• Record Label: Mercury
  • Release Date: Jan 31, 2005
Metascore
52

Mixed or average reviews - based on 9 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 9
  2. Negative: 2 out of 9
  1. An eclectic ragbag of influences coerced into great exciting guitar pop.
  2. There's nothing too complex or alienating about anything on this record; it is lowest-common denominator rock'n'roll painted in broad, primary coloured brushstrokes. [29 Jan 2005, p.57]
  3. "The Others" is no masterpiece, but it offers up a warm, beating heart where its rivals offer cold, cynical eyes.
  4. 70
    This promising debut proves they're proficient at penning ragged Buzzcocks-ish pop... but also exposes the limitations of [Masters]. [Feb 2005, p.79]
  5. Like Oasis' first album, it's definitely going to bring people together, and it will certainly start mass sing-alongs, but something tells me The Others won't be making it to a stadium near you anytime soon.
  6. This album alone is reason to mourn the Libertines. While their songs brought London to glorious, idiosyncratic life, the Others have all the wit and romance of a sign reading "golf sale".
  7. 40
    There's promise here if they can stay out of jail or the loony bin. [Feb 2005, p.94]
  8. Alas, they're not very good. [Feb 2005, p.102]
  9. The Others are one of the worst bands I have heard in a long, long time.
User Score
4.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 20 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 11
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 11
  3. Negative: 4 out of 11
  1. BobS.
    Jul 5, 2007
    8
    I like this album - can't understand why so many others hate it - gave it 8 to help the average
  2. BenS
    Dec 20, 2005
    8
    Well reading these user comments is interesting, more that these snooty 'real music' faschists are even noticing a good band is Well reading these user comments is interesting, more that these snooty 'real music' faschists are even noticing a good band is surprising. i thought oasis was as rebellious as it got? no o course Dominic cant sing DO YOU KNOW WHAT PUNK IS ABOUT. For all those who like some good new music (the middle class among them i dont pidgeonhole) this is one quality band. 'lackey' is ferocious and visceral, a corkscrew in the forehead of soft rockers, a sex pistols a like lyric and a riff and intensity onny and the boys couldnt match. 'this is for the poor' is a brooding anthem that could be sung by the queen (hell she could sing it at bill gates), while 'william' and 'stan bowles' are intense and uplifting anthems. A superb cd from a traiblazing new band Full Review »
  3. Bella
    Jun 28, 2005
    6
    Not bad....not great. People may hate Dominic's voice, and I can see why--even though I think it's quite interesting. This Not bad....not great. People may hate Dominic's voice, and I can see why--even though I think it's quite interesting. This isn't a must own cd by far, but it's worth a listen for free. Full Review »