The Private Press Image
Metascore
81

Universal acclaim - based on 24 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 30 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The Bay Area's Josh Davis (aka DJ Shadow) finally returns with a proper full-length follow-up to 1996's groudbreaking 'Endtroducing,' which achieved near-legendary status for its imaginative use of samples (a style that would later be adopted by acts such as The Avalanches).
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 24
  2. Negative: 0 out of 24
  1. The overall effect is less grand than that of Endtroducing six years ago, popper and rocker and r&ber. But an overall effect there is, grounded in Shadow's trademark-tremendous bass 'n' drum.
  2. The Private Press is a more diverse collection of styles and sounds, and still surpasses anything else out there.
  3. In essence, it's a younger, fitter and infinitely hipper version of what Moby is doing.
  4. The record sounds like it came a year or so after Endtroducing--which is to say, it goes a little deeper in summoning Gothic textures and awesome drum samples, and arrives as a delayed, well-fitting follow-up to a landmark.
  5. 80
    Two long, draggy pieces near the end of The Private Press are its only intimations of mortality. [Jun/Jul 2002, p.102]
  6. It feels like the work of a man groping his way, fastidiously but uncertainly, towards the next level.
  7. It was probably inevitable, but having raised the bar so high for cut-and-paste music, Shadow spends a little too long here looking up at it. [Jul 2002, p.96]

See all 24 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 18
  2. Negative: 2 out of 18
  1. May 7, 2011
    10
    Don't hesitate to buy this amazing DJ Shadow album. It may never be as great as "Endtroducing", but it still blew me away. His talent toDon't hesitate to buy this amazing DJ Shadow album. It may never be as great as "Endtroducing", but it still blew me away. His talent to sample music from other artists and make them his own is amazing. He flawlessly creates beautiful songs that flow together wonderfully in this album. The songs that I would recommend are "Fixed Income", "Giving Up The Ghost", "Six Days", "Mogrel...Meets His Maker", Right Thing/GDMFSOB", and "You Can't Go Home Again". Get up from your computer, run down to the the nearest music store, and buy this album! Expand
  2. VinnyA
    Aug 18, 2005
    10
    Davis makes pretty much everything on the radio sound idiotic. It's nice to here a real artist evolving and growing instead of pumping Davis makes pretty much everything on the radio sound idiotic. It's nice to here a real artist evolving and growing instead of pumping out the same old thing. The rest of the music industry would do well to embrace musicians whos music can be called art, istead of going for the quick buck song of the week that no will remember or care about three years from now. Shadow stands head and shoulders above the largly unlistenable tripe that MTV proports as Hip-Hop. Music like this develops loyal fallowings that last years beyond the top forty. You won't be dissapointed. Expand
  3. ericm
    Aug 28, 2005
    10
    just get it.
  4. BobS.
    Jun 3, 2002
    9
    Not quite as good as Entroducing, very worthy follow up considering the album it is following up though.
  5. NobleL.
    Aug 23, 2002
    9
    Just what I expected from Shadow ... the unexpected - 'You can't go home again' will be on my playlist for years to come.
  6. JayMal
    Jan 12, 2004
    8
    Not as great as Entroducing...., But still a solid album all around.
  7. ChoadmasterBalzac
    Jul 30, 2002
    2
    You can hear him trying to "move on" to the next thing when really what everyone wants to hear is the same old. I'd like to say that I You can hear him trying to "move on" to the next thing when really what everyone wants to hear is the same old. I'd like to say that I felt differently but my vibe has not changed to match his. Maybe that's what makes him a great artist? Or maybe the reaching just sounds pretentious. This really could be a Moby or Fatboy Slim album. Collapse

See all 18 User Reviews