The Pick Of Destiny OST Image
Metascore
52

Mixed or average reviews - based on 16 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 43 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The second album for the tongue-in-cheek rock duo of Jack Black and Kyle Gass serves as the soundtrack to their movie of the same name.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 16
  2. Negative: 4 out of 16
  1. Laugh if you like, but [Black is] as convincing as any of today's straight-faced metal revivalists. [17 Nov 2006, p.127]
  2. It plays like a hilarious concept album more than anything.
  3. This may not be a concept album, but it's structured as a narrative, mirroring the plot of the movie. Unfortunately, this doesn't give The Pick of Destiny the weight or grandeur of a true concept album, because a lot of the music sounds as if it serves the movie, and doesn't stand tall when separated from the film.
  4. 50
    Devotees will probably find it terribly amusing. Everyone else might want to hit the bong pretty hard beforehand. [Dec 2006, p.102]
  5. 40
    There’s only so much even a metal fan can swallow.
  6. Not only are these not the greatest songs in the world, they're not even a tribute to them.
  7. Whereas [debut album] Tenacious D was a brilliant parody of the blood-and-thunder metal genre, functioning as a cohesive, hilarious whole, The Pick Of Destiny is mere bong resin.

See all 16 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 23
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 23
  3. Negative: 4 out of 23
  1. Feb 13, 2011
    10
    Funny movie and great music.
  2. JCopland
    Dec 21, 2006
    10
    Seriously, people, this is a very funny and rockin' record. And who gives a crap how long the playing time is as long as all the tracks are as strong as this material is. Jack Black's vocal skills put to shame 95% of the singers that currently populate the airwaves today. Expand
  3. PeterG.
    Mar 19, 2007
    10
    How this is only a 52 just baffles me. This is one of the more hillarious rock songs in recent history.
  4. Proto
    Nov 27, 2006
    9
    If a tad worse then their debut album, it's because of lack of innovation factor and its short running time. Other then that it positively rocks the socks off. Yet to see the actual movie. Expand
  5. Mar 27, 2012
    8
    It has been said in other reviews that Tenacious D should take their music more seriously . . . I bet the guys writing those reviews are a lot of fun at parties.

    Sometimes not taking yourself too seriously is the point. As far as the comments about â
    Expand
  6. LouisP.
    Dec 4, 2006
    7
    It doesn't reach the comic brilliance of the first album. The main reason being, it's music made to score the movie. The visuals do help. I'm listening to this album quite a bit right now. Thinking back to the movie diffinitely enhances the enjoyment. Watch the movie and listen to "Master Exploder" and try not to smile. Impossible. Expand
  7. Sep 14, 2010
    0
    Man this movie sucked. There story could have been written by a 10 year old. Dough i love both Jack Black and Dave Grohl, there is no excuse for this movie. I think turned it off 3 times. I would have called Jack and asked for my money back if I didnt borrow it for free from a friend. Expand

See all 23 User Reviews