The Other Side of Down - David Archuleta
User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 23 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 23
  2. Negative: 2 out of 23

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 15, 2010
    10
    I like the Album. I really see potential in seveal songs. If he had a Video of my Kind Of Perfect I think it would go to number # 1. Also Touring with his band. Can't wait to see him. I give him a 10
  2. Oct 15, 2010
    10
    Love this album!!! It made me wanna dance to"Who I am","Stomping the Roses","Look Around" and cry tears of happiness on "Things are gonna get Better","My Kind of Perfect" so beautiful is David's voice on all of these songs and so much like his personality.Everyone should own this album!
  3. Oct 5, 2010
    10
    This album is a much better representation of David. This album is an excellent follow up from his debut. Every song on this album is amazing from the teary My Kind Of Perfect to The up beat Other Side of Down
  4. Oct 5, 2010
    10
    Archie's impeccable's vocals have won me over again. This kid is seriously talented and people can't seem to get it. He's not just some voice. This kid is genuine and gifted. I am so excited to see where this record takes him!
  5. Oct 8, 2010
    10
    This is a very listenable pop album without any gimmicks, such as featured rappers, auto-tune, etc. All you get is pure vocal pop, which is so refreshing from other pop albums out today. The songs are upbeat and fit well together. The ballads are smooth, without being sappy. I enjoyed the whole album.
  6. Oct 15, 2010
    10
    This album is definitely more "David" than the previous album. The vocals are beautiful, especially in Falling Stars. The lyrics all have really great meaning to them, too. My favorite album for the year!
  7. Oct 15, 2010
    10
    This cd is outstanding! It is a much mature David both in lyrics and music and allows David's unmatchable vocals to soar. I found myself dancing at one point over great beats like in Look Around and Stomping The Roses and crying at another over the touching personal lyrics of My Kind of Perfect and Good Place. Every song is outstanding but I'm completely addicted to Falling Stars. This song alone is worth the price of the cd! TRY it, you'll like it!! (p.s. New York Post admitted they disliked David but still noted that the cd is shockingly good. That says something doesn't it!) Collapse
  8. Oct 7, 2010
    6
    Vocally, Archuleta sounds as good as ever, but I felt the best fitting material appears closer to the end of the album. This album does make Archuleta sound younger, but I think that the producers and songwriters could have tightened this effort up more. I also don't think the electro-pop cuts work as well as those with more guitar-driven production work as I don't hear or perceive Archuleta really fitting into the "trendy" electro-pop market. This is by no means a perfect album. Vocally, I do praise Archuleta. Expand
  9. Oct 15, 2010
    10
    If you thought David had an amazing voice two years ago, then you are in for a treat with his 3rd CD "The Other Side of Down". His voice is so much richer, more soulful and definitely more mature. The tracks are upbeat, fresh, can't help but move type of music without bells or whittles - just pure honest to goodness incredible vocals. "My Kind of Perfect" is a perfect example of that, just David and a piano - Beautiful!! He is also proving to become a great song writer with almost the entire album co-written by David. Expand
  10. Oct 15, 2010
    10
    I am a fan of David so I really, really love this new album! There is a tone to his voice that I can feel all the way into my heart. Can't even begin to explain how that feels. I just know that his music puts a smile on my face when he wants me to smile and he brings tears to my eyes when he sings to my heart!
  11. Oct 15, 2010
    9
    This album show that david is growing, i like it very much, its the next level of pop album, cos i think this is defferent kind of pop album, the tracks is groovy and deep
  12. Oct 16, 2010
    10
    I love David's new album. The songs are all positive and upbeat and easy to listen to! I'm very tired of all the sexualized trash that is out today and is considered music!! It is refreshing to listen to an artist that can not only sing but I don't cringe when my daughter and I listen to the album together. Every song is fantastic and some of my favorites are: Stomping the Roses, Something 'bout Love and Parachutes and Airplanes. Great album!! Expand
  13. Oct 22, 2010
    7
    The Other Side Of Down (which is presumably up, which is where he's going now) contains many strong points. David Archuleta's perfect tenor continues, and finally, this album seems more David Archuleta than David Archuleta. Amazingly catchy also.
  14. Oct 17, 2010
    10
    I really enjoy this new Archuleta offering. Love the ideas he expresses in his writings. Would really like David to work on a project with one producer calling all the shots along with him. Kind of a MJ/QJ kind of thing. But this album is way ahead of his first offering, which I also enjoy but this is much better.
  15. Oct 19, 2010
    10
    I just love David Archuleta's latest album "The Other Side of Down"...and have been listening to it daily - cranking it up & singing along to every song. It is amazing. David voice is just like WOW!!! Every song is a hit --- it's so hard to even try to pick a favorite. David has grown so much musically and is such a talented singer/songwriter. It was great for David to have 10 of the songs on the album that he actually helped write. Check it out if you haven't already -- it's REALLY good! Actually it's GREAT! Expand
  16. Oct 19, 2010
    10
    David Archuleta is a wonderful songwriter as well as a singer. His new album has breathtaking vocals and the lyrics are so smart, which are very difficult to come by now-a-days. The new album shows David's personality in so many ways and it feels like for his 3rd studio album, he's opening up and showing himself more. Being honest, we're glad he was given the chance to write songs because without his intelligence on this album, we wouldn't know where 'The Other Side Of Down' would have gone. 2 Thumbs Up. Expand
  17. Oct 26, 2010
    4
    His debut album is FAR superior to this. The lyrics are corny and childish. The production is extremely basic and bland. The only thing impressive about this album, for the most part are his vocals. This album is boring, uninspired & it lacks depth.
  18. Feb 14, 2011
    5
    Pure vocal ability is what the album is all about; however, the songs lack depth and meaning. This album does not withstand its predecessor, David Archuleta, which was released 2 years ago.
Metascore
tbd

No score yet - based on 2 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 2
  2. Negative: 0 out of 2
  1. His vocals still gleam with so much dewy naivete that the music never succumbs to the bitterness it seems to circle. Maybe state-fair meet-and-greets are what the kid was born to do?
  2. This is a middle-of-the-road pop album pure and simple, arriving perhaps two years too late but it nevertheless proves that Archuleta has the chops to fill the space between commercials on the airwaves.