The Only Place

User Score
7.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 36 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 36
  2. Negative: 3 out of 36
Buy On

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 16, 2012
    7
    Check out the full review at Manik Music: http://www.manikmusic.net/reviews/best-coast-the-only-place/

    C
    Picture every artist/band as a beverage. Iâ
  2. May 24, 2012
    7
    I absolutely loved Crazy for You - thought it was a superb album and not just a summer record. Best Coasts sound on their debut was pretty basic (drums, bass, guitar and vocals) but it was all they needed to get their sound out. I did wonder in what direction the band would go next and how they would build on Crazy for You. The Only Place has many of the elements that made its predecessorI absolutely loved Crazy for You - thought it was a superb album and not just a summer record. Best Coasts sound on their debut was pretty basic (drums, bass, guitar and vocals) but it was all they needed to get their sound out. I did wonder in what direction the band would go next and how they would build on Crazy for You. The Only Place has many of the elements that made its predecessor so likeable but the production is definitely different. There are more layers on this record and it's got a slicker sound. Unfortunately at times the energy and the songs get a bit lost underneath. This record has got good tunes on it but they are still using the same chord sequences and song formula they applied on their first. Essentially there isn't much progression but I'd still recommend the record and would definitely recommend the band. Expand
  3. May 17, 2012
    10
    I love this album. Let me begin by saying that I did not listen to Best Coast's first album before hearing this one, and I have not heard it all the way through as of writing this. So my perspective comes independent of their previous work.

    All of the critical reviews I've read say two things: the lyrics are too formulated and the album lacks depth/maturity. I respond with the following:
    I love this album. Let me begin by saying that I did not listen to Best Coast's first album before hearing this one, and I have not heard it all the way through as of writing this. So my perspective comes independent of their previous work.

    All of the critical reviews I've read say two things: the lyrics are too formulated and the album lacks depth/maturity. I respond with the following: lyrics are written, they are not spawned. They don't materialize in the depths of the soul and come flying out of the pen. You think of them with your brain and you write them. Criticizing lyrics for being formulated and thought-out is like criticizing a painting for being too painted. That's just not reasonable. Bethany obviously thought about these lyrics and wrote them for a reason, and it's not fair in the slightest to say that they lack meaning or depth. They have great meaning and depth to her, and to a great many listeners.

    Musically, I do not disagree that the songs sound similar and simplistic. 1) That's kind of the whole point of this genre of beach-y, surf-y, indie rock. It's not a symphonic composition, it's a pop song. It's simple, it's easy to sing along to, and it's fun. 2) Simplicity and similarity do not mean immaturity and thoughtlessness. These songs have a great deal of power, and if that isn't clear, you have not given the album a fair listen. I can't speak to how far they've "progressed" from their first album, as I haven't heard that one. But again I think it unfair to say that a band has to change their sound by "x" amount on each release. This album is sonically very different from (what parts I have heard of) the other album without leaving the neighborhood. Production-wise, there is no comparison; this album sounds great.

    This isn't the greatest album of all time, it probably will not win any awards. And that isn't really important. The album is fun and worthwhile, and it is a joy to listen to. I have no complaints.
    Expand
  4. May 16, 2012
    8
    I just heard the song No One Like You and I was pretty sold. It was an interesting listen, although it doesn't really seem like they have progressed since there last album. They are just in the same stage as they were; which isn't so bad in the end.
  5. Jul 21, 2012
    8
    Best Coast's second album seems to ditch the Lo-Fi sound, which I had enjoyed a lot; however, with better production value, the album exposes increased depth in lyrics (compared to 'Crazy for You') and Bethany Consentino's vocal talents. Some tracks have more of a somber tone, which is different from their debut album. Not every track is a stunner, but it definitely worth the listen!Best Coast's second album seems to ditch the Lo-Fi sound, which I had enjoyed a lot; however, with better production value, the album exposes increased depth in lyrics (compared to 'Crazy for You') and Bethany Consentino's vocal talents. Some tracks have more of a somber tone, which is different from their debut album. Not every track is a stunner, but it definitely worth the listen!
    Favorite tracks: Dreaming My Life Away, The Only Place, Why I Cry
    Expand
Metascore
66

Generally favorable reviews - based on 37 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 37
  2. Negative: 2 out of 37
  1. Mojo
    Jul 18, 2012
    60
    It's still summer music, but The Only Place captures that moment when it's time to wrap a cardigan around your shoulders against the chill. [Jun 2012, p.83]
  2. Q Magazine
    Jun 19, 2012
    60
    Themes of fun, sun and beach-bum ennui pervade, but even if it fails to reach the summery stoner highs of their previous record, there's no denying The Only Place's indomitable West Coast pop-rock melodies and sugary thrills. [Jun 2012, p.97]
  3. Kerrang!
    Jun 7, 2012
    80
    BC's second album fizzes with both upbeat hymns to fun in the sun and achingly sad odes to lost love. [May 2012, p.53