User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 347 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 33 out of 347

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 29, 2010
    10
    The best album of 2009. The best concert I attended in 2010. I've been listening to Muse since 2003 when Absolution came out and they were a featured artist on Yahoo Music. I was blown away by them with songs like "Stockholm Syndrome" and "Time is Running Out." I am a sucker for magnificent, multi-layered, orchestral and ambient production. Muse has perfected it. And while they wrote great songs a decade ago, they are one of the rarest breeds who continue to grow and improve their near perfection every time they record something new. The Resistance opens with a relatively weak song for Muse with a repetitive, mundane beat in "Uprising," which made me concerned about this CD. Until I heard it...Within the construct of the entire album, every song melts into the next with perfect segueing. By the time I'm listening to "Undisclosed Desires," I am completely hooked. Their heavy Queen influence on "United States of Eurasia" is undeniable. From there, their symphonic brilliance carries throughout the rest of the album. Musical perfection. Expand
  2. Feb 19, 2011
    10
    Some of the critics who reviewed this album seem to fit into the group of people who think that Muse is trying to be like Radiohead and instantly dislike them for it even though they aren't trying to be like Radiohead because neither band sounds anything alike and both are amazing for their own reasons. This album is incredible; the three part symphony at the end completely blew me away. Keep doing what you're doing Muse, obviously you must be doing something right since you just won the Grammy for best rock album, despite Rolling Stone asking "what is the point of Muse?" Yea, you can **** off Rolling Stone. Expand
  3. May 31, 2011
    9
    The more I listen, the more I love it. Uprising, Resistance, and Undisclosed Desires are what get you hooked, but I enjoy the whole CD rather than just the 3 singles.
  4. CRL
    Aug 27, 2011
    9
    With every subsequent listen this album just amazes me more and more. It starts out with two songs that, while not quite 'mainstream rock', have the usual rock and roll style. Undisclosed Desires is my surprise favorite, with a really jolting guitar rhythm that becomes almost addictive after a while. After that is strays almost into neo-classical territory with United States of Eurasia / Collateral Damage and I Belong to You, while also continuing with the progressive rock in Guiding Light and Unnatural Selection. Then it finishes with a literal bang with the massively ambitious Exogenesis Symphony, that could have, in the wrong hands, been unmeasurably awful. However Muse does it just right, and makes The Resistance an album that cannot be missed. Expand
  5. Jul 27, 2011
    10
    Ladies and gentleman - this is what I call a masterpiece. It's not easy to produce a song that would make me cry, but there are two from this album that actually made me cry. (Well, Chopin and Beethoven are my kryptonite, Bellamy must've known that). A bit of classical music, a bit of rock and a lot of power. Whether you like Muse or not - it is good to know this album. This is how history is made. Expand
  6. Nov 2, 2011
    10
    It's funny how when a band starts to experiment, many just write it off of becoming commercial, which is actually quite the opposite of what Muse did here.

    At the beginning, we are lead through Muse's entire discography, with Uprising going more with the power-ballads of Absolution and Resistance mixing those with other albums. Little by, little we begin to get bits and pieces of
    classical pieces, some taking on a full ending of a track, which all leads to Matt's dream of a symphony piece, bringing it all together in a grand finale. Expand
  7. Jan 17, 2012
    10
    One of the best albums of Muse, great sound as always, and the parts of Exogenesis closed this album in a great way. Amazing job, hope they'll continue like this.
  8. Apr 26, 2012
    10
    A beautiful album. The classical music compositions are astounding! The orchestrations are amazing too!! "Undisclosed Desires" is sexy and so rock n' roll, and "United States of Eurasia" is soft and very beautiful. Geniuses.
  9. Oct 4, 2012
    10
    IT'S SO HARD TO RESIST THE RESISTANCE! What an epic mixture of symphonic rock, new prog and classic rock. Matthew Bellamy knows what he's doing and he does it right every time. Best things about this album? The entire concept of singing about Illumanti, Resistance, Undisclosed Desires, United States of Eurasia, I Belong to You and Exogenesis: Symphony (listen to this three-part song and you will fall in love with Muse). Expand
Metascore
72

Generally favorable reviews - based on 23 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 23
  2. Negative: 1 out of 23
  1. "Black Holes and Revelations" may be a more commercial record, but The Resistance is Muse's most realized effort to date.
  2. As it stands it’s an indulgent and, at times, gorgeous listen that merely helps restate your concrete opinions about Muse.
  3. While not their best, it’s decent enough to ensure there’ll be more-- even though the truly off-the-wall moments are either rare or misguided, meaning the record feels slightly anonymous.