The Outsider

User Score
4.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 45 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 45
  2. Negative: 23 out of 45

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. ChoreoF
    Dec 20, 2006
    3
    the 3 is for effort and i could never give my numba 1 DJ a 0 but damn...this time it was hard. the album is easily comparable to Jay-Z's kingdom Come...high expectations, High let downs. And ditto to Andrew B, In full agreement! Josh, please leave the hyphy movement to the idiots tryin to market it to the east coast surburban kids and come back to the da bassment with da true hip hop heads.
  2. jONb
    Sep 29, 2006
    10
    This album is amazing! and easily stands beside anything that DJ Shadow has ever done... Unfortunately close-minded fans of only certain genres of music will probably not be able to follow the master through the full extent of his journeys. They'll wind up hating on this album, but truly only revealing their own ignorance... Too bad, DJ Shadow has left you in his dust! In short... a This album is amazing! and easily stands beside anything that DJ Shadow has ever done... Unfortunately close-minded fans of only certain genres of music will probably not be able to follow the master through the full extent of his journeys. They'll wind up hating on this album, but truly only revealing their own ignorance... Too bad, DJ Shadow has left you in his dust! In short... a truly killer and visionary work... Don't miss it cause of all the haters! Expand
  3. AndrewB
    Oct 4, 2006
    0
    To get the record straight with the people praising this album : No, not all DJ Shadow lovers wanted Endtroducing 3. No, not all DJ Shadow lovers are narrow minded. What's important in a record? Creativity and emotion, and The Outsider is a big let down in both departments. Following trends isn't what you'd expect from a visionary like Josh Davis, just like hearing a song To get the record straight with the people praising this album : No, not all DJ Shadow lovers wanted Endtroducing 3. No, not all DJ Shadow lovers are narrow minded. What's important in a record? Creativity and emotion, and The Outsider is a big let down in both departments. Following trends isn't what you'd expect from a visionary like Josh Davis, just like hearing a song that sounds like bad Coldplay isn't what you like to hear when you are looking for independent and creative music. Most people with deep knowledge of hip hop culture will tell you that hyphy isn't the brightest marker in the box, and that the MC's flows on The Outsider are far from good. In the end, to each their own, but please don't tell us that this album is creative and original, because it isn't. Expand
  4. ToddJ
    Sep 20, 2006
    10
    Like all other masterpieces of the 21st century The Outsider is both groundbreaking, and breath taking. Albums such as Kid A and Hotel Yankee Foxtrot are definately comparable. In many years to come this album will be referenced upon. Well done Shadow, you should be ammended for this fine slice of art. An electronic/hip hop touchstone.
  5. JMo
    Sep 30, 2006
    1
    Shadow is following trends rather than setting them...nuff said.
  6. clump
    Sep 30, 2006
    9
    A lot of people is sad and even aggresive - because this album differs from their expectations and rigid perception of music or what... I feel sorry for all of those bitching about The Outsider, because it's a really good album. The problem seems to be only in their minds, not in the music. This is very colorful record, entertaining and diverse, fully reflecting Shadow's broad A lot of people is sad and even aggresive - because this album differs from their expectations and rigid perception of music or what... I feel sorry for all of those bitching about The Outsider, because it's a really good album. The problem seems to be only in their minds, not in the music. This is very colorful record, entertaining and diverse, fully reflecting Shadow's broad approach to the music. We all know he likes funk, strange hiphop, triphop, that he has been influenced by working with UNKLE and so on... All of this and a lot more is reflected here and for me - this is true DJ Shadow. All those moaners should take a shower, wake up, have a spliff and enjoy this for what it is - piece of really great music, just not respecting the barriers between the genres. Expand
  7. BradG
    Oct 7, 2006
    8
    It's really two albums in one. The album is full of great, complex tunes. A lot of tracks remind me of his previous efforts in all the best ways. On the other side of the coin, DJ Shadow lends his skills to more "mainstream" hip-hop tracks that wouldn't be out of place at the club. It's good... a touch conflicting though. It doesn't flow all that well, but I'm It's really two albums in one. The album is full of great, complex tunes. A lot of tracks remind me of his previous efforts in all the best ways. On the other side of the coin, DJ Shadow lends his skills to more "mainstream" hip-hop tracks that wouldn't be out of place at the club. It's good... a touch conflicting though. It doesn't flow all that well, but I'm really enjoying each song for a variety of reasons. Expand
  8. JoshJ
    Sep 14, 2006
    0
    I don't get any of the hyphy stuff on this record, I hope Josh doesn't make another record. Stick to spinning records at clubs, Josh.
  9. JohnD
    Sep 14, 2006
    7
    Yeah, it lacks cohesion. Yeah, most of the rapping sucks. No, this isn't as good as "Entroducing". So why can't I stop listening to it.
  10. John
    Sep 19, 2006
    0
    disappointment of the year for all DJ Shadow fans. Coldplay & Hyphy fans will adore it. Run for your life.
  11. BlackStatic
    Sep 24, 2006
    0
    This album is just awful. This is like a really bad hip-hop album, with a song from a completely different genre thrown in to destroy what tiny bit of cohesion that album almost had. I listen to everything from Cole Porter to Gorgoroth. There is no room for this in my collection. Very, very bad.
  12. NIklasT
    Sep 26, 2006
    1
    i loved endtroducing, the product placement mix tapes, the private press, in tune and on time.. endtroducing is one of my favourite albums all time..and i really listen to a damn lot of music and artists. this album is such a disappointment...if the beats on the rap tracks were at least any good..
  13. MadMax
    Sep 30, 2006
    6
    It's quite surprising how much of a bad rap this album has received ever since its release. Sure, it's no Endtroducing or Private Press. I'm all happier because of this since it do show that no matter how successful his forumlas have been, Shadow is lucid enough to not deliver the same album twice. The Outsider is, once again, a very different beast, and I think it's It's quite surprising how much of a bad rap this album has received ever since its release. Sure, it's no Endtroducing or Private Press. I'm all happier because of this since it do show that no matter how successful his forumlas have been, Shadow is lucid enough to not deliver the same album twice. The Outsider is, once again, a very different beast, and I think it's for the best, even if the album is not as strong as past Shadow albums. The hyphy, hip-hop numbers are by far the best tracks in there... once you finally accept the fact that there are vocalists (!) on a DJ Shadow record, these tracks are easily on par with what Shadow achieved in the end. However, the instrumental cuts seem like a poor attempt to carry over the Private Press vibe in an attempt to show how diverse he is as a producer: most of these are rather bland and inoffensive. If anything, this album showed more premise with the hip-hop tracks than the rest of the material there. It's enjoyable, but the track sequence is a mess, the songs are really hit-and-miss and whenever the record attempt to recall past Shadow endeavours, it sounds out of place and clumsy. This is by no means a disaster, unlike what so many trigger-happy fans were eager to tell everyone. It's a good album, but it could also have been a lot better if Shadow decided where he would branch out to instead of trying to please everyone and making a mess out of the whole deal. Expand
  14. JB
    Oct 11, 2006
    8
    At first I hated this shit. I am from the Bay and listen to most all kinds of music but I hate the hyphy sound. The other songs wre ok, a little too much vocals some times. But the more I listened I realized that Shadow was apparantly irritated that such simplistic beats were getting so much play. So he decided to out-hyphy hyphy. On all the "hyphy" songs, he changes the beat up like 5 At first I hated this shit. I am from the Bay and listen to most all kinds of music but I hate the hyphy sound. The other songs wre ok, a little too much vocals some times. But the more I listened I realized that Shadow was apparantly irritated that such simplistic beats were getting so much play. So he decided to out-hyphy hyphy. On all the "hyphy" songs, he changes the beat up like 5 times, its not the same bars over and over again. Make no mistake, the rhymes are horrible, but the beats are innovative across the board. I seem to like it the more I listen to it Expand
  15. KidA
    Nov 23, 2006
    3
    definitely not worth the wait he better come out with something much better next time
  16. DecepticonPom
    Oct 9, 2006
    2
    Heartbreakingly disappointing.
  17. Dan
    Sep 13, 2006
    7
    A mixed bag in more ways than one, The Outsider is something you don
  18. AlexA
    Sep 14, 2006
    2
    This is awful, I didn't expect such crap from Josh Davis.
  19. matt
    Sep 16, 2006
    0
    this album is shit. either make a subpar rap album or dont. dont stick b.s tracks like broken levee blues and slow ambient tunes un with hyphy and one semi punk song. huge identity crisis here. i realize because of copyright laws he cant make another entroducing or pre emptive strike, but cmon. this album is horrible beyond belief
  20. BryanBob
    Sep 19, 2006
    8
    KICK ASSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS Beats great but singers were i bit off but that still fine
  21. Scott
    Sep 21, 2006
    8
    While not Davis' best work, there is something here for everyone. And if you enjoy genre hopping like I do, you might enjoy the whole thing. Solid production throughout.
  22. weltact
    Sep 23, 2006
    0
    the biggest disappointment of 2006 r.i.p. shadow its enough
  23. TylerD
    Sep 27, 2006
    2
    What happened to you Josh? Man. Endtroducing is in my top 5 of all times. Private press was cool too. What a let down!
  24. Jhoira
    Sep 30, 2006
    9
    I get a feelin most Shadow fans wanted Endtroducing Part 3... and thank God we didnt get that... nothing worst than an artist trying to reproduce the sound of his most celebrated record, had he actually composed a new Endtroducing, certainly his fans would have flamed him for not moving forward.. but anywhay... As far as him concerned i really dig the hell out of this record... for the I get a feelin most Shadow fans wanted Endtroducing Part 3... and thank God we didnt get that... nothing worst than an artist trying to reproduce the sound of his most celebrated record, had he actually composed a new Endtroducing, certainly his fans would have flamed him for not moving forward.. but anywhay... As far as him concerned i really dig the hell out of this record... for the close minded music fan it's definitely a hard record to digest, ranging from bay area hip hop thru britpop thru gothic tinged folk.... but for the eclectic record buyer this is a definitive purchase. Expand
  25. Jared
    Sep 30, 2006
    7
    It takes a few listens, but this is a solid album. Fands of Entroducing had a pre-concieved notion of what this album had to sound like. Had it been another artist besides DJ Shadow, this would have had much higher reviews. His intention is not fan-service, it is his artistic expression. He should be commended for writing an album that sounds how he wants it to sound like instead of what It takes a few listens, but this is a solid album. Fands of Entroducing had a pre-concieved notion of what this album had to sound like. Had it been another artist besides DJ Shadow, this would have had much higher reviews. His intention is not fan-service, it is his artistic expression. He should be commended for writing an album that sounds how he wants it to sound like instead of what his fans expect him to make. Expand
  26. HabibW
    Jan 31, 2007
    6
    Hate/love is my reaction...by far the best intro of any album to date...followed by a great but ill placed song 'try it my way'...should have been the conclusion of the disk...followed by better than your average hyphy coupled with awful rappers(E-40, Keek Da Sneak, Turf Talk) and then a better than usual David Banner and then some uninteresting instrumentals...but then the Hate/love is my reaction...by far the best intro of any album to date...followed by a great but ill placed song 'try it my way'...should have been the conclusion of the disk...followed by better than your average hyphy coupled with awful rappers(E-40, Keek Da Sneak, Turf Talk) and then a better than usual David Banner and then some uninteresting instrumentals...but then the highlight of the album 'Backstage Girl' ...this track w/ the intro make your money's worth...'Tiger' is masterful but awful singing as well with most of the rest of the album...as a producer I was influenced a lot by Shadow so I can understand where he is going...perhaps he should re-release this album without vocals then he would be praised... Expand
  27. [Anonymous]
    Sep 14, 2006
    1
    What happened?
  28. PaulB
    Sep 14, 2006
    2
    Awful.
  29. TylerT
    Sep 19, 2006
    2
    I live for shadow, and this hurts my ears. Trash!
  30. NickL
    Sep 29, 2006
    10
    shits hype, yo.
  31. Stefan
    Nov 15, 2006
    0
    A terrible, terrible album. So many awful songs, but the ultimate worst is "Enuff" (#18). This has to be a joke. I want my money back Josh.
  32. JimMoose
    Nov 18, 2006
    8
    Unlike shadow but the more i listen the more i like.
  33. Pfillip
    Dec 21, 2006
    2
    Damn, man, why? I love DJ Shadow. That's the only reason I haven't burned this garbage in the microwave. I can't give him a 1 or 0 either, so here's my 2.
  34. Aug 8, 2014
    4
    This is DJ Shadow's first bad album. He was going for a San Francisco-based "hyphy" sound with the hip-hop tracks. However, he should have chosen better guest emcees (E-40, Q-Tip, and Lateef the Truth Speaker are good though). I know that Shadow wanted to make this album hip-hop-centric, but I also know he could have made way better beats than these. Even the non-hip-hop tracks are notThis is DJ Shadow's first bad album. He was going for a San Francisco-based "hyphy" sound with the hip-hop tracks. However, he should have chosen better guest emcees (E-40, Q-Tip, and Lateef the Truth Speaker are good though). I know that Shadow wanted to make this album hip-hop-centric, but I also know he could have made way better beats than these. Even the non-hip-hop tracks are not very good and, in come cases, laughably corny. This album is occasionally enjoyable, but I strongly suggest listening to earlier Shadow material over this! Expand
Metascore
62

Generally favorable reviews - based on 31 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 31
  2. Negative: 1 out of 31
  1. Rolling Stone
    70
    As a full-length Shadow album, The Outsider buckles from its forced diversity. [24 Aug 2006, p.94]
  2. Q Magazine
    70
    As ever, The Outsider's production is immaculate. But by frontloading the album with forbidding hip hop, [Shadow] knows he's driving away the floating voter. [Sep 2006, p.106]
  3. The Outsider screams to be downloaded in sections by fans of specific genres.