• Band Name:
  • Record Label:
  • Release Date:
The R.E.D. Album Image
Metascore
61

Generally favorable reviews - based on 16 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 50 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The long delayed 21-track album for the Los Angeles rapper features guest turns from Dr. Dre, Kendrick Lamar, Snoop Dogg, Lil Wayne, Sly, Drake, Rick Ross, Beanie Sigel, Young Jeezy, Big Boi, E-40, Lloyd, Mario, Wale. Chris Brown, Nelly Furtado, and Tyler, the Creator.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 16
  2. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. Aug 23, 2011
    88
    The R.E.D. Album orbits around contradictions like that. It might be the most compelling portrait of confusion we'll hear from a rapper this year.
  2. Aug 22, 2011
    80
    Despite its delay, it's by no means a swan song, contractually and musically. R.E.D. is a lot of many things, only adding to the anticipation already for Game's final offering to Interscope.
  3. Aug 23, 2011
    80
    There's no doubt about it, there's greatness lurking in Game, and in R.E.D. Album. Let's just hope that from here on out he'll find the consistency he needs to truly claim that greatness.
  4. With this mixed bag he's likely cemented his reputation as a MC that was blessed with a sack of classic beats for his debut, now just a rapper like the rest of 'em.
  5. Aug 30, 2011
    50
    Throughout The R.E.D. Album, he runs himself ragged trying to realize the masterpiece he pictures in his head, but he just doesn't have the coordination to pull it off.
  6. Aug 29, 2011
    48
    The R.E.D. Album will likely fade into obscurity immediately upon arrival, but if it doesn't raise some eyebrows around major label offices, then this is a failure of not just one person, but also of an entire industry.
  7. Aug 22, 2011
    40
    When there is a firm hand reining him in, Game can still make good rap music. Left to his own devices, however, he produces a dismaying mess.

See all 16 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 21
  2. Negative: 2 out of 21
  1. Aug 23, 2011
    10
    Give me a 2011 album better than this? This is the greatest album of the year. Critics can hate, but true fans know good music when they see it. Game...is...back! Expand
  2. Aug 25, 2011
    10
    The RED album is the album of the year!!! Every track on this album is great like The City, Drug Test, Red Nation, Ricky, The Good, the Bad,the Ugly, Paramedics, Pot of Gold, Born in Trap...... This is The Game best album yet and it has great instrumentals as well as big name artist like Lil Wayne, Drake, Jeezy, Dr. Dre, Snoop and Chris Brown. This album is a perfect example of patience being a virtue, it took a long time to drop but it was worth the wait!! If u have not cop this album yet then you are missing out on the best album of this Year!!! Expand
  3. Aug 23, 2011
    10
    Amazing album. Don't see how you can dislike it. Definitely better than the Documentary and very much anticipated and well received, to me at least. It has the best production, amazing lyricism, and the substance to last. Game just made his second classic! Expand
  4. Sep 16, 2011
    8
    Good album.The first time i listened i didn't like it but the more i got into it i seen it was a good album.Compared to albums now days its really really good.It has too many people on it and some songs don't really even have him on the song like paramedic it sounds like its young jezzy song not games.Overall its a cool album Expand
  5. NJR
    Aug 24, 2011
    8
    Very satisfying album, lyrically this is undoubtably Game's strongest performance to date and the production for the most part is outstanding. Tracks like "Born In The Trap", "The City", "Ricky" and "Mamma Knows" showcase how good he can be and each of these tracks wouldn't be out of place on a classic west coast LP. Sadly though there is a chunk of the album that tarnishes the whole experience, "Speakers On Blast", "Hello" & "All The Way Gone" all showcase just how bad he can be, he has no pressence on these tracks and doesn't really talk about much. "All I Know" and "Drug Test" were easily cut-able from the track list as well as Dre's super-cliched interludes. Over all though, I love the album for it's many high points and I personally can't wait for this album he is making with Mars. By the way, how breathtaking was Lamar on "The City"? A legend in the making there. 8/10. Collapse
  6. Mar 30, 2013
    7
    primarily just good beats, and great features, the game is out shined by pretty much every guest, the first few songs are the best. worth a few listens Expand
  7. Aug 30, 2011
    0
    This album is very tired, and lacks creativity all around!!! This should be the Gameâ

See all 21 User Reviews