• Record Label: Redline
  • Release Date: Nov 20, 2001
Metascore
54

Mixed or average reviews - based on 10 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 10
  2. Negative: 2 out of 10
  1. 40
    The music, though lithe and limber in a jazz-fusion-funk bag, lacks melodic distinction, while the vocals are delivered in a variety of electronically treated styles that are irritating at first and increasingly so on repeated exposures. [Feb 2002, p.125]
  2. His most consistent work since 1991's Diamonds And Pearls, although you'll need to ignore the peculiar narrative episodes in order to fully enjoy it. [Jan 2002, p.106]
  3. 60
    A sprawling, instrumentally dazzling work which all but spurns pop songwriting. [Jan 2002, p.99]
  4. The Rainbow Children contains one good song, a ballad called "She Loves Me 4 Me," buried beneath layers of spiritual horseshittery.
  5. 20
    The music, such as it is, is a river of fat-free, dirt-free, melody-free jazz Olestra. [Feb 2002, p.112]
  6. The album's light jazz-funk grooves sink under the weight of his sanctimony. [23 Nov 2001, p.82]
  7. It deftly balances sweet ballads, outer-space jazz, acid-rock, and firecracker funk superior to almost anything he has offered since perhaps "Sign O' the Times."
  8. The experiments sometimes work, but the album is mainly weighted down by cryptic religious ramblings that sap the pop life right out of it.
  9. With its fluttering horns, gauzy percussion, and the playing of smooth-jazz saxophonist Najee, Prince's new album, The Rainbow Children, is steeped in the kind of fusion [Miles] Davis pioneered.
  10. Unfortunately, the record is burdened by a pretentious, overarching narrative about "the Wise One" and his struggle with "the Banished Ones."
User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 36 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 27
  2. Negative: 4 out of 27
  1. Sep 25, 2010
    10
    I have not bought much music in a while as there is not much out there worth buying. I love this disk. I love the music, and the creativityI have not bought much music in a while as there is not much out there worth buying. I love this disk. I love the music, and the creativity of lyrics. It's not like most disks where all of the songs sound alike. Give credit where credit is due. An just because you are not spiritual that does not diminish his creativity. Funky, jazzy, and worth buying..... Full Review »
  2. mitch
    Dec 9, 2004
    8
    Very disappointed and shocked by the low ratings given by prominent magazines....I agree the persistent use of narrative is a bit much, but Very disappointed and shocked by the low ratings given by prominent magazines....I agree the persistent use of narrative is a bit much, but adds to the conceptual and religious nature of the album. Easily better than Musicology IMHO based strictly on the album's uniqueness. Somebody please back me up here... Full Review »
  3. SethB.
    Dec 3, 2001
    9
    This record is really, really good. In fairness it is a bit spritualized in it's message but even leaving that aside it's music and This record is really, really good. In fairness it is a bit spritualized in it's message but even leaving that aside it's music and overall production is second to none. Not a Prince fan? Well at some point you will be if you love music, and this will be the record that takes you there. Full Review »