only Place captures that moment when it's time to wrap a cardigan around your shoulders against the chill. [Jun 2012, p.83]
  2. Jun 19, 2012
    60
    Themes of fun, sun and beach-bum ennui pervade, but even if it fails to reach the summery stoner highs of their previous record, there's no denying The Only Place's indomitable West Coast pop-rock melodies and sugary thrills. [Jun 2012, p.97]
  3. Jun 7, 2012
    80
    BC's second album fizzes with both upbeat hymns to fun in the sun and achingly sad odes to lost love. [May 2012, p.53