The Others - The Others
The Others Image
Metascore
52

Mixed or average reviews - based on 9 Critics What's this?

User Score
4.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 20 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: This is the full-length debut for the London band led by 22-year-old Dominic Masters.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 9
  2. Negative: 2 out of 9
  1. There's nothing too complex or alienating about anything on this record; it is lowest-common denominator rock'n'roll painted in broad, primary coloured brushstrokes. [29 Jan 2005, p.57]
  2. An eclectic ragbag of influences coerced into great exciting guitar pop.
  3. "The Others" is no masterpiece, but it offers up a warm, beating heart where its rivals offer cold, cynical eyes.
  4. Like Oasis' first album, it's definitely going to bring people together, and it will certainly start mass sing-alongs, but something tells me The Others won't be making it to a stadium near you anytime soon.
  5. 40
    There's promise here if they can stay out of jail or the loony bin. [Feb 2005, p.94]
  6. This album alone is reason to mourn the Libertines. While their songs brought London to glorious, idiosyncratic life, the Others have all the wit and romance of a sign reading "golf sale".
  7. The Others are one of the worst bands I have heard in a long, long time.

See all 9 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 11
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 11
  3. Negative: 4 out of 11
  1. ians
    Apr 5, 2005
    10
    ...to bring up the average as there are a lot of knee jerk reactions going on... although its more like an 8. The Others are a really ...to bring up the average as there are a lot of knee jerk reactions going on... although its more like an 8. The Others are a really exciting and vibrant band, although I can see why older people wouldn't get them. Most of the reviews seem to be slagging off the NME rather than the band. go and see them live you miserable sods. Expand
  2. BenS
    Dec 20, 2005
    8
    Well reading these user comments is interesting, more that these snooty 'real music' faschists are even noticing a good band is Well reading these user comments is interesting, more that these snooty 'real music' faschists are even noticing a good band is surprising. i thought oasis was as rebellious as it got? no o course Dominic cant sing DO YOU KNOW WHAT PUNK IS ABOUT. For all those who like some good new music (the middle class among them i dont pidgeonhole) this is one quality band. 'lackey' is ferocious and visceral, a corkscrew in the forehead of soft rockers, a sex pistols a like lyric and a riff and intensity onny and the boys couldnt match. 'this is for the poor' is a brooding anthem that could be sung by the queen (hell she could sing it at bill gates), while 'william' and 'stan bowles' are intense and uplifting anthems. A superb cd from a traiblazing new band Collapse
  3. BobS.
    Jul 5, 2007
    8
    I like this album - can't understand why so many others hate it - gave it 8 to help the average
  4. Matt
    Feb 27, 2005
    7
    A nice simple rock album full of anthems written by someone who will be the Mike Skinner of Indie-Rock.
  5. Bella
    Jun 28, 2005
    6
    Not bad....not great. People may hate Dominic's voice, and I can see why--even though I think it's quite interesting. This Not bad....not great. People may hate Dominic's voice, and I can see why--even though I think it's quite interesting. This isn't a must own cd by far, but it's worth a listen for free. Expand
  6. JoeS
    Mar 11, 2005
    2
    dominic masters is one of the most annoying and pretentious singers in modern music. the band are liked and thought of in high esteem due to dominic masters is one of the most annoying and pretentious singers in modern music. the band are liked and thought of in high esteem due to the image, and the fact the NME likes them. The music they produce is at very best average, and for the majority of the time it does nothing to inspire one. And they won an award named after John Peel?? there is something wrong there, guerilla gigging isnt necessarily a great thing. i dislike both the music and the singer. Expand
  7. NickD
    Feb 22, 2005
    0
    Are the peasants still going on about class struggle? Sorry, the class war was won by us "toffs" when Britpop died. Get used to it. And us Are the peasants still going on about class struggle? Sorry, the class war was won by us "toffs" when Britpop died. Get used to it. And us being middle class, we like music with sustinence. The Others don't provide it, with their basic rhythms, two-chord songs, tuneless melodies, boring song structure. Alas, they're not very good, as is surmised above. If this album were a socio-economic group, it would be the lowest of the chavs. Expand

See all 11 User Reviews