User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 383 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 35 out of 383

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 30, 2010
    3
    Honestly, I wanted to like Muse. But again, most of the songs just not fit in, or feel like rock 'n' roll songs. I can't really see how Muse can be a 'rock band' with all those electro/techno noises coming from around while playing the guitar and drums. Rock is about the passion and groove and what I hear at Muse is just a fail attempt at rock. Also, the singer's voice isn't really theHonestly, I wanted to like Muse. But again, most of the songs just not fit in, or feel like rock 'n' roll songs. I can't really see how Muse can be a 'rock band' with all those electro/techno noises coming from around while playing the guitar and drums. Rock is about the passion and groove and what I hear at Muse is just a fail attempt at rock. Also, the singer's voice isn't really the best one I ever heard. But again, most rock bands sound like this nowadays, which is really sad. You can rate this review as unhelpful, because you are either a Muse fan or someone who likes this kind of music, but you're turning your backs to what rock 'n' roll should sound like. AC/DC? The Rolling Stones? Van Halen? Cream? Jimy Hendrix? Do these ring any bell? Expand
  2. Sep 24, 2011
    0
    This is incredibly bad, even for Muse. In this album, there is nothing that sounds like the band, everything sounds as if the songs had been taken from another band's record, and in particular from Queen's.
  3. Feb 7, 2011
    2
    It is truly amazing how one band can go from furious, honest, passionate, aggressive, but often beautiful music to this sell-out, rip-off, sickening piece of pointlessness. This is one of the cheapest, laziest, most revolting albums I've ever heard, and from a band I worshipped as a teenager. It makes me sick. Not one original moment, and in particular the singles are totally hollow,It is truly amazing how one band can go from furious, honest, passionate, aggressive, but often beautiful music to this sell-out, rip-off, sickening piece of pointlessness. This is one of the cheapest, laziest, most revolting albums I've ever heard, and from a band I worshipped as a teenager. It makes me sick. Not one original moment, and in particular the singles are totally hollow, lifeless, chart-seeking objects of utter shame (hopefully) for the band. 1.8 points awarded for 'MK Ultra' and some memorable moments, like the first minute of 'Resistance' (that is, before it shamelessly and ridiculously explodes into dancing on poor Freddie Mercury's grave, just like - oh I shudder to even say it - United States of Eurasia), and 0.2 points for sheer effort, particularly in 'Exogenesis' (but then again, it's always seemed to me that, because Bellamy starting writing the symphony long before the other songs, the rest of the album could just be filler, to make more money out of releasing his 'work of genius'). But, I was right, unfortunately, about 'BH&R' - that Bellamy was forgetting about the music and letting his immature obsession with very vague and half-hearted themes of opression, conspiracy take over, and blah, blah, blah, I'm boring myself even writing this. What a terrible album. I'm off to listen to the 'Dead Star / In Your World' EP I just bought and sing along with the words "MUSE DIED AFTER ABSOLUTION, MUSE DIED AFTER ABSOLUTION..." Expand
  4. D.P.
    Jan 25, 2010
    2
    I was a big fan of Muse. Origin of Symmetry and Absolution were on repeat for a long time on my iPod. I thought they were incredibly creative in previous albums with their own style and their own effects. Black Holes & Revelations was disappointing except for "Knights of Cydonia" which probably has the best outro riff on guitar EVER. But with The Resistance its just a band that has run I was a big fan of Muse. Origin of Symmetry and Absolution were on repeat for a long time on my iPod. I thought they were incredibly creative in previous albums with their own style and their own effects. Black Holes & Revelations was disappointing except for "Knights of Cydonia" which probably has the best outro riff on guitar EVER. But with The Resistance its just a band that has run out of inspiration and is turning to mainstream and the simplicity of the songs, but still trying to be like the old muse. the mixture is AWFUL. like other people have said, the entire album sounds like Dr. Who mixed with queen...i'm only giving it a 2/10 because "Undisclosed Desires" is the only acceptable song on the album. Expand
  5. MarkR
    Oct 9, 2009
    3
    I love Muse but i didn't love this. I tried, really. It's Muse trying hard to be Muse. Tying hard to say something meaningful, trying hard to say something clever. But in every track i cant help but hear a second rate version of some classic song or band ... White Wedding, Queen, Marylin Manson. I had to turn it off and it's not making it to my iPod. I'll wait until I love Muse but i didn't love this. I tried, really. It's Muse trying hard to be Muse. Tying hard to say something meaningful, trying hard to say something clever. But in every track i cant help but hear a second rate version of some classic song or band ... White Wedding, Queen, Marylin Manson. I had to turn it off and it's not making it to my iPod. I'll wait until Matt and the boys come back to earth with their next record. Expand
  6. Evil
    Sep 20, 2009
    2
    It was apparent Muse would never release another album of "Origin of Symmetry" calibre when "Black Holes and Revelations" came out, but I had no idea they could sink THIS low.
  7. JT
    Nov 9, 2009
    3
    I wanted to like this album, but alas, there isn't one song on here that is even remotely as good as their back catalog. It seems more like a collection of mediocre B-Sides than a proper album. An excellent example of a band trying too hard to say something that isn't really poignant to begin with.
  8. GL
    Oct 20, 2009
    1
    I don't see how people can like this album. It's a disgrace to MUSE,who have put out such great music in the past. The resistance feels like they have run out of ideas, and put out some half-assed stuff because they know it will sell, good or not. The first track, Uprising, feels like a knock-off of their earlier work, repetitive, and dull. Resistance isn't even good music. I don't see how people can like this album. It's a disgrace to MUSE,who have put out such great music in the past. The resistance feels like they have run out of ideas, and put out some half-assed stuff because they know it will sell, good or not. The first track, Uprising, feels like a knock-off of their earlier work, repetitive, and dull. Resistance isn't even good music. It is not enjoyable to listen to. It sounds generic at best. Undisclosed Desires continues a trail of mediocrity. It's a song that blends into the background all to easily. United States Of Eurasia takes clear inspiration from Queen, and yet still manages to be horribly dull and uninspired. Guiding Light, Unnatural Selection and MK Ultra are alright, but nothing special. I belong to you wraps up this story of dullness. Then we get the exogenesis parts, which are even more unlistenable. I found it hard to find the words to describe this album. Do I rate it more harshly because it is MUSE? Yes. It should be so much better. This album just doesn't deliver. Expand
  9. SteJ.
    Sep 15, 2009
    3
    It's far too commercial, and nowhere near enough of the heavy rock riffs Muse used to be known for. Bellamy's delusion of grandeur may be the factor that destroys this once great band.
  10. RJO.
    Sep 16, 2009
    3
    It's difficult to judge because this disk is 100% different than most muse CD's. The music is much more pop than rock, the lyrics are much more cliche, and the entire thing feels like a huge departure from the past. As a huge Muse fan of their previous works, this CD feels like a great disappointment.
  11. GabrielC
    Sep 18, 2009
    0
    Pure garbage, Uprising sounds like Blondie's Call me, Marylin Manson and Dr. Who, the rest is pure imitation of some Queen songs, GARBAGE.
  12. TomS
    Sep 18, 2009
    2
    Pure songwriting masked behind pompousness. And blatant rip off of their back catalogue.
  13. ZacaríasY.
    Sep 25, 2009
    0
    Probably, Matt Bellamy thinks it: They're the new kings of progressive rock of the 2000s but this is so crap, they hurt a great Chopin's musician composition and in this ¿Symphonies? are a big fake (its a mediocre copy of some Mono's song), and a terrible copy of Queen, mixed with marylin manson, queens of the stone age (check Uprising) and call us ART ROCK, come on Probably, Matt Bellamy thinks it: They're the new kings of progressive rock of the 2000s but this is so crap, they hurt a great Chopin's musician composition and in this ¿Symphonies? are a big fake (its a mediocre copy of some Mono's song), and a terrible copy of Queen, mixed with marylin manson, queens of the stone age (check Uprising) and call us ART ROCK, come on people! Dungen, Sigur Rós is truly art rock, this is crap, this album sucks. Expand
  14. WillB.
    Nov 3, 2009
    3
    I was really disappointed by this album, because I wanted to hear Muse. All I got was a compilation of some very obvious influences; namely, Queen.
Metascore
72

Generally favorable reviews - based on 23 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 23
  2. Negative: 1 out of 23
  1. "Black Holes and Revelations" may be a more commercial record, but The Resistance is Muse's most realized effort to date.
  2. As it stands it’s an indulgent and, at times, gorgeous listen that merely helps restate your concrete opinions about Muse.
  3. While not their best, it’s decent enough to ensure there’ll be more-- even though the truly off-the-wall moments are either rare or misguided, meaning the record feels slightly anonymous.