The Reminder

User Score
8.9

Universal acclaim- based on 94 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 86 out of 94
  2. Negative: 4 out of 94

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 8, 2013
    3
    I don't know what happens to the relationship between Feist and I, but it seems that Feist sings just because they have to put food on the table the next day.
  2. Sep 1, 2013
    8
    The Reminder is by no means a game-changer, but it's an extremely enjoyable record nonetheless. Feist has a a very fragile voice and her lyrics are fantastic. Each track holds it's own, especially "So Sorry' and "the Limit To Your Love" which show some of her best vocals on the whole record.

    All In All, The Reminder is a reminder that Feist is a strong singer/songwriter with an absolute
    The Reminder is by no means a game-changer, but it's an extremely enjoyable record nonetheless. Feist has a a very fragile voice and her lyrics are fantastic. Each track holds it's own, especially "So Sorry' and "the Limit To Your Love" which show some of her best vocals on the whole record.

    All In All, The Reminder is a reminder that Feist is a strong singer/songwriter with an absolute gorgeous voice. B+
    Expand
  3. Feb 7, 2012
    9
    This is great, 1234 and Feel It All are two of the best songs of the last century and the rest grow on you after time. A few songs are plain and hard to relate to but its forgivable.
  4. Oct 8, 2011
    10
    Beatiful. Just that I can say when something like "The Reminder" is made. With GREAT lyrics, and indie beats, the voice of Leslie Feist just fitted so well in the best record of 2007, "1234", and in others like "My Moon, My Man", "So Sorry" and "The Water", and this remarkable CD will be forever remebered as the one that made indie music go back to the highlights of mainstream!
  5. JeffK.
    Jun 25, 2008
    9
    Awesome!
  6. TonyR
    Jan 13, 2008
    10
    its pop minus the bubble gum and the nasty flavor you get after chewing on it for hours this album from the first few seconds to end is so good and this alone gives light for future music in the mainstream which honestly is dead
  7. TedR.
    Dec 14, 2007
    9
    Leslie is a refreshing change from the anger filled, hate rap and "clip, clop". A sweet, seductive sound of innocence and real music. She her and her band have my attention and my heart!
  8. JeffK.
    Oct 20, 2007
    10
    Awesome!
  9. EthanH
    Oct 8, 2007
    10
    One of the best albums of all time - a surprisingly mature, flowing piece from an already established artist, the Reminder is set to become a classic. Absolutely gorgeous.
  10. TimE.
    Oct 3, 2007
    8
    Let me first state that I do not own this album simply because I can hear practically every song on this album being played on the trendiest commercials on TV. Sounds great though.
  11. RobbieC.
    Sep 23, 2007
    10
    One of the best albums since the turn of the century! Like her last record, this one starts out quietly, and most of the songs seem unadventurous. But unlike her last album, this is a totally current sound and a very original and honest record. Her voice is like honey, her melodies are heart-breaking and her energy is intense, confident and compelling. A+!
  12. FabioL
    Sep 6, 2007
    7
    Very good album. Though there were some songs I could definitely live without hearing once more (esp. "The Park").
  13. Alexandra
    Sep 3, 2007
    9
    I absolutely love this record...I have been listening to it non-stop since I got it. Leslie Feist's voice is so beautiful and passionate, and her songs so truly personal and accessible that this album is an instant classic. I think Sean D. listened to something else because 'The Reminder' absolutely does NOT sound like a Norah Jones album..it is so much more ecclectic in I absolutely love this record...I have been listening to it non-stop since I got it. Leslie Feist's voice is so beautiful and passionate, and her songs so truly personal and accessible that this album is an instant classic. I think Sean D. listened to something else because 'The Reminder' absolutely does NOT sound like a Norah Jones album..it is so much more ecclectic in style. Definitely a must have. Expand
  14. OlivierS
    Aug 7, 2007
    9
    Weston T.'s review says it all - first introduction to Feist is this gem of an album and I hesitate listening to Let It Die in the fear that it wont live up to the beauty of this album. Progression is expected in every artist's repertoire but the bar has been set very high with The Reminder.
  15. Drake
    Aug 1, 2007
    10
    Terrific album, Feist is one of the most brillaint artist working right now in music.
  16. ToddW.
    Aug 1, 2007
    8
    While not exactly on par with Stevie Nicks periodically leaving Fleetwood Mac back in the day to pad her bank account, Feist once again proves she doesn't need the underrated Broken Social Scene to showcase her talent. This girl can flat out sing, as if we need a reminder. But, forgive me for reminding you again, she won't attract flies as the Sewerstream bugs will continue to While not exactly on par with Stevie Nicks periodically leaving Fleetwood Mac back in the day to pad her bank account, Feist once again proves she doesn't need the underrated Broken Social Scene to showcase her talent. This girl can flat out sing, as if we need a reminder. But, forgive me for reminding you again, she won't attract flies as the Sewerstream bugs will continue to feast on the carrion that is Britney, Lindsey, Paris, Kelly, et al. The music alone is worth the price of the CD, but adding one of the best female vocalists of this time to the mix is a Feistian bargain. Expand
  17. JD
    Jul 31, 2007
    9
    To all of the media outlets who rated ths record poorly, I suggest hiring a critic with a soul.
  18. seand
    Jul 29, 2007
    0
    absolute crap, i cant believe this kind of garbage is embraced by music critics and critical fans alike. if you like this than you should go out and get some norah jones albums because they sound exactly the same...lavender diamond is 10 times better if you have to listen to a similar thing
  19. LeonardoP.
    Jul 8, 2007
    10
    Beautiful
  20. wisdomprof
    Jun 23, 2007
    10
    TOUCHING AND RUDE.....FEIST ARE QUEEN
  21. YepaJA
    Jun 14, 2007
    8
    This is a very good album but you have to admit that not all songs are great.
  22. WestonT.
    Jun 10, 2007
    9
    The Reminder is my introduction to Feist, so I'm a little afraid to get her previous efforts for fear they won't be as mature and rich in palette as this. This work is nicely affecting and personal, her voice as warm as any old friend, but will be one of my "guilty pleasures" until I turn 40+ and I can explain my musical tastes to starting down to road to dufferdom.
  23. BBrown
    Jun 6, 2007
    9
    This album makes me so happy. I know it's been said a million times, but I love her voice! I've been playing My Moon My Man and Past in Present over and over again.
  24. Giancarlo
    Jun 3, 2007
    10
    I agree with everyone, this is easily the best album of 2007. If you don't have this album, get it NOW!!!!!
  25. DylanS
    May 28, 2007
    8
    Beautiful, but overlong. The Reminder is a testament to how wonderful a song writer Leslie Feist is, but it also shows how sometimes she just flat you leaves you feeling like you're listening to some Lilith Fair has-been. Hardly a difficult listen The Reminder rewards constant replay and that is when you really learn to love it.
  26. AC
    May 27, 2007
    10
    One of my top 3 best albums of the year, by far. It's solid throghout, not one bad track. I was a huge fan of "Monarch" and "Let It Die", both were wonderful and beautiful but "The Reminder" is her greatest work to date! Listening to the album you really see how much she's progressed both as a singer and song-writer. Each track is amazing-- My Moon My Man, Past In Present, The One of my top 3 best albums of the year, by far. It's solid throghout, not one bad track. I was a huge fan of "Monarch" and "Let It Die", both were wonderful and beautiful but "The Reminder" is her greatest work to date! Listening to the album you really see how much she's progressed both as a singer and song-writer. Each track is amazing-- My Moon My Man, Past In Present, The Limit To Your Love, One Two Three Four, I Feel It All, Brandy Alexander (my favorite song on the album), basically the whole entire album. In the end, Feist ends making another great gem that's sure to be in alot of Critics Top 10 at the end of the year. Great, great album. Expand
  27. david
    May 27, 2007
    8
    Feist is well worth a listen - most tracks are super - a couple are off, but she rocks! Give her a chance
  28. AnthonyP
    May 23, 2007
    6
    Surprised to read such passionate reviews, as I find it kind of forgettable. Maybe it's a sleeper (but I guess I'll never know). To me the production's annoying - makes her sound tinny. I miss the groovy stuff.
  29. Smith
    May 23, 2007
    10
    The most beautiful album of the year. This is Feist's crowning achievement.
  30. MarvinO
    May 20, 2007
    10
    Best album of the year so far. The Reminder just passed Of Montreal's Hissing Fauna, Are You The Destroyer? to become my favorite album that I've heard this year. I consider them both impressive enough that they're actually tied. But yeah, great stuff here. A clear progression from Let It Die, and a joy to listen to. In many ways Feist is the successor to Bjork, or at the Best album of the year so far. The Reminder just passed Of Montreal's Hissing Fauna, Are You The Destroyer? to become my favorite album that I've heard this year. I consider them both impressive enough that they're actually tied. But yeah, great stuff here. A clear progression from Let It Die, and a joy to listen to. In many ways Feist is the successor to Bjork, or at the very least a distant relation. This woman will go places. Highlights: Sea Lion Woman, Honey Honey, 1 2 3 4, The Water, My Moon, My Man, and many more. So Sorry serves as the perfect bridge between what we heard and learned in Let It Die, and where this Feist woman is taking us today. I can't wait to discover what tomorrow has in store for us. But in the meantime, The Reminder is right next to my heard for obsessive-compulsive enjoyment and a sense of satisfaction. And that's what the good things in life do for you, isn't it? Expand
  31. RudyardF
    May 18, 2007
    6
    Far from being the best album of the year, but a solid album after softening some of my initial reactions with repeat listens. If you're a fan of Let It Die, be warned: there's a reason every critic used the word "intimate" to describe this outing. It's hushed and quiet save for the songs she's already set to video. For the most part the melodies save the quieter works Far from being the best album of the year, but a solid album after softening some of my initial reactions with repeat listens. If you're a fan of Let It Die, be warned: there's a reason every critic used the word "intimate" to describe this outing. It's hushed and quiet save for the songs she's already set to video. For the most part the melodies save the quieter works (especially in Limit To Your Love and How My Heart Behaves--let the latter one sink in and you'll see why she closes the set with this gem), but on songs like The Park, The Water, and Intuition, she takes things down by more than just a notch--she almost drives you away by these sleepy, droopy-lidded songs that really should've been b-sides. It's bad enough that some of her vocals were recorded in cheap-equipment-indie fashion, but the last 4 minutes of The River reminded me of obnoxious female singers who can't craft melody--which Feist isn't, adding more confusion to the mix. I'm not trying to bash this album--it definitely has its merits--but it's not a no-brainer classic. Expand
  32. Thompson
    May 16, 2007
    10
    Some of the best music released so far this year. Fabulous, that's how I would pretty much sum up this entire album. It's so good it might end up being one of your favorite albums ever. It's that good.
  33. Jose
    May 12, 2007
    10
    Amazing from start to finish! Probably the best album of 07.
  34. RyanM
    May 9, 2007
    7
    ok, I'm chiming in here because the user rating is really too high. This album has 1 stunning song (1234), about 5 solid ones...and about 4 train wrecks (Limit to your love, sealion, the water, intuition). Look, "Let it Die" was so amazing because it caught you off-guard with its minimalist and heady production. The mood was groove oriented throughout. Here we have a tapestry of ok, I'm chiming in here because the user rating is really too high. This album has 1 stunning song (1234), about 5 solid ones...and about 4 train wrecks (Limit to your love, sealion, the water, intuition). Look, "Let it Die" was so amazing because it caught you off-guard with its minimalist and heady production. The mood was groove oriented throughout. Here we have a tapestry of songs, oft-kiltered, and winding through the album. A diversity of sounds is usually fine, but a lack of continuity sort of ruins this album. Too produced in some areas as well. All this being said however..."12 3 4" is one of the greatest pop songs these two ears has even heard. Expand
  35. MattD.
    May 9, 2007
    8
    She's not one of my favorite artists, but she's certainly better than Norah Jones has been of late. Think a cult-artist's take on jazz and pop balladry.
  36. Darnell
    May 9, 2007
    7
    1,2,3,4, 8,9, Twain! Is anybody else getting a Shania Twain thing with Feist. Feist is no-boubt talented, but I can't seem to shake this Twain thing with her. Good, slightly derivative, and that's about it.
  37. PhilG
    May 8, 2007
    10
    This album is a complete album. Like they used to make in the early 70's. The style of each song varies, spanning all types of music genres. I hear influences from the Burt Bacharat to The Pretenders to Goldfrapp, and everywhere in between. But there are two constants throughout the album: The impressive vocals of Leslie Feist and the pure musical talent of Gonzalez. If you own and This album is a complete album. Like they used to make in the early 70's. The style of each song varies, spanning all types of music genres. I hear influences from the Burt Bacharat to The Pretenders to Goldfrapp, and everywhere in between. But there are two constants throughout the album: The impressive vocals of Leslie Feist and the pure musical talent of Gonzalez. If you own and love Feist's first album, Let It Die, buy Reminder immediately. If you own and love Reminder, buy Let It Die Immediately. There is no question that Lesie Feist is a diamond in this rough music industry. And diamonds last forever. Expand
  38. EvanK
    May 8, 2007
    10
    This is absolutely unbelievable. Even Pitchfork wrote a rave review, and I thought they weren't allowed to like music this melodic and emotionally sincere. Her voice is unbelievable, she is capable of taking it to otherworldly heights now more than ever before. Her lyrics are surprisingly solid, raising questions of life, love and loss in a direct yet uncheesy way. I see songs like This is absolutely unbelievable. Even Pitchfork wrote a rave review, and I thought they weren't allowed to like music this melodic and emotionally sincere. Her voice is unbelievable, she is capable of taking it to otherworldly heights now more than ever before. Her lyrics are surprisingly solid, raising questions of life, love and loss in a direct yet uncheesy way. I see songs like "Past in the Present," where her voice has the reverb on it that makes it very similar to "Shoreline." I have been listening to this album for four or five nights in a row. Nothing says night and sexual tension to me more than "The Reminder." The day that I get to make love with this album playing in the background, I can die a happy man. I met her at Lollapalooza for about two seconds. I told her she should cover the Sundays and that I was a writer and if I was ever famous I would reference her in one of my stories. She could not have been sweeter or more down to earth. I am in love. It's based on personality, looks and musical ingenuity. Feist, marry me. Expand
  39. JohnW
    May 7, 2007
    10
    This album blows me away more and more i listen to it. Leslie Feist is my dream girl! shes hot and talented!
  40. SamuelS
    May 6, 2007
    10
    Incredible album. Lots of space, with many nooks and crannies of sound and mood. Choice cuts might be: Brandy Alexander, I feel it all and Limit To Your Love, although you could just as easily pick any other three. How's about three cheers, for Feist!
  41. ScottB
    May 5, 2007
    10
    Album of the year.
  42. johnnyX
    May 4, 2007
    10
    good album!
  43. JohnathanR.
    May 4, 2007
    10
    The album as a whole is ingeniously put together: the order of the tracks, the always great production from Gonzales (and Mocky and Jamie Lidell). Such a superb effort!
  44. RonnieM
    May 4, 2007
    10
    Lovely, beautiful, melodic and unique. Her music just lifts my mood.
  45. EdgarH
    May 4, 2007
    10
    Best album of 07.
  46. HenryJ-R
    May 2, 2007
    10
    This is really incredible. She wrote almost all of these songs and they sound even more classic than the covers on her last album "1234" is one of those perfect songs that makes you surprised that it wasn't written before.
  47. StevenC
    May 1, 2007
    10
    I was not, to be perfectly honest, expecting spectacular things from this record. Feist's two prior albums had been pleasant, eminently enjoyable, but ultimately pretty lightweight fare. Which is not to say that The Reminder aspires to break any molds. Rather, Feist and her collaborators have simply made an album that plays to her best assets: taut, emotionally-resonant songwriting I was not, to be perfectly honest, expecting spectacular things from this record. Feist's two prior albums had been pleasant, eminently enjoyable, but ultimately pretty lightweight fare. Which is not to say that The Reminder aspires to break any molds. Rather, Feist and her collaborators have simply made an album that plays to her best assets: taut, emotionally-resonant songwriting and a voice to die for, both near-flawlessly accented by thoughtfully- and expertly-placed arrangements. Feist maintains her established game, but she is clearly on top of it, just the same. The exuberant crescendo of "1 2 3 4" and the sultry (but precise) "Brandy Alexander" constitute the best six minutes and forty-two seconds of pop music that I can recall hearing in... well, practically ever. Expand
  48. Kirby
    May 1, 2007
    10
    Beautiful and amazing! Probably the best album of 07.
  49. JamesW.
    May 1, 2007
    10
    I haven't stopped listening to this album since it leaked a couple of months ago. Simply amazing.
  50. DarwinG
    Apr 30, 2007
    9
    One of the best albums of the year so far. A great combination of indie, pop, and folk.
  51. StipeG
    Apr 30, 2007
    10
    A master piece! In comparison with excellent 'Let It Die' this more compact, simple, mature, sincere, mellow and emotional album.... ahh that voice....
  52. DorianK
    Apr 30, 2007
    9
    I'm speechless.
  53. Shay
    Apr 27, 2007
    10
    Beautiful album. That's about all I can say.
  54. emilyw
    Apr 27, 2007
    9
    Sorry, why are we still putting Austin Chronicle reviews on Metacritic? I thought the people who started this Web site would have realized long ago that they consistenly give shitty reviews. And really, it's not just that they constantly get it totally wrong (although that is part of it), it's more that if you read the review you can tell that the reviewer has no idea what they Sorry, why are we still putting Austin Chronicle reviews on Metacritic? I thought the people who started this Web site would have realized long ago that they consistenly give shitty reviews. And really, it's not just that they constantly get it totally wrong (although that is part of it), it's more that if you read the review you can tell that the reviewer has no idea what they are talking about. They literally just throw around names of artists and influences like they actually know what they are talking about. Credible people like the NY Times and Playlouder must be trusted here because this is the album of the year so far. Expand
  55. JeremyF
    Apr 25, 2007
    9
    my friend sent me half of this cd, to tease me. and out of the songs i heard, my favorites were "So Sorry," "My Moon My Man," and "Sea Lion Woman." From what I heard, this is a mostly relaxed, loungey cd, just like her wondrous debut, accept more acoustic. Feist has a beautiful voice, that is a joy to listen to even if you don't like the music, or the lyrics. Her voice is my friend sent me half of this cd, to tease me. and out of the songs i heard, my favorites were "So Sorry," "My Moon My Man," and "Sea Lion Woman." From what I heard, this is a mostly relaxed, loungey cd, just like her wondrous debut, accept more acoustic. Feist has a beautiful voice, that is a joy to listen to even if you don't like the music, or the lyrics. Her voice is mesmerizing. Feist is one of the most overlooked artists, and is talented enough to be more in the light. She's fantastic. Expand
  56. GillJ
    Apr 21, 2007
    10
    Feist has slowly becomed one of my all-time favorite artist and this album proves my point. Her music just speaks to me in a way very few artist do. Even though, I still prefer "Let It Die" but The Reminder is still an amazing follow-up. This album does everything right and that's why it's my favorite record of 07, by far.
  57. FrankD
    Apr 20, 2007
    10
    This another solid effort by my girl Feist. Just amazing! That's about all I can say. I'm speechless.
  58. matta
    Apr 18, 2007
    9
    Damien D., we'd get along. My top albums so far this also go Feist, Arcade Fire, Of Montreal (with Patrick Wolf and Andrew Bird rounding out the top 5). This album is just gorgeous. There are so many highlights, but So Sorry, I Feel It All, Past in Present, and 1234 (which is the single of the year so far) deserve special mention. This album should make Feist at least as big as indie Damien D., we'd get along. My top albums so far this also go Feist, Arcade Fire, Of Montreal (with Patrick Wolf and Andrew Bird rounding out the top 5). This album is just gorgeous. There are so many highlights, but So Sorry, I Feel It All, Past in Present, and 1234 (which is the single of the year so far) deserve special mention. This album should make Feist at least as big as indie chicks like Cat Power, Neko Case and Jenny Lewis, and in a just world, bigger than any female artist out there right now. Expand
  59. [Anonymous]
    Apr 17, 2007
    10
    A completely natural progression from Let It Die, yet it's almost nothing like the French-pop feel that Let It Die had. It feels fuller, looser, and even her voice sounds better, which doesn't quite seem possible considering the great quality of her previous album. Best of the year in my book.
  60. MikeJ
    Apr 17, 2007
    10
    WOW!! What an album. Some of the most beautiful music I've had the pleasure of listening to in the last 3 years. Much better than "Let It Die", which is also great. I'm in love with Feist! This girl needs to blow up big time! I Highly recommend.
  61. DamienD
    Apr 17, 2007
    10
    The Reminder, Arcade Fire's Neon Bible and Of Montreal's Hissing Fauna are without a doubt the best albums I've listened to so far this year. Typical Feist elements here, which is a good thing. Very lovely, well crafted love songs from start to finish. This album is a bonafide gem. Feist you ROCK!!
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 31 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 31
  2. Negative: 0 out of 31
  1. “The Reminder” is a modestly scaled but quietly profound pop gem: sometimes intimate, sometimes exuberant, filled with love songs and hints of mystery. [15 Apr 2007]
  2. Under The Radar
    70
    Although it stumbles here and there... it's also littered with the proof that few artists are as adept at crafting such smart, intimate pop and from such a bevy of sources. [#17, p.84]
  3. While nothing here is wholly original, it is a pleasure for as long as it plays.