• Record Label: Virgin
  • Release Date: Jun 24, 2003
Metascore
70

Generally favorable reviews - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. All the Gang Starr trademarks are in place, from Premier's perfect upchoruses to Guru's reedy voice cutting or instructing, and sounding better than ever.
  2. The pair simply revert to the beats and concerns that made them an institution in hip-hop's golden age; except for the occasional cameo (Snoop Dogg, Jadakiss), The Ownerz could have hit the streets a decade ago without raising eyebrows.
  3. 80
    All told, a class act still in their prime. [Sep 2003, p.97]
  4. A welcome return to that good stuff Gang Starr has delivered over the years.
  5. While it's not as immediately user-friendly as the group's early jazz-rap infusions, this album still bubbles with head-nodding boombox pleasures.
  6. There's plenty here to celebrate for consistency's sake-- because for what they've lacked in evolution, Guru and Premier have more than repaid in reliability.
  7. 75
    Guru is as bluntly eloquent as ever. [Sep 2003, p.115]
  8. Smart, street-wise and fun all at once.
  9. Hitting that formula and riding it has drained some of the passion out of this sound.
  10. 70
    Their continued presence is reassuring, confirming that there are enough people sufficiently interested in old-fashioned rap music to ensure the group's survival. And this album, logically, is made for those listeners, not to pander to a theoretical multitude. [Aug 2003, p.94]
  11. 70
    While The Ownerz does not spark any new rap trends, it brings back the power of the basics. [Jun 2003, p.153]
  12. Premier does a solid job throughout The Ownerz, but nothing here approaches his past classics.
  13. 60
    Dignified and confident but slightly starved for ideas. [Aug 2003, p.125]
  14. It's almost a carbon copy of their early work. [Sep 2003, p.101]
  15. Guru is... pushing the same grim consistency that makes folks describe Gang Starr albums as 'solid', not budging, not boring, but not better than Moment of Truth. [#234, p.73]
  16. "Skills" and "Rite Where U Stand" show the group's formula can still sizzle, but on the more mundane tracks... Gang Starr sound comfortable, and that's the last thing they'd want. [11 Jul 2003, p.78]
  17. So while The Ownerz does in some ways succeed in its quest to succinctly define the foundation of basic beats and rhymes, its insistent pining for bygone days ultimately reveals itself as lackluster nostalgia.
User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 10 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 4
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 4
  3. Negative: 0 out of 4
  1. MaartenV.
    Aug 13, 2008
    7
    This album has some very decent tracks, but not as many as i was used to find on Gang Starr albums. I'm a huge Gang Starr head and ive This album has some very decent tracks, but not as many as i was used to find on Gang Starr albums. I'm a huge Gang Starr head and ive got all the albums, but i must say that i place this album at the bottom of my Gang Starr album pile. still, it has some OK tracks for instance Capture, Same Team No Games and Who Got Gunz, imo this album is worth an overall 7. Full Review »
  2. BenjaminH.
    Sep 10, 2003
    8
    I love Gangstarr, but on The Ownerz, there should be more tight tracks. There are about 5-6 really tight ones, some ok, then some were like, I love Gangstarr, but on The Ownerz, there should be more tight tracks. There are about 5-6 really tight ones, some ok, then some were like, what?? I expected more, but all in all it is hot. Full Review »
  3. coolfearthefuture
    Aug 2, 2003
    10
    This is pure hiphop here gangstarr returns.