User Score
9.1

Universal acclaim- based on 50 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 48 out of 50
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 50
  3. Negative: 2 out of 50

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. ClaireF
    Mar 31, 2009
    10
    One of the best albums I have bought in years...immense!
  2. EddieD
    Nov 20, 2008
    9
    Q-Tip's back!! Its been a long time coming but the wait was well worth it for this masterpiece! This is more than a dope hip hop album, this is great music that transcends genre's.
  3. KyleZ
    Nov 14, 2008
    10
    Get this man a Grammy. Now.
  4. JohanK
    Dec 22, 2008
    10
    Big up and thanks to Q-Tip! This is definetly a top 3 album of the year.
  5. steveC
    Jan 16, 2009
    9
    After the massive disappointment of Amplified nearly 10 years ago ('Breathe & Stop' only sounded good on the much-played Michael Jackson Don't stop till you get enough mash-up bootleg) - this is so worth the wait. A layered, yet accessible piece which breathes life into hip-hop. Stand out tracks: Move, You (a masterpiece), Johnny is Dead, Gettin up, Life is Better. You have After the massive disappointment of Amplified nearly 10 years ago ('Breathe & Stop' only sounded good on the much-played Michael Jackson Don't stop till you get enough mash-up bootleg) - this is so worth the wait. A layered, yet accessible piece which breathes life into hip-hop. Stand out tracks: Move, You (a masterpiece), Johnny is Dead, Gettin up, Life is Better. You have to buy this. Expand
  6. TomaD
    Jul 9, 2009
    9
    One of the best Hip-Hop albums I've heard in ages! Easily one of the best of the 2000's decade. Keep it up Q-Man!
  7. OwenP
    Nov 16, 2008
    3
    Not really that interesting to me. I found it sort of dull and lacking any character. Then again, I'm a huge Wu-Tang fan, so this isn't really 'groundbreaking' in my view.
  8. LouisP.
    Nov 10, 2008
    9
    So good. It's like the a supercharged of the unreleased but brilliant "Kamal the Abstract".
  9. MatthewM
    Nov 5, 2008
    10
    After many poor comeback albums in the last few years, finally a hip hop album that lives up to it's anticipation. This may be the best hip hop album since "Speakerboxx/The Love Below".
  10. sergios
    Nov 5, 2008
    7
    Overall, the new Q Tip is solid. It is a breath of fresh air in the dense smog of lyrical nonsense known as contemporary hip hop. My only challenge is the fact that it is not too much of a musical stretch; if you're expecting jazz and R&B heavy beats infused with positive messages, that's what you'll get.
  11. FrankS
    Nov 8, 2008
    10
    New Q! It's probably more like a 9.3333333 but I'll bump it up considering... Highly recommended to any fans of his work on Tribe albums.
  12. BrydenS
    Jan 26, 2009
    9
    One of the forefathers of conscious rap reemerges after a lengthy absence and two shelved albums to release his best album since Tribe's prime and easily one of the finest hip-hop releases of 2008. He expands his vocal palette singing more and rapping less as well as collaborating with guests from the usual suspects the late great DIlla to those unexpected, Norah Jones. Despite the One of the forefathers of conscious rap reemerges after a lengthy absence and two shelved albums to release his best album since Tribe's prime and easily one of the finest hip-hop releases of 2008. He expands his vocal palette singing more and rapping less as well as collaborating with guests from the usual suspects the late great DIlla to those unexpected, Norah Jones. Despite the stylistic variations Q-Tip's material remains consistently high quality throughout. Hopefully the followup won't take nearly a decade to surface. Expand
  13. EricM
    Feb 27, 2009
    10
    This album is magnificent, a great experience
  14. RaymondP
    Nov 10, 2008
    10
    One of the most REFRESHING hip hop albums in years.
  15. rays
    Nov 23, 2008
    9
    Great album! From beginning to end I was not disappointed by any of the tracks, smooth beats, with amazing vocals. A few of the tracks even take it back in time reminding me of the tribe days. This is definitely an album that I will be listening to for years to come!
  16. MarcS
    Nov 6, 2008
    9
    I don't mean to come off as one of those people who thinks the current state of hip-hop is hopeless, because its not. As long as artists like Q-Tip continue to create (and sell), Hip-Hop will eventually shed the fluff and excess. This is an excellent album, period. Support this or tell your kids how good Hip-Hop was once upon a time.
  17. DeadrickD
    Dec 12, 2008
    10
    I've played the album like 3 times back to back. It has soulful vibe that reminds me of some of the old Tribe Called Quest tracks. Its a great album. Welcome back, Q-Tip! The game needs you man!
Metascore
82

Universal acclaim - based on 24 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 24
  2. Negative: 0 out of 24
  1. His long-awaited return on The Renaissance is no disappointment, offering more of the same understated, aqueous grooves and fluid rapping that the Abstract Poetic has built his peerless career on.
  2. His music now seems as fresh and necessary an alternative to rap's mainstream as it did when Tribe first arrived. Welcome back, old friend.
  3. 80
    Up-tempo and uplifting, this largely self-produced record blurs distinctions between accessibility and avant-gardism.