The Reminder

User Score
8.9

Universal acclaim- based on 95 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 87 out of 95
  2. Negative: 4 out of 95

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. TonyR
    Jan 13, 2008
    10
    its pop minus the bubble gum and the nasty flavor you get after chewing on it for hours this album from the first few seconds to end is so good and this alone gives light for future music in the mainstream which honestly is dead
  2. Oct 8, 2011
    10
    Beatiful. Just that I can say when something like "The Reminder" is made. With GREAT lyrics, and indie beats, the voice of Leslie Feist just fitted so well in the best record of 2007, "1234", and in others like "My Moon, My Man", "So Sorry" and "The Water", and this remarkable CD will be forever remebered as the one that made indie music go back to the highlights of mainstream!
  3. JeffK.
    Oct 20, 2007
    10
    Awesome!
  4. EthanH
    Oct 8, 2007
    10
    One of the best albums of all time - a surprisingly mature, flowing piece from an already established artist, the Reminder is set to become a classic. Absolutely gorgeous.
  5. matta
    Apr 18, 2007
    9
    Damien D., we'd get along. My top albums so far this also go Feist, Arcade Fire, Of Montreal (with Patrick Wolf and Andrew Bird rounding out the top 5). This album is just gorgeous. There are so many highlights, but So Sorry, I Feel It All, Past in Present, and 1234 (which is the single of the year so far) deserve special mention. This album should make Feist at least as big as indie Damien D., we'd get along. My top albums so far this also go Feist, Arcade Fire, Of Montreal (with Patrick Wolf and Andrew Bird rounding out the top 5). This album is just gorgeous. There are so many highlights, but So Sorry, I Feel It All, Past in Present, and 1234 (which is the single of the year so far) deserve special mention. This album should make Feist at least as big as indie chicks like Cat Power, Neko Case and Jenny Lewis, and in a just world, bigger than any female artist out there right now. Expand
  6. HenryJ-R
    May 2, 2007
    10
    This is really incredible. She wrote almost all of these songs and they sound even more classic than the covers on her last album "1234" is one of those perfect songs that makes you surprised that it wasn't written before.
  7. RonnieM
    May 4, 2007
    10
    Lovely, beautiful, melodic and unique. Her music just lifts my mood.
  8. johnnyX
    May 4, 2007
    10
    good album!
  9. EdgarH
    May 4, 2007
    10
    Best album of 07.
  10. JohnathanR.
    May 4, 2007
    10
    The album as a whole is ingeniously put together: the order of the tracks, the always great production from Gonzales (and Mocky and Jamie Lidell). Such a superb effort!
  11. SamuelS
    May 6, 2007
    10
    Incredible album. Lots of space, with many nooks and crannies of sound and mood. Choice cuts might be: Brandy Alexander, I feel it all and Limit To Your Love, although you could just as easily pick any other three. How's about three cheers, for Feist!
  12. JohnW
    May 7, 2007
    10
    This album blows me away more and more i listen to it. Leslie Feist is my dream girl! shes hot and talented!
  13. EvanK
    May 8, 2007
    10
    This is absolutely unbelievable. Even Pitchfork wrote a rave review, and I thought they weren't allowed to like music this melodic and emotionally sincere. Her voice is unbelievable, she is capable of taking it to otherworldly heights now more than ever before. Her lyrics are surprisingly solid, raising questions of life, love and loss in a direct yet uncheesy way. I see songs like This is absolutely unbelievable. Even Pitchfork wrote a rave review, and I thought they weren't allowed to like music this melodic and emotionally sincere. Her voice is unbelievable, she is capable of taking it to otherworldly heights now more than ever before. Her lyrics are surprisingly solid, raising questions of life, love and loss in a direct yet uncheesy way. I see songs like "Past in the Present," where her voice has the reverb on it that makes it very similar to "Shoreline." I have been listening to this album for four or five nights in a row. Nothing says night and sexual tension to me more than "The Reminder." The day that I get to make love with this album playing in the background, I can die a happy man. I met her at Lollapalooza for about two seconds. I told her she should cover the Sundays and that I was a writer and if I was ever famous I would reference her in one of my stories. She could not have been sweeter or more down to earth. I am in love. It's based on personality, looks and musical ingenuity. Feist, marry me. Expand
  14. Alexandra
    Sep 3, 2007
    9
    I absolutely love this record...I have been listening to it non-stop since I got it. Leslie Feist's voice is so beautiful and passionate, and her songs so truly personal and accessible that this album is an instant classic. I think Sean D. listened to something else because 'The Reminder' absolutely does NOT sound like a Norah Jones album..it is so much more ecclectic in I absolutely love this record...I have been listening to it non-stop since I got it. Leslie Feist's voice is so beautiful and passionate, and her songs so truly personal and accessible that this album is an instant classic. I think Sean D. listened to something else because 'The Reminder' absolutely does NOT sound like a Norah Jones album..it is so much more ecclectic in style. Definitely a must have. Expand
  15. JeffK.
    Jun 25, 2008
    9
    Awesome!
  16. DamienD
    Apr 17, 2007
    10
    The Reminder, Arcade Fire's Neon Bible and Of Montreal's Hissing Fauna are without a doubt the best albums I've listened to so far this year. Typical Feist elements here, which is a good thing. Very lovely, well crafted love songs from start to finish. This album is a bonafide gem. Feist you ROCK!!
  17. GillJ
    Apr 21, 2007
    10
    Feist has slowly becomed one of my all-time favorite artist and this album proves my point. Her music just speaks to me in a way very few artist do. Even though, I still prefer "Let It Die" but The Reminder is still an amazing follow-up. This album does everything right and that's why it's my favorite record of 07, by far.
  18. StipeG
    Apr 30, 2007
    10
    A master piece! In comparison with excellent 'Let It Die' this more compact, simple, mature, sincere, mellow and emotional album.... ahh that voice....
  19. DorianK
    Apr 30, 2007
    9
    I'm speechless.
  20. Thompson
    May 16, 2007
    10
    Some of the best music released so far this year. Fabulous, that's how I would pretty much sum up this entire album. It's so good it might end up being one of your favorite albums ever. It's that good.
  21. JamesW.
    May 1, 2007
    10
    I haven't stopped listening to this album since it leaked a couple of months ago. Simply amazing.
  22. AC
    May 27, 2007
    10
    One of my top 3 best albums of the year, by far. It's solid throghout, not one bad track. I was a huge fan of "Monarch" and "Let It Die", both were wonderful and beautiful but "The Reminder" is her greatest work to date! Listening to the album you really see how much she's progressed both as a singer and song-writer. Each track is amazing-- My Moon My Man, Past In Present, The One of my top 3 best albums of the year, by far. It's solid throghout, not one bad track. I was a huge fan of "Monarch" and "Let It Die", both were wonderful and beautiful but "The Reminder" is her greatest work to date! Listening to the album you really see how much she's progressed both as a singer and song-writer. Each track is amazing-- My Moon My Man, Past In Present, The Limit To Your Love, One Two Three Four, I Feel It All, Brandy Alexander (my favorite song on the album), basically the whole entire album. In the end, Feist ends making another great gem that's sure to be in alot of Critics Top 10 at the end of the year. Great, great album. Expand
  23. david
    May 27, 2007
    8
    Feist is well worth a listen - most tracks are super - a couple are off, but she rocks! Give her a chance
  24. ScottB
    May 5, 2007
    10
    Album of the year.
  25. RyanM
    May 9, 2007
    7
    ok, I'm chiming in here because the user rating is really too high. This album has 1 stunning song (1234), about 5 solid ones...and about 4 train wrecks (Limit to your love, sealion, the water, intuition). Look, "Let it Die" was so amazing because it caught you off-guard with its minimalist and heady production. The mood was groove oriented throughout. Here we have a tapestry of ok, I'm chiming in here because the user rating is really too high. This album has 1 stunning song (1234), about 5 solid ones...and about 4 train wrecks (Limit to your love, sealion, the water, intuition). Look, "Let it Die" was so amazing because it caught you off-guard with its minimalist and heady production. The mood was groove oriented throughout. Here we have a tapestry of songs, oft-kiltered, and winding through the album. A diversity of sounds is usually fine, but a lack of continuity sort of ruins this album. Too produced in some areas as well. All this being said however..."12 3 4" is one of the greatest pop songs these two ears has even heard. Expand
  26. Darnell
    May 9, 2007
    7
    1,2,3,4, 8,9, Twain! Is anybody else getting a Shania Twain thing with Feist. Feist is no-boubt talented, but I can't seem to shake this Twain thing with her. Good, slightly derivative, and that's about it.
  27. WestonT.
    Jun 10, 2007
    9
    The Reminder is my introduction to Feist, so I'm a little afraid to get her previous efforts for fear they won't be as mature and rich in palette as this. This work is nicely affecting and personal, her voice as warm as any old friend, but will be one of my "guilty pleasures" until I turn 40+ and I can explain my musical tastes to starting down to road to dufferdom.
  28. Giancarlo
    Jun 3, 2007
    10
    I agree with everyone, this is easily the best album of 2007. If you don't have this album, get it NOW!!!!!
  29. BBrown
    Jun 6, 2007
    9
    This album makes me so happy. I know it's been said a million times, but I love her voice! I've been playing My Moon My Man and Past in Present over and over again.
  30. LeonardoP.
    Jul 8, 2007
    10
    Beautiful
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 31 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 31
  2. Negative: 0 out of 31
  1. “The Reminder” is a modestly scaled but quietly profound pop gem: sometimes intimate, sometimes exuberant, filled with love songs and hints of mystery. [15 Apr 2007]
  2. Under The Radar
    70
    Although it stumbles here and there... it's also littered with the proof that few artists are as adept at crafting such smart, intimate pop and from such a bevy of sources. [#17, p.84]
  3. While nothing here is wholly original, it is a pleasure for as long as it plays.