User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 366 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 34 out of 366

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. BobBob
    Sep 15, 2009
    10
    Excellent album. On par with Origin of Symmetry.
  2. danil
    Sep 15, 2009
    10
    Their best work ever!! That's how a band is supposed to progress throuh their career. Ambition is the base of all progress, and I'm glad that they have the balls to prove they're ambitious and can get away with it. Matt Bellamy is a music genius.
  3. TobyK
    Sep 27, 2009
    10
    Astoundingly creative, intelligent, subtle and in-your-face where needed. taking inspiration from the early muse albums such as Origin of Symmetry, Queen and Bach, this albums created for me a unique and extremely entertaining listening experience.
  4. AlexisC.
    Sep 15, 2009
    9
    Great operistic progressive rock. No one compares to them, and having an identity right now it a feat in itself. Humbling the tunes now and then all day.
  5. HajoK.
    Sep 15, 2009
    9
    Awesome album, different yet satisfying, with MK ultra, unnatural selection and symphony part I&II as favorites.
  6. RitaM.
    Sep 15, 2009
    10
    They're breaking their own mold in an inescapably delicious way - Its by no means a perfect album, but its nevertheless as exciting as Muse has always been :D
  7. MatthewS.
    Sep 15, 2009
    9
    While a slight fall from grace (from their absolutely amazing 'Absolution' and 'Black Holes and Revelations'), this album is still better than 95% of what modern rock has to offer.
  8. WasifH.
    Sep 16, 2009
    9
    I really think Muse has made one of it's best albums yet.
  9. MattiF
    Sep 16, 2009
    9
    An interesting album with plenty of musical references to both classical music and contemporary pop. The album does suffer from some weak moments, especially Guiding Light seemed to lack anything to make it stand out among the tracks and coupled with I Belong to You could leave fans wishing for a heavier sound disappointed. The pre-hyped 13 minute symphony Exogenesis that finishes of the An interesting album with plenty of musical references to both classical music and contemporary pop. The album does suffer from some weak moments, especially Guiding Light seemed to lack anything to make it stand out among the tracks and coupled with I Belong to You could leave fans wishing for a heavier sound disappointed. The pre-hyped 13 minute symphony Exogenesis that finishes of the album is unfortunately not one of it's strongest moments either but it is quite beautiful in parts and doesn't feel forced or there for just for the sake of it but instead feels very much part of the album. While the over the top theatrics might not suite everyone fans of Muse wanting more prog than rock should not be let down by this album. Expand
  10. CharlieM.
    Sep 16, 2009
    10
    This album has all the trade-mark variety of Muse's past albums, demonstrating their ability to experiment and succeed in a number of genres whilst maintaining their distinctive sound. Despite this variety in sound, the album is cohesive and flowing. In short, Muse have excelled once more in (self)-producing a masterpiece which builds on and goes beyond their past work.
  11. jeffs.
    Sep 16, 2009
    10
    A full on experience for almost all of the senses.
  12. DerekR.
    Sep 17, 2009
    9
    The Resistance is different enough to catch fans off-guard at first, but it's impossible for any true Muse fan not to fall in love with a majority of the compositions. There are dull parts few and far between. Still, no other band takes me such a roller coaster of funky electronic riffs, over-the-top vocals, and magnificent symphony. It's a breath-taking trip that unfortunately The Resistance is different enough to catch fans off-guard at first, but it's impossible for any true Muse fan not to fall in love with a majority of the compositions. There are dull parts few and far between. Still, no other band takes me such a roller coaster of funky electronic riffs, over-the-top vocals, and magnificent symphony. It's a breath-taking trip that unfortunately not everyone will appreciate. Expand
  13. conordxd
    Sep 18, 2009
    9
    A far better effort then black holes and revelations, but not quite up to absolution level. The exogenesis symphony is remarkable and a few catchy singles make it more enjoyable then it's predesccor. Only complaint has to be undisclosed desires, but when trying something new you get a ton of good stuff, and a fair share of not-so-good stuff. Lets hope their next album is their A far better effort then black holes and revelations, but not quite up to absolution level. The exogenesis symphony is remarkable and a few catchy singles make it more enjoyable then it's predesccor. Only complaint has to be undisclosed desires, but when trying something new you get a ton of good stuff, and a fair share of not-so-good stuff. Lets hope their next album is their best-though this would rate as number 2 for me. Expand
  14. MikeC
    Sep 18, 2009
    10
    Some of the best music they've done to date.
  15. JesseS
    Sep 18, 2009
    10
    Genius, genius, genius.
  16. WimL
    Sep 19, 2009
    9
    Very good again, can imagine that they will be even more impressive in a live performance.
  17. JordanA
    Sep 19, 2009
    10
    Best album by Muse so far. Dare i say it best rock album of 2009!!!
  18. JoshH
    Sep 20, 2009
    9
    A stunning album from Muse. Its one of those rare albums where you don't dislike any of the songs on the CD. Amazing lyrics are used, and the whole album is just full of great tunes, that give you that 'shiver down your spin' feel everytime you listen. My candidate for the album of the year.
  19. Mljac
    Sep 21, 2009
    10
    Fabulous fusion of music; from debussy to punk all-in-one
  20. MaxJ
    Sep 23, 2009
    10
    Spectacularly silly, yet in making it so Muse have created what I personally think is one of the best albums of the year.
  21. AbeH.
    Sep 25, 2009
    9
    A near perfect album. For myself it does everything so wonderfully that the disappointing moments pass by without hardly being noticed.
  22. MrM
    Sep 15, 2009
    10
    The exogenesis symphony is the most ambitious thing Bellamy has ever attempted and it turned out very well. Clearly a solid collection of songs from the get go. Time will only tell how they stack up to Muse's back catalogue.
  23. TonyT
    Sep 15, 2009
    9
    While there are some weakpoints on the album, mainly guiding light, this album is very solid with favorites being resistance, I belong to you, and exogenesis. It is a small movement away from the guitar with more focus on vocals (which are outstanding). Exogenesis is powerful.
  24. MikeD
    Sep 15, 2009
    10
    I love this album. Even though it may not be quite as good as Muse's magnum opus "Origin of Symmetry," it is definitely up there if not for Exogenesis alone.
  25. SteveT
    Sep 15, 2009
    10
    A really really solid album. Focused work, good all the way through, and exogenesis is really fantastic.
  26. FletchO
    Sep 15, 2009
    10
    Album of the year by far! Muse take everything great about them (guitars, piano, harmony vocals,) and up it all by a factor of a million, whilst dumping all their muse-isms that made some of their tracks sound samey. This is the album where Muse find their voice. and boy is it a voice!
  27. GeriW
    Sep 15, 2009
    10
    It's epic. Especially the Exogenesis Symphony.
  28. SeanN
    Sep 15, 2009
    10
    A masterpiece.
  29. NickB
    Sep 15, 2009
    10
    Arguably the best alternative album of the past 5 years, maybe longer.
  30. MattC.
    Sep 15, 2009
    10
    Muse's fifth studio album is without doubt thier most ambitious one yet, as it borrows from themes and styles ranging from early romantic symphonies, to Queen, and even R&B. All the while, Muse maintains thier distinctive flavor in order to create nothing short of a masterpiece. Praiseworthy songs include: Mk Ultra, Resistance,Unnatural Selection, and Exogenesis.
  31. DanH
    Sep 15, 2009
    9
    They seem to be having fun with the R&B/Pop songs. The rest is brilliant.
  32. TristanB
    Sep 15, 2009
    10
    Simply amazing. Muse shows that they can grow and retain their old form at the same time. The Symphony and Unnatural Selection are the standouts from the album.
  33. HardiantoN
    Sep 15, 2009
    9
    Muse delivered a 'classical groove' with this album, a combination of romanticize Chopin and boldly say Queen. The 12min symphony space rock is a story telling dialogue conveyed in their music.
  34. Alasdair
    Sep 15, 2009
    10
    Some of Muse's best work to date. Contains a plethora of great tracks, and the epic three part symphony. My favourites are Exogenesis, Unnatural Selection, MK Ultra and Resistance. Overall, a fantastic album.
  35. josha.
    Sep 16, 2009
    10
    With this new masterpiece, Muse continue to show why they are the best band in the world today.
  36. bv
    Sep 16, 2009
    10
    Every song on this album offers up a different style of Muse - all leading up to the epic symphonic finale. While The Resistance is not as focused as previous efforts like Origin of Symmetry or Absolution, this is an album that will reach out to fans of a wide array of musical genres. Highly recommended.
  37. ThibaultT.
    Sep 16, 2009
    10
    The song not only pushes the frontiers Muse has set for itself, it's also set a new standard for progressive rock as a music genre.
  38. Chris
    Sep 16, 2009
    10
    It is rare that I am captured from beginning to end by an album, but this one definitely does just that. A rock symphony that will be enjoyed by anyone who appreciates quality music.
  39. nickp.
    Sep 17, 2009
    10
    Their best album yet. It seems too short, though.
  40. BonyByron
    Oct 30, 2009
    9
    Apart from some facepalm-worthy lyrics here and there, this album is a masterpiece. Be it the stadium shaking "Resistance" and "Uprising", the operatic "United States of eurasia", the AMAZING symphony Muse had the balls to include and the GENIUS to compose. Gives me shivers and I can't stop listenning to this album. Bravo Muse, you're a bunch of geniuses.
  41. BenL
    Sep 15, 2009
    10
    Ambitious, beautiful, epic! Pure Muse.
  42. LuisC.
    Sep 15, 2009
    10
    A true odyssey in all kinds of music...with a "grande finale" (Exogenisis). Truly epic.
  43. BlackS
    Oct 9, 2009
    10
    Wonderfully moving and thought provoking. The whole album is beautiful. Production is how it should be, perfect, IMHO. Every instrument and every vocal contribution is just right for me. The album takes you on a musical journey and lifts your soul in the way that only certain bands can, not many even come close. Another Muse classic. Ignore what others say and just listen, you owe it to Wonderfully moving and thought provoking. The whole album is beautiful. Production is how it should be, perfect, IMHO. Every instrument and every vocal contribution is just right for me. The album takes you on a musical journey and lifts your soul in the way that only certain bands can, not many even come close. Another Muse classic. Ignore what others say and just listen, you owe it to yourself and your soul. Expand
  44. MikeS.
    Sep 15, 2009
    10
    One of the best albums of the year. THE RESISTENCE is larger than life, and contains quite a few moments of sheer brilliance. If any other band made this record (say...RADIOHEAD), it would be hailed as masterpiece. Since it's MUSE, it just won't get the credit it deserves. Well, like usual forget the critics, and brace yourself for a truly unique experience!
  45. SamE
    Sep 15, 2009
    10
    grandiose, overblown, spectacular, epic! While this album may not please some Muse fans on the "heavy rock" side, it is overall a beautiful piece of art and just like their previous work, it keeps getting better with repeat listens. And you just know the songs will sound superb live! Also, songs such as "Unnatural Selection" and 'MK Ultra" will still keep even the most disappointed grandiose, overblown, spectacular, epic! While this album may not please some Muse fans on the "heavy rock" side, it is overall a beautiful piece of art and just like their previous work, it keeps getting better with repeat listens. And you just know the songs will sound superb live! Also, songs such as "Unnatural Selection" and 'MK Ultra" will still keep even the most disappointed fans around for live performances and future work. Expand
  46. EricS
    Sep 15, 2009
    10
    A beautiful album that I will be listening to for the rest of my life. I didn't get it at first, but I understand now. It takes a few listens. I didn't really like BHaR when I first listened to it, but I love it now. The attitude of this album actually reminds me a lot of,Showbiz, Muse's first album.
  47. hannahb
    Oct 2, 2009
    10
    Fantastic. Can't stop listening.
  48. YourMom
    Sep 23, 2009
    9
    Excellent album. I would rate it along with their best work. Exogenesis is truly great. Enjoy.
  49. GeorgeR.
    Sep 15, 2009
    9
    A fantastic album, certainly not the commercial album that Black Holes was, as such if you're only a fan of that album then you will not have the same appreciation for The Resistance. There's a few songs with single potential on the album but it was more of the band playing what they wanted to I feel, and I love it.
  50. EthanB
    Sep 22, 2009
    9
    One of their better works, right alongside with Absolution and Origin of Symmetry.
  51. DanielS
    Sep 22, 2009
    9
    i think this album is simply incredible, i really can't stop listening to it, Muse is one of the best bands ever, no doubt! I don't understand why people keep comparing previous albums with the new one, i mean, if it's a new album, you should be analysing it's songs and sounds, not compare it to other albums or bands .. Muse are amazing and they should get much more i think this album is simply incredible, i really can't stop listening to it, Muse is one of the best bands ever, no doubt! I don't understand why people keep comparing previous albums with the new one, i mean, if it's a new album, you should be analysing it's songs and sounds, not compare it to other albums or bands .. Muse are amazing and they should get much more credit, this album is beautiful, the simphony is a master-piece, and people should stop complaining and just listen to good music .. Fantastic album, Muse ROCK ! Expand
  52. RtArL
    Sep 20, 2009
    9
    A great piece of music . Mix of rock, symphony and electrica. The end results is epic. Like The Times wrote" Muse have made an album of genius, brilliance and beauty".
  53. PasciiH.
    Jan 19, 2010
    10
    Ok, i have to admit, i never heard of this band before. but then i heard uprising on MTV and it sounded interesting. i never buy any Cd's but i thought i will give this band a try, and i don't regret it. This album is amazing, not only the track uprising but all the other songs like united states of eurasia:) they are amazing.
  54. Mark
    Oct 10, 2009
    10
    Have listened to The Resistance for over a month now and am loving it more all the time. For me, not only Muse's best album but I'm seriously starting to question whether this is my favourite album by anyone, ever. It has everything I want and there's not one song that I don't adore. Challenging, ambitious, focused and exciting. Also, Exogenesis made me cry which Have listened to The Resistance for over a month now and am loving it more all the time. For me, not only Muse's best album but I'm seriously starting to question whether this is my favourite album by anyone, ever. It has everything I want and there's not one song that I don't adore. Challenging, ambitious, focused and exciting. Also, Exogenesis made me cry which happens NEVER. Expand
  55. DylanD.
    Nov 3, 2009
    10
    Excellent album from start to finish, Muse comes through again.
  56. ML
    Dec 11, 2009
    10
    What a great record! I can't believe this band flew under my radar for so long. Discovering and loving their back catalog now. What a great discovery. Great band, great record.
  57. GustavoC
    Sep 15, 2009
    10
    I think is not the best muse's album. Ok. But 40 points?? C'mon!!
  58. AlexandreP
    Sep 15, 2009
    9
    When I see some of the ratings of the album of today like Wu-tang Clan having a 9/10 or a Nelly Furtado's 10/10..... and I see people talking about muse saying: what are they trying to do with their album ?? Why are they? Who are They? ....I'm kind of worried about the future of the music....About how would it look like. First, let me know that most of the albums of today are When I see some of the ratings of the album of today like Wu-tang Clan having a 9/10 or a Nelly Furtado's 10/10..... and I see people talking about muse saying: what are they trying to do with their album ?? Why are they? Who are They? ....I'm kind of worried about the future of the music....About how would it look like. First, let me know that most of the albums of today are singing using the famous Auto-tune. NOt only rappers! lots of singers. But when I say a little band from Teighnmouth, growing up by using a bit of pop influence to do their song, and trying to be known by some media, and singing for real on stage and using real instruments.... and now decided by themselves: Ok, now it's time to shake their heads and show what we can! ....and they put out Resistance. Why do people don't like this album? Because they thought Muse would be a little more poppier, try to do songs that would be able to be heard on a radio....sadly Muse isn't completely this. I agree yes that Undisclosed Desires is a radio-friendly songs, but that doesn't change at all the rest of the album! Can you expect from some other bands in the world a complete symphony like Exogenesis? Would you expect to have an album that tries to push the boundaries and limts of what you call a ''rock music"? Muse are not made to play rock, Muse are made to play music, in all sense, and that's what defines Muse. Rather than talking about how cool they are, how many girls they got in their party, how many drugs they can sell, how many hearts they have break or lost, Muse stand up and tries to search far more than their little noses. On the other hand, there is some songs or parts of songs that I have difficulty with, but in overall this album is a classic. Queen was hated when they alive, now they are praised. I guess it will be the same......sadly. Expand
  59. JhoraZ.
    Nov 1, 2009
    10
    Its magical music. Can't stop listening. United States of Eurasia and Exogenesys Symphony RULEZZZZ.
  60. JesseS.
    Nov 26, 2009
    10
    Remarkable. Resistance is...futile. It's iIn the Lap of the Gods! Oh; am I alluding to Queen? How dare they pay homage to Queen, you say? Blast you! Amazing that they're the only band on earth capable of sounding remotely like Queen, you say? Bless you! But they're not of THIS earth.
  61. MattK
    Nov 26, 2009
    10
    The new album my Muse is an instant classic in my book. I find myself wondering if The Resistance is my favorite album of all time, which is not an easy task. I suggest all to listen to it and keep an open mind. The Exogenesis Symphony at the end of the album is one of the best pieces of music I have ever heard as well.
  62. [Anonymous]
    Dec 31, 2009
    10
    I think that most of the reason people who rate this album low do so is because they expected something different. To be fair, I wouldn't say that The Resistance is a rock album, although Muse is a rock band. While songs like Uprising, MK Ultra, and Unnatural Selection are rock songs, the other songs are blends of genres with rock, sometimes with only a hint of rock. That being said, I think that most of the reason people who rate this album low do so is because they expected something different. To be fair, I wouldn't say that The Resistance is a rock album, although Muse is a rock band. While songs like Uprising, MK Ultra, and Unnatural Selection are rock songs, the other songs are blends of genres with rock, sometimes with only a hint of rock. That being said, this album is amazing and is proof of Muse's versatility, musicality, and creativity. It's also a very well sequenced album with a story: while each song has its own story to tell, they also are pieces that form a meta-story. While it might not be my favorite Muse album, I think it is probably the best made album. I think the biggest weakness of the album is that it feels incomplete without every element, i.e. it almost needs to be listened to exclusively in entirety. It's not really a single heavy album. This is especially evident in the last three songs, the Exogensis Symphony. Listening to any of those songs without the other parts isn't really enjoyable. The Resistance is an awesome album, just as Muse is an awesome band. Listen to the entire album without expectations and you'll leave it satisfied. Expand
  63. MarioP
    Oct 26, 2009
    10
    I'm a big fan of Muse and although I was a bit disappointed by Black Holes and Revelations, I liked that album quite a bit all the same. This one is fantastic, I personally rate it just under Absolution (which is my favourite 2000's album by anyone). The only weak point is Guiding Light, which should've been cut off. Other than that, a marvellous record, with a lot of high I'm a big fan of Muse and although I was a bit disappointed by Black Holes and Revelations, I liked that album quite a bit all the same. This one is fantastic, I personally rate it just under Absolution (which is my favourite 2000's album by anyone). The only weak point is Guiding Light, which should've been cut off. Other than that, a marvellous record, with a lot of high points (my favourites are Resistance and Unnatural Selection). Takes a few listens to truly appreciate. Expand
  64. AdamP.
    Sep 15, 2009
    10
    It is amazing...mixes sounds of OoS and Black holes.
  65. Ben
    Nov 24, 2009
    10
    Awesome album.
  66. JanH.
    Dec 19, 2009
    10
    This is a classic, to be ranked right up there with Queen's "A Night At The Opera" and Pink Floyd's "Dark Side Of The Moon". Gets better and better with each listening. Lots of great music in 2009, but this is the one I return to again and again on my mp3-player. Possibly album of the decade, certainly album of the year!
  67. MichelleW.
    Sep 16, 2009
    9
    I'm giving it a solid 9.5 as I have listened to it all the way through non stop (yes, even while at work at my desk) since Monday night. You really cannot listen to a Muse CD once and make a decision. This album is amazing. The only reason it doesn't get a 10 is because of Guiding Light. That song rates an 8.
  68. TelmoH.
    Sep 17, 2009
    9
    Great Album, that seems clearly inspired in the 80's kind of music, and goes to show that Muse doesn't really have a Style, they do what they feel, and thats actually what life is all about... We live trough feelings... Thank you Muse for this great work.
  69. BobB
    Sep 21, 2009
    10
    This album is absolutely epic. Their best one yet.
  70. EliseE.
    Nov 21, 2009
    10
    This album (The Resistance) is the best I have ever heard. Beating out the best of the best albums done so far. I just hope Muse (namely Matt Bellamy) creates more and more and more because it has helped me through some trying times in my life.
  71. Dec 29, 2010
    10
    The best album of 2009. The best concert I attended in 2010. I've been listening to Muse since 2003 when Absolution came out and they were a featured artist on Yahoo Music. I was blown away by them with songs like "Stockholm Syndrome" and "Time is Running Out." I am a sucker for magnificent, multi-layered, orchestral and ambient production. Muse has perfected it. And while they wroteThe best album of 2009. The best concert I attended in 2010. I've been listening to Muse since 2003 when Absolution came out and they were a featured artist on Yahoo Music. I was blown away by them with songs like "Stockholm Syndrome" and "Time is Running Out." I am a sucker for magnificent, multi-layered, orchestral and ambient production. Muse has perfected it. And while they wrote great songs a decade ago, they are one of the rarest breeds who continue to grow and improve their near perfection every time they record something new. The Resistance opens with a relatively weak song for Muse with a repetitive, mundane beat in "Uprising," which made me concerned about this CD. Until I heard it...Within the construct of the entire album, every song melts into the next with perfect segueing. By the time I'm listening to "Undisclosed Desires," I am completely hooked. Their heavy Queen influence on "United States of Eurasia" is undeniable. From there, their symphonic brilliance carries throughout the rest of the album. Musical perfection. Expand
  72. Feb 19, 2011
    10
    Some of the critics who reviewed this album seem to fit into the group of people who think that Muse is trying to be like Radiohead and instantly dislike them for it even though they aren't trying to be like Radiohead because neither band sounds anything alike and both are amazing for their own reasons. This album is incredible; the three part symphony at the end completely blew me away.Some of the critics who reviewed this album seem to fit into the group of people who think that Muse is trying to be like Radiohead and instantly dislike them for it even though they aren't trying to be like Radiohead because neither band sounds anything alike and both are amazing for their own reasons. This album is incredible; the three part symphony at the end completely blew me away. Keep doing what you're doing Muse, obviously you must be doing something right since you just won the Grammy for best rock album, despite Rolling Stone asking "what is the point of Muse?" Yea, you can **** off Rolling Stone. Expand
  73. May 31, 2011
    9
    The more I listen, the more I love it. Uprising, Resistance, and Undisclosed Desires are what get you hooked, but I enjoy the whole CD rather than just the 3 singles.
  74. CRL
    Aug 27, 2011
    9
    With every subsequent listen this album just amazes me more and more. It starts out with two songs that, while not quite 'mainstream rock', have the usual rock and roll style. Undisclosed Desires is my surprise favorite, with a really jolting guitar rhythm that becomes almost addictive after a while. After that is strays almost into neo-classical territory with United States of EurasiaWith every subsequent listen this album just amazes me more and more. It starts out with two songs that, while not quite 'mainstream rock', have the usual rock and roll style. Undisclosed Desires is my surprise favorite, with a really jolting guitar rhythm that becomes almost addictive after a while. After that is strays almost into neo-classical territory with United States of Eurasia / Collateral Damage and I Belong to You, while also continuing with the progressive rock in Guiding Light and Unnatural Selection. Then it finishes with a literal bang with the massively ambitious Exogenesis Symphony, that could have, in the wrong hands, been unmeasurably awful. However Muse does it just right, and makes The Resistance an album that cannot be missed. Expand
  75. Jul 27, 2011
    10
    Ladies and gentleman - this is what I call a masterpiece. It's not easy to produce a song that would make me cry, but there are two from this album that actually made me cry. (Well, Chopin and Beethoven are my kryptonite, Bellamy must've known that). A bit of classical music, a bit of rock and a lot of power. Whether you like Muse or not - it is good to know this album. This is howLadies and gentleman - this is what I call a masterpiece. It's not easy to produce a song that would make me cry, but there are two from this album that actually made me cry. (Well, Chopin and Beethoven are my kryptonite, Bellamy must've known that). A bit of classical music, a bit of rock and a lot of power. Whether you like Muse or not - it is good to know this album. This is how history is made. Expand
  76. Nov 2, 2011
    10
    It's funny how when a band starts to experiment, many just write it off of becoming commercial, which is actually quite the opposite of what Muse did here.

    At the beginning, we are lead through Muse's entire discography, with Uprising going more with the power-ballads of Absolution and Resistance mixing those with other albums. Little by, little we begin to get bits and pieces of
    It's funny how when a band starts to experiment, many just write it off of becoming commercial, which is actually quite the opposite of what Muse did here.

    At the beginning, we are lead through Muse's entire discography, with Uprising going more with the power-ballads of Absolution and Resistance mixing those with other albums. Little by, little we begin to get bits and pieces of classical pieces, some taking on a full ending of a track, which all leads to Matt's dream of a symphony piece, bringing it all together in a grand finale.
    Expand
  77. Jan 17, 2012
    10
    One of the best albums of Muse, great sound as always, and the parts of Exogenesis closed this album in a great way. Amazing job, hope they'll continue like this.
  78. Apr 26, 2012
    10
    A beautiful album. The classical music compositions are astounding! The orchestrations are amazing too!! "Undisclosed Desires" is sexy and so rock n' roll, and "United States of Eurasia" is soft and very beautiful. Geniuses.
  79. Oct 4, 2012
    10
    IT'S SO HARD TO RESIST THE RESISTANCE! What an epic mixture of symphonic rock, new prog and classic rock. Matthew Bellamy knows what he's doing and he does it right every time. Best things about this album? The entire concept of singing about Illumanti, Resistance, Undisclosed Desires, United States of Eurasia, I Belong to You and Exogenesis: Symphony (listen to this three-part song andIT'S SO HARD TO RESIST THE RESISTANCE! What an epic mixture of symphonic rock, new prog and classic rock. Matthew Bellamy knows what he's doing and he does it right every time. Best things about this album? The entire concept of singing about Illumanti, Resistance, Undisclosed Desires, United States of Eurasia, I Belong to You and Exogenesis: Symphony (listen to this three-part song and you will fall in love with Muse). Expand
Metascore
72

Generally favorable reviews - based on 23 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 23
  2. Negative: 1 out of 23
  1. "Black Holes and Revelations" may be a more commercial record, but The Resistance is Muse's most realized effort to date.
  2. As it stands it’s an indulgent and, at times, gorgeous listen that merely helps restate your concrete opinions about Muse.
  3. While not their best, it’s decent enough to ensure there’ll be more-- even though the truly off-the-wall moments are either rare or misguided, meaning the record feels slightly anonymous.