The Path of Totality

The Path of Totality Image
Metascore
58

Mixed or average reviews - based on 15 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 91 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: On its 10th studio album, the West Coast nu metal band experiments with dubstep, collaborating with several on-the-rise producers, including Skrillex, Datsik, Kill the Noise, and 12th Planet.
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 15
  2. Negative: 4 out of 15
  1. Kerrang!
    Jan 4, 2012
    80
    They're still aggressive, heavy and furious, but this new approach also makes them relevant, incisive and swaggering again. [10 Dec 2011, p.50]
  2. Dec 6, 2011
    80
    Despite all the electronics, there's no mistaking The Path of Totality as a Korn album...and one of their better ones to boot.
  3. Q Magazine
    Dec 22, 2011
    80
    Their boldest and best album for years. [Jan 2012, p.124]
  4. Dec 1, 2011
    60
    They get full marks for effort but, unfortunately, not for the end results.
  5. Dec 8, 2011
    60
    The combination of chugging half-time beats, machine gun riffing and techno's sonic extremism is way more pleasing than it should be, the weakest point being Jonathan Davis's earnest adolescent vocals, which we assume actual Korn fans will enjoy.
  6. 60
    Sonically, The Path of Totality feels culturally authentic and trendy, while at the same time, pounding enough for mosh pits and dance floors alike.
  7. Dec 13, 2011
    0
    To Korn's credit, The Path Of Totality is its most radical reinvention to date. It's also the worst slab of sludge it ever shat.

See all 15 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 37
  2. Negative: 10 out of 37
  1. Dec 6, 2011
    10
    A successful experiment that results in one of Korn's finest albums. While some of Korn's latest outings have been less then stellar, theA successful experiment that results in one of Korn's finest albums. While some of Korn's latest outings have been less then stellar, the choice to try something new proved right for the group from Bakersfield. Expand
  2. Dec 12, 2011
    9
    The path of totality is full of good songs and very inspired lyrics! Many of its songs are radio friendly(such as "fuels the comedy" and "wayThe path of totality is full of good songs and very inspired lyrics! Many of its songs are radio friendly(such as "fuels the comedy" and "way too far"). I think that this album can stand among Korn's bests! Expand
  3. Dec 21, 2011
    8
    When doing technical or artistic music is a rule, an avant-garde band would be a band that's not afraid of using pop culture. Korn, takingWhen doing technical or artistic music is a rule, an avant-garde band would be a band that's not afraid of using pop culture. Korn, taking the risk of unhappy fans, as well as "always making joke of nu metal" reviewers, made another experience that potentially could put the band's name for pioneering another genre 10 years after they started nu metal. The album has it's ups and downs though. Some moments don't sound that new and at some points the usage of dubstep effects may not be as good as it could be. Still, the album has so much new stuff to show, blending nu metal and dubstep. Plus the melodies Davis sings, are so memorable in some points that makes the songs something to remember. Negative responses are mostly understandable as most of them belong to the people that have been hating nu metal since 90s and I don't think it's surprising to see them continuing to hate this scene. And there are some negative responses from unsatisfied fans who were waiting for another classic nu metal album, and that's understandable as well. But for the most part, I think the album is another step forward for Korn, with all the controversy they've had with "strict metal listeners" all the way from their beginning to this point, just for taking a step between metal and pop/hip hop music. Expand
  4. Jan 5, 2012
    6
    You don't have to be a guru to know times change, people grow older and music evolves. Ignoring these factors results in a very strictYou don't have to be a guru to know times change, people grow older and music evolves. Ignoring these factors results in a very strict mentality on modern music: you can not expect to listen to the same sounds on and on for ages, it would be simply unnatural. That's why judging albums like The path of totality results in a furious fight between deaf haters and blind lovers: the truth is that Korn are now experimenting new solutions, just the same way they did ten years ago, and the preference is strictly personal. In my opinion, this album is not that bad as some people want to paint it, a couple of tracks are very good and enjoyable, but neither a masterpiece or an innovative milestone: it simply is a step. Expand
  5. Jan 30, 2012
    5
    Because the album is only 50% Korn, I could only give it 50%. However, if this were a Jonathan Davis album, I may have taken it a little moreBecause the album is only 50% Korn, I could only give it 50%. However, if this were a Jonathan Davis album, I may have taken it a little more seriously. Although this is not the worst of "korn", it still kinda sounds like a fax machine from hell. And if I didn't like the single "Narcissistic Cannibal" so much, I would have given the album a 3. Expand
  6. Aug 13, 2014
    4
    They're new experience didn't work that well this time with dupstep. Its there worst album so far but i will always support them no matterThey're new experience didn't work that well this time with dupstep. Its there worst album so far but i will always support them no matter what they do. Expand
  7. Oct 27, 2014
    0
    UGGGGG... This album is the worst Korn album ever!! the song are to short, They all sound the same with this "Dupstep" stuff.. I know they areUGGGGG... This album is the worst Korn album ever!! the song are to short, They all sound the same with this "Dupstep" stuff.. I know they are trying to so called "Experiment" but this is by far one of the worst Korn albums EVER!! Expand

See all 37 User Reviews