The Pick Of Destiny OST

  • Record Label: Sony
  • Release Date: Nov 14, 2006
User Score
8.2

Universal acclaim- based on 51 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 51
  2. Negative: 5 out of 51

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. EricS
    Feb 1, 2007
    10
    This album is absolutely hilarious!! I laughed so hard, milk came out my nose!
  2. keithh
    Nov 19, 2006
    10
    This CD is awesome
  3. PeterG.
    Mar 19, 2007
    10
    How this is only a 52 just baffles me. This is one of the more hillarious rock songs in recent history.
  4. DillonS
    Nov 20, 2006
    10
    Tenacious D is the best fucking band on earth
  5. JacksonL
    Dec 16, 2006
    10
    awesome!
  6. LukeB
    Apr 22, 2007
    10
    it was good.
  7. JCopland
    Dec 21, 2006
    10
    Seriously, people, this is a very funny and rockin' record. And who gives a crap how long the playing time is as long as all the tracks are as strong as this material is. Jack Black's vocal skills put to shame 95% of the singers that currently populate the airwaves today.
  8. Feb 13, 2011
    10
    Funny movie and great music.
  9. Feb 5, 2016
    10
    This album again displays the D's prowess as a legendary Rock-Metal band and their special blend of tounge-in-cheek gives them a unique edge. Yeah the movie sucked a bit but the soundtrack is superb.
  10. May 6, 2013
    10
    This is is certainly an acquired taste but this is probably one of the funniest and just plain awesome albums I have heard in a while. Jack Black and Kyle Gass are just great in this album with excellent and funny song writing and good music to go along with it. Love this album.
  11. CodyS
    Jun 10, 2007
    9
    of course the songs don't stand out on their, own its a musical. its a movie soundtrack, so don't listen to it before you see the movie.
  12. BenW
    May 10, 2007
    9
    dont be harsh! its not as good as the first album but its still the best of its kind.
  13. Proto
    Nov 27, 2006
    9
    If a tad worse then their debut album, it's because of lack of innovation factor and its short running time. Other then that it positively rocks the socks off. Yet to see the actual movie.
  14. Feb 4, 2017
    9
    Отличный саундтрек к среднему фильму.
    Очень классные песни,но есть пара композиций, которые просто доставляют неимоверное удовольствие ушам, сам не замечаешь, что начинаешь подпевать.
  15. NielsK
    Aug 3, 2009
    8
    Come on 52? the user rating of 77 at time of writing is a lot more realistic! this album is not utter greatness but still a very fun (if short) ride. listen to Dave Grohl in Beelzeboss on drums and doing the devils vocals on that song... it´s brilliant. really. and that´s just one of the little pearls found on this album.
  16. Mar 27, 2012
    8
    It has been said in other reviews that Tenacious D should take their music more seriously . . . I bet the guys writing those reviews are a lot of fun at parties.

    Sometimes not taking yourself too seriously is the point. As far as the comments about â
  17. Nov 1, 2013
    8
    This is an album that is genuinely funny and the songs stand out to me. It was the first album i've purchased on my phone and it's well worth it. It's not the greatest album ever made, but how it has a rating this low (52) shocked me. Watch the movie first; this is definitely worth a listen.
  18. LouisP.
    Dec 4, 2006
    7
    It doesn't reach the comic brilliance of the first album. The main reason being, it's music made to score the movie. The visuals do help. I'm listening to this album quite a bit right now. Thinking back to the movie diffinitely enhances the enjoyment. Watch the movie and listen to "Master Exploder" and try not to smile. Impossible.
  19. JustinM
    Nov 20, 2006
    7
    Though Tenacious D: The Pick of Destiny is not the masterpiece of comedy and rock-worship that was their debut, the soundtrack still offers a handful of 'hot-and-tasty' cuts. We finally get to hear the unholy union of Dio and the D in the opening track, and it works to set the album up as a sort of neo- rock opera. It may not work as well as a standalone record, certainly not a Though Tenacious D: The Pick of Destiny is not the masterpiece of comedy and rock-worship that was their debut, the soundtrack still offers a handful of 'hot-and-tasty' cuts. We finally get to hear the unholy union of Dio and the D in the opening track, and it works to set the album up as a sort of neo- rock opera. It may not work as well as a standalone record, certainly not a fully realized rock opera, but it doesn't have to. The songs exist as part of the film and shouldn't be judged totally apart from it. At first listen, it may appear to be a re-hash of some of the spoofs and jokes from their older material, but the songs prove to be subtle (yet rocking!) pokes at some of the more ridiculous song-styles and lyrics that have been passed off as rock and metal in the past 30 years. We shall see if the film offers as much. Expand
Metascore
52

Mixed or average reviews - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 16
  2. Negative: 4 out of 16
  1. It plays like a hilarious concept album more than anything.
  2. Billboard
    70
    Tenacious D insists it is the greatest band in the world, and on a couple occasions during this soundtrack to the duo's upcoming film of the same name, you kinda believe it. [18 Nov 2006]
  3. Not only are these not the greatest songs in the world, they're not even a tribute to them.