The Promise - Bruce Springsteen
User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 43 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 43
  2. Negative: 4 out of 43

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 17, 2010
    10
    This amazing box set is worth it for the full live concert from Houston '78 alone...an absolutely amazing performance showing Bruce & The E Street Band at the height of their powers. Totally scorching. Add in the remastered original album, 2 CDs of unreleased material, the behind-the-scenes documentary, more live/rehearsal footage and the beautiful packaging giving a glimpse into Springsteen's songwriting notebooks and this is a BARGAIN at $80. An absolute must-have for any Springsteen fan.
    Comment
    Expand
  2. Nov 16, 2010
    10
    Awesome awesome awesome awesome awesome! Listened to the whole thing front to back last night. The vinyl pressing sounds great, so anyone reluctant to throw down almost $50 for it, know at least that you are getting an excellent sounding, very good quality pressing. No extras, just the songs, but that's all that matters. There's also a bonus song at the end making it an even 22 songs.

    There are maybe two just ok tracks on the entire set. The rest are either good, great, or among his best. I've read a couple of mixed reviews stating that there are not many standouts here besides the ones (Because the Night, Fire) that everyone already knows. Nothing could be further from the truth. There are many moments of pop brilliance throughout this set. Anyone who gives this set less than they gave 'Working on a Dream' is out of their freaking mind.

    You'll be listening to this lost album for years and years to come, it's worth it. Go buy it! Now!!!!!!!!
    Expand
  3. Nov 28, 2010
    9
    This is a very solid collection of pop songs, an absolute must for any Springsteen fan and worthwhile for lovers of pop in general. Being the collection of out takes it is, it does not have the same fluidity that Springsteen albums usually offer and lyrically there a few songs that might have belonged in the studio, but over all it's a fantastic collection.
  4. Dec 28, 2010
    10
    The deluxe boxed set is a revelation in several ways. First, thereâ
  5. Jan 29, 2011
    9
    Only a living legend like Springsteen can keep a bunch of songs in his attic for 30 years, and then manage to take you along for a brilliant, timeless, and wonderfully nostalgic ride. He is The Boss for good reason.
  6. Aug 17, 2011
    9
    I rarely like ALL of the songs on any given Springsteen album. So I was pleasantly surprised to find this "Promise" release on sale for 8.99 at our special record store here in Chicago since I've heard so many good things about it; and I was even more pleasantly surprised to discover that I like this WHOLE album. I found "Darkness on the Edge of Town" sorta uneven - I liked only half the songs. This mini-box set satisfies my craving for some good Springsteen from beginning to end! Expand
  7. bjk
    Apr 20, 2011
    10
    10. This is a treasure. Van Zandt mentioned how Bruce could have been the most successful pop song writer if he had release the hundreds of commercial rock he left off his theme oriented albums. After listening to these CDs I have to agree. This just adds to his resume and credentials. What an amazing song writer and performer!
  8. Nov 14, 2011
    9
    Amazing that this record was never released before now. It will probably never have the recognition or status that it would have got had it been released when it was made, Darkness on the Edge of Town should really really have been a double album when you listen to this. What a genius,
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 17
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 17
  3. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. Jan 4, 2011
    80
    In the end, the artificial pop of The Promise makes it, as a whole, a more realistic album.
  2. Dec 23, 2010
    100
    The Promise demonstrates how wide-ranging Springsteen's musical interests and abilities were when he was 27.
  3. Dec 20, 2010
    100
    Ultimately, the official album remains the crucible of the artist who flourishes to this day. [Dec 2010, p.112]