The Path of Totality

The Path of Totality Image
Metascore
58

Mixed or average reviews - based on 15 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 96 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: On its 10th studio album, the West Coast nu metal band experiments with dubstep, collaborating with several on-the-rise producers, including Skrillex, Datsik, Kill the Noise, and 12th Planet.
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 15
  2. Negative: 4 out of 15
  1. Kerrang!
    Jan 4, 2012
    80
    They're still aggressive, heavy and furious, but this new approach also makes them relevant, incisive and swaggering again. [10 Dec 2011, p.50]
  2. Dec 6, 2011
    80
    Despite all the electronics, there's no mistaking The Path of Totality as a Korn album...and one of their better ones to boot.
  3. Q Magazine
    Dec 22, 2011
    80
    Their boldest and best album for years. [Jan 2012, p.124]
  4. Dec 1, 2011
    60
    They get full marks for effort but, unfortunately, not for the end results.
  5. Dec 8, 2011
    60
    The combination of chugging half-time beats, machine gun riffing and techno's sonic extremism is way more pleasing than it should be, the weakest point being Jonathan Davis's earnest adolescent vocals, which we assume actual Korn fans will enjoy.
  6. 60
    Sonically, The Path of Totality feels culturally authentic and trendy, while at the same time, pounding enough for mosh pits and dance floors alike.
  7. Dec 13, 2011
    0
    To Korn's credit, The Path Of Totality is its most radical reinvention to date. It's also the worst slab of sludge it ever shat.

See all 15 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 37
  2. Negative: 10 out of 37
  1. Dec 6, 2011
    10
    A successful experiment that results in one of Korn's finest albums. While some of Korn's latest outings have been less then stellar, theA successful experiment that results in one of Korn's finest albums. While some of Korn's latest outings have been less then stellar, the choice to try something new proved right for the group from Bakersfield. Expand
  2. Feb 12, 2014
    9
    Every time I've heard about this album online (before I listened to it) I've always heard it was horrible... Started listening not expectingEvery time I've heard about this album online (before I listened to it) I've always heard it was horrible... Started listening not expecting much, but songs like "Fuels the Comedy", "Narcissistic cannibal", "Get Up" and "Let's go", as well as, a couple others really made this album great in my opinion. "Fuels the Comedy" is now up there with some of my favorite KoRn songs. They took a big risk, and I think it paid off. However, hearing such a negative response online makes me believe maybe it wasn't the best step to take for them. Expand
  3. Dec 7, 2011
    9
    The Path of totality is the best thing Korn have put out since Untouchables, it sound's the most Inspired and could possibly be lead vocalistsThe Path of totality is the best thing Korn have put out since Untouchables, it sound's the most Inspired and could possibly be lead vocalists Jonathan Davis's best work on vocals since Follow the Leader. The 'dubstep' doesn't overshadow any of the members from Korn. Past albums, Take a look in the morror, see you on the other side, untitled, and KIII were 'good' albums but still missed something and didn't quit 'hit the nail on the head' but Path of totality finaly brings solidity and 'hit's the nail all the way'. I highly recomend getting this album; as the only flaws I can think of is some tracks are a little short and a couple of songs may get a little repetitive. All in all I give the album a 9 because it's so fresh and different and finaly brings back that 'satisfaction' old korn albums gave you. Expand
  4. Oct 15, 2013
    7
    Combining elements of the aggressive sound that has been missing from Korn's last few albums with a heavy electronic-dubstep influence thatCombining elements of the aggressive sound that has been missing from Korn's last few albums with a heavy electronic-dubstep influence that sounds like nothing they've ever done before, Korn continue to innovate new sounds and sound damn good doing it.
    From the energetic and quick tempo of the opening track Chaos Lives in Everything to the emotive piano on Bleeding Out (Or the downbeat and somewhat spooky tone of Tension with the Deluxe edition) the album has a variety of tunes that combine the dubstep/metal in new and effective ways with notable tracks Narcissistic Cannibal and Get Up! being easily as aggressive and catchy as older Korn classics such as Here to Stay and Freak on a Leash. It's easy to see that both the band and the artists they collaborated with, to name a couple Skrillex and 12th Planet, had a lot of fun working with this.
    Though there are a few tracks that drag it down, such as the aforementioned Tension which is is too downbeat and inconsistent to be memorable, the good outweighs the bad and tracks like Get Up! and Fules the Comedy are hard to forget.
    You should definetly buy this album
    Expand
  5. Sep 24, 2015
    5
    While Korn teased the aggressive and simply great "Get Up!" in the album's pre-release, unfortunately The Path of Totality suffers fromWhile Korn teased the aggressive and simply great "Get Up!" in the album's pre-release, unfortunately The Path of Totality suffers from sameness; track after track goes by and I'm left wondering "didn't I just listen to this song before?" But maybe I shouldn't be so harsh: we've all come to expect that from dubstep, and unfortunately, Korn fail to create something that breaks the mould. Expand
  6. Aug 13, 2014
    4
    They're new experience didn't work that well this time with dupstep. Its there worst album so far but i will always support them no matterThey're new experience didn't work that well this time with dupstep. Its there worst album so far but i will always support them no matter what they do. Expand
  7. Oct 27, 2014
    0
    UGGGGG... This album is the worst Korn album ever!! the song are to short, They all sound the same with this "Dupstep" stuff.. I know they areUGGGGG... This album is the worst Korn album ever!! the song are to short, They all sound the same with this "Dupstep" stuff.. I know they are trying to so called "Experiment" but this is by far one of the worst Korn albums EVER!! Expand

See all 37 User Reviews