The Path of Totality Image
Metascore
58

Mixed or average reviews - based on 15 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 82 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: On its 10th studio album, the West Coast nu metal band experiments with dubstep, collaborating with several on-the-rise producers, including Skrillex, Datsik, Kill the Noise, and 12th Planet.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 15
  2. Negative: 4 out of 15
  1. Jan 4, 2012
    80
    They're still aggressive, heavy and furious, but this new approach also makes them relevant, incisive and swaggering again. [10 Dec 2011, p.50]
  2. Dec 6, 2011
    80
    Despite all the electronics, there's no mistaking The Path of Totality as a Korn album...and one of their better ones to boot.
  3. Dec 22, 2011
    80
    Their boldest and best album for years. [Jan 2012, p.124]
  4. Dec 1, 2011
    60
    They get full marks for effort but, unfortunately, not for the end results.
  5. Dec 8, 2011
    60
    The combination of chugging half-time beats, machine gun riffing and techno's sonic extremism is way more pleasing than it should be, the weakest point being Jonathan Davis's earnest adolescent vocals, which we assume actual Korn fans will enjoy.
  6. 60
    Sonically, The Path of Totality feels culturally authentic and trendy, while at the same time, pounding enough for mosh pits and dance floors alike.
  7. Dec 13, 2011
    0
    To Korn's credit, The Path Of Totality is its most radical reinvention to date. It's also the worst slab of sludge it ever shat.

See all 15 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 32
  2. Negative: 8 out of 32
  1. Dec 6, 2011
    10
    A successful experiment that results in one of Korn's finest albums. While some of Korn's latest outings have been less then stellar, the choice to try something new proved right for the group from Bakersfield. Expand
  2. Dec 12, 2011
    9
    The path of totality is full of good songs and very inspired lyrics! Many of its songs are radio friendly(such as "fuels the comedy" and "way too far"). I think that this album can stand among Korn's bests! Expand
  3. Dec 21, 2011
    8
    When doing technical or artistic music is a rule, an avant-garde band would be a band that's not afraid of using pop culture. Korn, taking the risk of unhappy fans, as well as "always making joke of nu metal" reviewers, made another experience that potentially could put the band's name for pioneering another genre 10 years after they started nu metal. The album has it's ups and downs though. Some moments don't sound that new and at some points the usage of dubstep effects may not be as good as it could be. Still, the album has so much new stuff to show, blending nu metal and dubstep. Plus the melodies Davis sings, are so memorable in some points that makes the songs something to remember. Negative responses are mostly understandable as most of them belong to the people that have been hating nu metal since 90s and I don't think it's surprising to see them continuing to hate this scene. And there are some negative responses from unsatisfied fans who were waiting for another classic nu metal album, and that's understandable as well. But for the most part, I think the album is another step forward for Korn, with all the controversy they've had with "strict metal listeners" all the way from their beginning to this point, just for taking a step between metal and pop/hip hop music. Expand
  4. Oct 15, 2013
    7
    Combining elements of the aggressive sound that has been missing from Korn's last few albums with a heavy electronic-dubstep influence that sounds like nothing they've ever done before, Korn continue to innovate new sounds and sound damn good doing it.
    From the energetic and quick tempo of the opening track Chaos Lives in Everything to the emotive piano on Bleeding Out (Or the downbeat and somewhat spooky tone of Tension with the Deluxe edition) the album has a variety of tunes that combine the dubstep/metal in new and effective ways with notable tracks Narcissistic Cannibal and Get Up! being easily as aggressive and catchy as older Korn classics such as Here to Stay and Freak on a Leash. It's easy to see that both the band and the artists they collaborated with, to name a couple Skrillex and 12th Planet, had a lot of fun working with this.
    Though there are a few tracks that drag it down, such as the aforementioned Tension which is is too downbeat and inconsistent to be memorable, the good outweighs the bad and tracks like Get Up! and Fules the Comedy are hard to forget.
    You should definetly buy this album
    Expand
  5. Mar 27, 2012
    5
    I am a huge Korn fan, however, since losing Brian "head" Welch on lead guitar to Jesus, the boys have been slipping into the same old crunchy chant. This attempt to revitalize the band while riding the crest of the dubstep wave is a good effort but falls short. Skrillex and Korn just don't mesh perfectly despite Skrillex's metal roots. Parts of the album almost seem to run parallel, never touching cohesion. The split between the band and the DJ is all too apparent, and nothing bangs as hard as one might expect. Hey. boys, send some meth to Head and get him hooked back up. Expand
  6. May 6, 2013
    3
    I have been a fan of KoRn since the mid 90's, i was a major fan as a teenager and really enjoyed their albums up to and including 'Issues'. I did not overly enjoy 'Untouchables', and quite liked 'Take a Look in the Mirror'. After that i really lost interest with the band, i stopped keeping track of album releases and assumed the band would soon split (as members began to quit and record sales dropped). KoRn had appeared to become a bit 'samey', the songs less relevant, the themes became more cheesy, formulated and depressing rather than Raw and dynamic.

    However, when i heard Korn was releasing a Dubstep album i got really excited!!!
    I am not a huge Dubstep fan but some of the darker stuff i have enjoyed, and when i have heard it live at illegal raves it sounded awesome.

    I imagined KoRn could really take Dubstep and turn it on its head much like they did with Hip-Hop in their early days. I imagined lengthy tracks that took the listener on a journey (something like a mix of Tool and NIN was an exciting prospect!). I wanted them to really take Dubstep and move it into an art, take its dark sound and really go to town extracting the emotions that KoRn are famous for. I wanted them to drown us in endless raw dirty sounds, melodies and vocals, vibes and improvisation.

    In short The news of the album re-ignited my interest in a former favourite band i had sidelined.

    Unfortunately upon hearing it I was very underwhelmed!

    The songs are short and formulated, with a Kind of verse chorus -verse approach.
    The Dubstep used is more of the 'Poppy' dubstep out there, it sounds very mainstream instead of alternative and they could have utilized Dubstep producers from the underground scene who suite KoRn's sound much more.
    This demonstrates that J.D had discovered Dubstep rather late in its prime. The producers are the mainstream ones who churn out rubbish to suite large audiences. It is the worst form of Dubstep with no real emotion, adventure or experimentation. No innovation here just a mix of two styles that remain separate to the ear.

    It is a shame, as this album could have been ground breaking, it could have been so much more.
    I later found out that many of the musicians did not even meet each other in person. The Dubstep producers sent KoRn their parts via email. J.D did his vocals and emailed them to Munky ect ect.
    This lack of human interaction during production is clearly visible (audible) as the album lacks character and coherence.

    To conclude: this album lacks character. It is very formulated and has no sense of adventure. The songs have no depth and the album overall feels 'half arsed'.
    I watched the band live during the tour for this album and they only played 2 or 3 songs from it! It was obvious the crowd did not enjoy these dubstep tracks as much as the others.

    J.D seems to have had some sort of mid life crisis with his J-Devil character. This shows on 'The Path of Totality' as it sounds as though he is trying to please some young ,trendy, hip Dubstep producers rather than produce anything creative.

    There goes my interest in Korn again.
    Expand
  7. Nov 6, 2012
    0
    Korn were probably one of the least offensively bad of the nu metal band in the 90's; That is until now! This is by far the worst album created and don't make the "oh, you don't understand dubstep" or "Your closed minded" arguments. This album's production is dreadful and there is no musicianship to this album. At least on previous albums I could say the musicianship isn't too bad. But on this album its truly bad. And I'm going to prove this album is bad to all of the people who claim this album is "good". If this album is good, how come its the same music at different tempos and different lyrics? Seriously?! Making the same "wub-wub-wub" noises for 5-6 minutes on a computer isn't music. Its manufacturing the idea that anybody with a Mac can be famous and you don't need to be a gifted musician to make music that's successful. That's truly a disgrace to everything that music used to stand for and whoever supports it should be ashamed. Expand

See all 32 User Reviews