The Resistance

User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 415 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 36 out of 415

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. BonyByron
    Oct 30, 2009
    9
    Apart from some facepalm-worthy lyrics here and there, this album is a masterpiece. Be it the stadium shaking "Resistance" and "Uprising", the operatic "United States of eurasia", the AMAZING symphony Muse had the balls to include and the GENIUS to compose. Gives me shivers and I can't stop listenning to this album. Bravo Muse, you're a bunch of geniuses.
  2. BenL
    Sep 15, 2009
    10
    Ambitious, beautiful, epic! Pure Muse.
  3. LuisC.
    Sep 15, 2009
    10
    A true odyssey in all kinds of music...with a "grande finale" (Exogenisis). Truly epic.
  4. YourMom
    Sep 23, 2009
    9
    Excellent album. I would rate it along with their best work. Exogenesis is truly great. Enjoy.
  5. JM
    Jan 2, 2010
    4
    The most disappointing album of the year for me. I'm a huge Muse fan and love their past work, but this album seems uninspired and phoned-in. Matt Bellamy's blistering guitar riffs are almost non-existent, the lyrics are generic dour, and too many songs sound like rip-offs of past artists or older Muse songs. The only saving grace of this album is the 3-part Exogenesis Symphony, The most disappointing album of the year for me. I'm a huge Muse fan and love their past work, but this album seems uninspired and phoned-in. Matt Bellamy's blistering guitar riffs are almost non-existent, the lyrics are generic dour, and too many songs sound like rip-offs of past artists or older Muse songs. The only saving grace of this album is the 3-part Exogenesis Symphony, which is stunningly beautiful. My advice: buy the Symphony on iTunes and hope Muse returns to their roots for their next album. Expand
  6. D.P.
    Jan 25, 2010
    2
    I was a big fan of Muse. Origin of Symmetry and Absolution were on repeat for a long time on my iPod. I thought they were incredibly creative in previous albums with their own style and their own effects. Black Holes & Revelations was disappointing except for "Knights of Cydonia" which probably has the best outro riff on guitar EVER. But with The Resistance its just a band that has run I was a big fan of Muse. Origin of Symmetry and Absolution were on repeat for a long time on my iPod. I thought they were incredibly creative in previous albums with their own style and their own effects. Black Holes & Revelations was disappointing except for "Knights of Cydonia" which probably has the best outro riff on guitar EVER. But with The Resistance its just a band that has run out of inspiration and is turning to mainstream and the simplicity of the songs, but still trying to be like the old muse. the mixture is AWFUL. like other people have said, the entire album sounds like Dr. Who mixed with queen...i'm only giving it a 2/10 because "Undisclosed Desires" is the only acceptable song on the album. Expand
  7. LolCat
    Nov 6, 2009
    8
    Not their best but a couple of songs hit the spot and the symphony was fantastic.
  8. BenS.
    Dec 3, 2009
    8
    There are some excellent parts to this album, notably the Exogenesis Symphony, the sleek Undisclosed Desires, United States of Eurasia and MK Ultra; but you get the feeling that Muse are trying to do too much and cover too many genres, which backfires in several songs, notably Guiding Light and IBelong to You. Still, it makes for an entertaining listen, and it is still definetely worth There are some excellent parts to this album, notably the Exogenesis Symphony, the sleek Undisclosed Desires, United States of Eurasia and MK Ultra; but you get the feeling that Muse are trying to do too much and cover too many genres, which backfires in several songs, notably Guiding Light and IBelong to You. Still, it makes for an entertaining listen, and it is still definetely worth buying the whole album. However, it lacks the cutting edge of Black Holes of Revelations, and the originality and cohesion of Origin of Symmetry and Absolution in particular. Muse had a unique sound, but they are trying to hard to combine the style of other successful acts (notably Queen, Depeche Mode and U2) into their work. It appears Muse are unsure of their identity. Expand
  9. MarioP
    Oct 26, 2009
    10
    I'm a big fan of Muse and although I was a bit disappointed by Black Holes and Revelations, I liked that album quite a bit all the same. This one is fantastic, I personally rate it just under Absolution (which is my favourite 2000's album by anyone). The only weak point is Guiding Light, which should've been cut off. Other than that, a marvellous record, with a lot of high I'm a big fan of Muse and although I was a bit disappointed by Black Holes and Revelations, I liked that album quite a bit all the same. This one is fantastic, I personally rate it just under Absolution (which is my favourite 2000's album by anyone). The only weak point is Guiding Light, which should've been cut off. Other than that, a marvellous record, with a lot of high points (my favourites are Resistance and Unnatural Selection). Takes a few listens to truly appreciate. Expand
  10. MarkR
    Oct 9, 2009
    3
    I love Muse but i didn't love this. I tried, really. It's Muse trying hard to be Muse. Tying hard to say something meaningful, trying hard to say something clever. But in every track i cant help but hear a second rate version of some classic song or band ... White Wedding, Queen, Marylin Manson. I had to turn it off and it's not making it to my iPod. I'll wait until I love Muse but i didn't love this. I tried, really. It's Muse trying hard to be Muse. Tying hard to say something meaningful, trying hard to say something clever. But in every track i cant help but hear a second rate version of some classic song or band ... White Wedding, Queen, Marylin Manson. I had to turn it off and it's not making it to my iPod. I'll wait until Matt and the boys come back to earth with their next record. Expand
  11. AdamP.
    Sep 15, 2009
    10
    It is amazing...mixes sounds of OoS and Black holes.
  12. GeorgeR.
    Sep 15, 2009
    9
    A fantastic album, certainly not the commercial album that Black Holes was, as such if you're only a fan of that album then you will not have the same appreciation for The Resistance. There's a few songs with single potential on the album but it was more of the band playing what they wanted to I feel, and I love it.
  13. SteveP.
    Sep 16, 2009
    5
    Really disappointing. I've loved/liked all of Muse's albums so far, but this just did nothing for me. Regardless of style & ambition, there just weren't the songs to get me listening back again.
  14. nickp.
    Sep 17, 2009
    10
    Their best album yet. It seems too short, though.
  15. Dave
    Sep 17, 2009
    8
    A while since I played a CD twice in a row, but I needed more! It sounds good straight out of the box, but hopefully I won't tire of it too soon!
  16. Mike
    Sep 18, 2009
    4
    Any band that manages to copy Queen, Radiohead, My Chemical Romance, and System of a Down in one album kinda deserve an award. It would be an award for being terrible, but an award nonetheless. Muse have none of the bombast, none of the emotion, none of the logic stitching together their harebrained dystopian worldview that made their past two albums so incredibly good. As long as that is Any band that manages to copy Queen, Radiohead, My Chemical Romance, and System of a Down in one album kinda deserve an award. It would be an award for being terrible, but an award nonetheless. Muse have none of the bombast, none of the emotion, none of the logic stitching together their harebrained dystopian worldview that made their past two albums so incredibly good. As long as that is missing, Muse will never be a good band. Two bands I love called Pure Reason Revolution (prog rock) and Innerpartysystem (electronic rock) released albums in the last 2 years that sound remarkably like Resistance, so I recommend them instead. I wholeheartedly believe Muse copied off them and did it poorly! Expand
  17. ChrisG
    Sep 19, 2009
    8
    Over the top and fantastic !!!
  18. EthanB
    Sep 22, 2009
    9
    One of their better works, right alongside with Absolution and Origin of Symmetry.
  19. DanielS
    Sep 22, 2009
    9
    i think this album is simply incredible, i really can't stop listening to it, Muse is one of the best bands ever, no doubt! I don't understand why people keep comparing previous albums with the new one, i mean, if it's a new album, you should be analysing it's songs and sounds, not compare it to other albums or bands .. Muse are amazing and they should get much more i think this album is simply incredible, i really can't stop listening to it, Muse is one of the best bands ever, no doubt! I don't understand why people keep comparing previous albums with the new one, i mean, if it's a new album, you should be analysing it's songs and sounds, not compare it to other albums or bands .. Muse are amazing and they should get much more credit, this album is beautiful, the simphony is a master-piece, and people should stop complaining and just listen to good music .. Fantastic album, Muse ROCK ! Expand
  20. RtArL
    Sep 20, 2009
    9
    A great piece of music . Mix of rock, symphony and electrica. The end results is epic. Like The Times wrote" Muse have made an album of genius, brilliance and beauty".
  21. JuanL
    Sep 24, 2009
    7
    It will be utterly enjoyed by fans, although it could be a bit offputting for those who have never tasted MUSE before.
  22. Evil
    Sep 20, 2009
    2
    It was apparent Muse would never release another album of "Origin of Symmetry" calibre when "Black Holes and Revelations" came out, but I had no idea they could sink THIS low.
  23. MarkB.
    Sep 30, 2009
    8
    Very different - some of it I like, a couple of songs I am yet to get, but Exogenesis has blown me away - truly beautiful.
  24. PasciiH.
    Jan 19, 2010
    10
    Ok, i have to admit, i never heard of this band before. but then i heard uprising on MTV and it sounded interesting. i never buy any Cd's but i thought i will give this band a try, and i don't regret it. This album is amazing, not only the track uprising but all the other songs like united states of eurasia:) they are amazing.
  25. PDTS
    Jan 24, 2010
    5
    Only the three first songs is worth listening to.
  26. JazzUp
    Jan 26, 2010
    6
    It's not that the quality is bad, but it's that the sound seems to be much eletronic. It's just I don't like only this album, but they're still my fav band.
  27. Mark
    Oct 10, 2009
    10
    Have listened to The Resistance for over a month now and am loving it more all the time. For me, not only Muse's best album but I'm seriously starting to question whether this is my favourite album by anyone, ever. It has everything I want and there's not one song that I don't adore. Challenging, ambitious, focused and exciting. Also, Exogenesis made me cry which Have listened to The Resistance for over a month now and am loving it more all the time. For me, not only Muse's best album but I'm seriously starting to question whether this is my favourite album by anyone, ever. It has everything I want and there's not one song that I don't adore. Challenging, ambitious, focused and exciting. Also, Exogenesis made me cry which happens NEVER. Expand
  28. JakeT
    Oct 12, 2009
    8
    I think muse has created a fantastic album, filled with a slightly heavier prog sound, but a great album nonetheless.
  29. DylanD.
    Nov 3, 2009
    10
    Excellent album from start to finish, Muse comes through again.
  30. JT
    Nov 9, 2009
    3
    I wanted to like this album, but alas, there isn't one song on here that is even remotely as good as their back catalog. It seems more like a collection of mediocre B-Sides than a proper album. An excellent example of a band trying too hard to say something that isn't really poignant to begin with.
  31. ML
    Dec 11, 2009
    10
    What a great record! I can't believe this band flew under my radar for so long. Discovering and loving their back catalog now. What a great discovery. Great band, great record.
  32. GL
    Oct 20, 2009
    1
    I don't see how people can like this album. It's a disgrace to MUSE,who have put out such great music in the past. The resistance feels like they have run out of ideas, and put out some half-assed stuff because they know it will sell, good or not. The first track, Uprising, feels like a knock-off of their earlier work, repetitive, and dull. Resistance isn't even good music. I don't see how people can like this album. It's a disgrace to MUSE,who have put out such great music in the past. The resistance feels like they have run out of ideas, and put out some half-assed stuff because they know it will sell, good or not. The first track, Uprising, feels like a knock-off of their earlier work, repetitive, and dull. Resistance isn't even good music. It is not enjoyable to listen to. It sounds generic at best. Undisclosed Desires continues a trail of mediocrity. It's a song that blends into the background all to easily. United States Of Eurasia takes clear inspiration from Queen, and yet still manages to be horribly dull and uninspired. Guiding Light, Unnatural Selection and MK Ultra are alright, but nothing special. I belong to you wraps up this story of dullness. Then we get the exogenesis parts, which are even more unlistenable. I found it hard to find the words to describe this album. Do I rate it more harshly because it is MUSE? Yes. It should be so much better. This album just doesn't deliver. Expand
  33. hannahb
    Oct 2, 2009
    10
    Fantastic. Can't stop listening.
  34. BlackS
    Oct 9, 2009
    10
    Wonderfully moving and thought provoking. The whole album is beautiful. Production is how it should be, perfect, IMHO. Every instrument and every vocal contribution is just right for me. The album takes you on a musical journey and lifts your soul in the way that only certain bands can, not many even come close. Another Muse classic. Ignore what others say and just listen, you owe it to Wonderfully moving and thought provoking. The whole album is beautiful. Production is how it should be, perfect, IMHO. Every instrument and every vocal contribution is just right for me. The album takes you on a musical journey and lifts your soul in the way that only certain bands can, not many even come close. Another Muse classic. Ignore what others say and just listen, you owe it to yourself and your soul. Expand
  35. MattA.
    Sep 15, 2009
    7
    The Resistance is not going to be Muse's masterpiece. Is it a bad album? No. Their best? No. A drastic change of pace and tone? ...No. Well... sort of. 'The Resistance' sounds a lot like their previous stuff... mainly from Absolution and BH&R. However, this album makes me realize why i still like Muse. And i'll give you a hint... It's not for their originality. The Resistance is not going to be Muse's masterpiece. Is it a bad album? No. Their best? No. A drastic change of pace and tone? ...No. Well... sort of. 'The Resistance' sounds a lot like their previous stuff... mainly from Absolution and BH&R. However, this album makes me realize why i still like Muse. And i'll give you a hint... It's not for their originality. They seem to take the best parts of Radiohead, Queen, and Depeche Mode Respectively and mix them together. This one further takes the step into the Depeche Mode 'Violator'/Ultra phase. Fans of BH&R and mainly the people who came into them for their catchy pop lyrics may be a tad disappointed with the accessablitly of the album. It has a few golden tracks of metal guitar and beautiful Bellamy wailing... however if you're used to Starlight/Supermassive black hole...look else where. If you're like me and enjoyed songs like "Sing For Absolution", "Invincible" "Falling Away With You" and "Citizen Erased" each song on this CD has hints of those in it. Some tracks lose their edge do to Muse's weakness...The song writing. Lyrics are often the typical Muse-Fare of establishment/tyranny cannot prevail... and it often begins to lull the listener until a cool guitar riff awakens one. "The Resistance" will sit nicely in Muse's catalog, but will not make them remembered. 7.5/10 Key Tracks: Uprising, The Resistance, Unnatural Selection. Expand
  36. MikeS.
    Sep 15, 2009
    10
    One of the best albums of the year. THE RESISTENCE is larger than life, and contains quite a few moments of sheer brilliance. If any other band made this record (say...RADIOHEAD), it would be hailed as masterpiece. Since it's MUSE, it just won't get the credit it deserves. Well, like usual forget the critics, and brace yourself for a truly unique experience!
  37. SamE
    Sep 15, 2009
    10
    grandiose, overblown, spectacular, epic! While this album may not please some Muse fans on the "heavy rock" side, it is overall a beautiful piece of art and just like their previous work, it keeps getting better with repeat listens. And you just know the songs will sound superb live! Also, songs such as "Unnatural Selection" and 'MK Ultra" will still keep even the most disappointed grandiose, overblown, spectacular, epic! While this album may not please some Muse fans on the "heavy rock" side, it is overall a beautiful piece of art and just like their previous work, it keeps getting better with repeat listens. And you just know the songs will sound superb live! Also, songs such as "Unnatural Selection" and 'MK Ultra" will still keep even the most disappointed fans around for live performances and future work. Expand
  38. EricS
    Sep 15, 2009
    10
    A beautiful album that I will be listening to for the rest of my life. I didn't get it at first, but I understand now. It takes a few listens. I didn't really like BHaR when I first listened to it, but I love it now. The attitude of this album actually reminds me a lot of,Showbiz, Muse's first album.
  39. GustavoC
    Sep 15, 2009
    10
    I think is not the best muse's album. Ok. But 40 points?? C'mon!!
  40. AlexandreP
    Sep 15, 2009
    9
    When I see some of the ratings of the album of today like Wu-tang Clan having a 9/10 or a Nelly Furtado's 10/10..... and I see people talking about muse saying: what are they trying to do with their album ?? Why are they? Who are They? ....I'm kind of worried about the future of the music....About how would it look like. First, let me know that most of the albums of today are When I see some of the ratings of the album of today like Wu-tang Clan having a 9/10 or a Nelly Furtado's 10/10..... and I see people talking about muse saying: what are they trying to do with their album ?? Why are they? Who are They? ....I'm kind of worried about the future of the music....About how would it look like. First, let me know that most of the albums of today are singing using the famous Auto-tune. NOt only rappers! lots of singers. But when I say a little band from Teighnmouth, growing up by using a bit of pop influence to do their song, and trying to be known by some media, and singing for real on stage and using real instruments.... and now decided by themselves: Ok, now it's time to shake their heads and show what we can! ....and they put out Resistance. Why do people don't like this album? Because they thought Muse would be a little more poppier, try to do songs that would be able to be heard on a radio....sadly Muse isn't completely this. I agree yes that Undisclosed Desires is a radio-friendly songs, but that doesn't change at all the rest of the album! Can you expect from some other bands in the world a complete symphony like Exogenesis? Would you expect to have an album that tries to push the boundaries and limts of what you call a ''rock music"? Muse are not made to play rock, Muse are made to play music, in all sense, and that's what defines Muse. Rather than talking about how cool they are, how many girls they got in their party, how many drugs they can sell, how many hearts they have break or lost, Muse stand up and tries to search far more than their little noses. On the other hand, there is some songs or parts of songs that I have difficulty with, but in overall this album is a classic. Queen was hated when they alive, now they are praised. I guess it will be the same......sadly. Expand
  41. JoshD
    Sep 15, 2009
    8
    This album takes a few listens to realise it's true genius. A different but beautiful offering, that I think will stand the test of time and will be in my cd player in years to come.
  42. danil
    Sep 15, 2009
    10
    Their best work ever!! That's how a band is supposed to progress throuh their career. Ambition is the base of all progress, and I'm glad that they have the balls to prove they're ambitious and can get away with it. Matt Bellamy is a music genius.
  43. KanW.
    Sep 15, 2009
    6
    Not Muse's best. Glimmers of Doctor Who and Queen, but why? Muse are talented enough not to rip off others. Maybe it will sound better in a live situation?
  44. BobBob
    Sep 15, 2009
    10
    Excellent album. On par with Origin of Symmetry.
  45. AlexisC.
    Sep 15, 2009
    9
    Great operistic progressive rock. No one compares to them, and having an identity right now it a feat in itself. Humbling the tunes now and then all day.
  46. HajoK.
    Sep 15, 2009
    9
    Awesome album, different yet satisfying, with MK ultra, unnatural selection and symphony part I&II as favorites.
  47. RitaM.
    Sep 15, 2009
    10
    They're breaking their own mold in an inescapably delicious way - Its by no means a perfect album, but its nevertheless as exciting as Muse has always been :D
  48. SteJ.
    Sep 15, 2009
    3
    It's far too commercial, and nowhere near enough of the heavy rock riffs Muse used to be known for. Bellamy's delusion of grandeur may be the factor that destroys this once great band.
  49. MatthewS.
    Sep 15, 2009
    9
    While a slight fall from grace (from their absolutely amazing 'Absolution' and 'Black Holes and Revelations'), this album is still better than 95% of what modern rock has to offer.
  50. WasifH.
    Sep 16, 2009
    9
    I really think Muse has made one of it's best albums yet.
  51. MattiF
    Sep 16, 2009
    9
    An interesting album with plenty of musical references to both classical music and contemporary pop. The album does suffer from some weak moments, especially Guiding Light seemed to lack anything to make it stand out among the tracks and coupled with I Belong to You could leave fans wishing for a heavier sound disappointed. The pre-hyped 13 minute symphony Exogenesis that finishes of the An interesting album with plenty of musical references to both classical music and contemporary pop. The album does suffer from some weak moments, especially Guiding Light seemed to lack anything to make it stand out among the tracks and coupled with I Belong to You could leave fans wishing for a heavier sound disappointed. The pre-hyped 13 minute symphony Exogenesis that finishes of the album is unfortunately not one of it's strongest moments either but it is quite beautiful in parts and doesn't feel forced or there for just for the sake of it but instead feels very much part of the album. While the over the top theatrics might not suite everyone fans of Muse wanting more prog than rock should not be let down by this album. Expand
  52. TerryA.
    Sep 16, 2009
    6
    I am a huge MUSE fan and loved all of the last three albums...sure there were a few hits and misses on those..but this album is almost entirely full of misses. I have been waiting for this album to come out for some time and maybe expectations were too high. The lead single " Uprising" is a nice track and I like the feel of " Undisclosed Desires " , the rest of the album just flat out I am a huge MUSE fan and loved all of the last three albums...sure there were a few hits and misses on those..but this album is almost entirely full of misses. I have been waiting for this album to come out for some time and maybe expectations were too high. The lead single " Uprising" is a nice track and I like the feel of " Undisclosed Desires " , the rest of the album just flat out rips off Queen and I have absolutely no idea why? Expand
  53. CharlieM.
    Sep 16, 2009
    10
    This album has all the trade-mark variety of Muse's past albums, demonstrating their ability to experiment and succeed in a number of genres whilst maintaining their distinctive sound. Despite this variety in sound, the album is cohesive and flowing. In short, Muse have excelled once more in (self)-producing a masterpiece which builds on and goes beyond their past work.
  54. jeffs.
    Sep 16, 2009
    10
    A full on experience for almost all of the senses.
  55. RJO.
    Sep 16, 2009
    3
    It's difficult to judge because this disk is 100% different than most muse CD's. The music is much more pop than rock, the lyrics are much more cliche, and the entire thing feels like a huge departure from the past. As a huge Muse fan of their previous works, this CD feels like a great disappointment.
  56. DerekR.
    Sep 17, 2009
    9
    The Resistance is different enough to catch fans off-guard at first, but it's impossible for any true Muse fan not to fall in love with a majority of the compositions. There are dull parts few and far between. Still, no other band takes me such a roller coaster of funky electronic riffs, over-the-top vocals, and magnificent symphony. It's a breath-taking trip that unfortunately The Resistance is different enough to catch fans off-guard at first, but it's impossible for any true Muse fan not to fall in love with a majority of the compositions. There are dull parts few and far between. Still, no other band takes me such a roller coaster of funky electronic riffs, over-the-top vocals, and magnificent symphony. It's a breath-taking trip that unfortunately not everyone will appreciate. Expand
  57. JonW
    Sep 18, 2009
    6
    So far dissapointed. On my third listen. There is some droll rubbish on here. Hope they'd cut back on the Keane tip (invincible on BHAR) but there are 3 songs like that. Only when the power chords and weird prog bars come out does it shine. The Concerto suite at the end is hugely ambitous and just about pulled off. I must say I miss the Citizens, Stockholms and TSP stuff that does So far dissapointed. On my third listen. There is some droll rubbish on here. Hope they'd cut back on the Keane tip (invincible on BHAR) but there are 3 songs like that. Only when the power chords and weird prog bars come out does it shine. The Concerto suite at the end is hugely ambitous and just about pulled off. I must say I miss the Citizens, Stockholms and TSP stuff that does not really feature. Still will keep plugging away and maybe like many great albums it will be a grower. Expand
  58. conordxd
    Sep 18, 2009
    9
    A far better effort then black holes and revelations, but not quite up to absolution level. The exogenesis symphony is remarkable and a few catchy singles make it more enjoyable then it's predesccor. Only complaint has to be undisclosed desires, but when trying something new you get a ton of good stuff, and a fair share of not-so-good stuff. Lets hope their next album is their A far better effort then black holes and revelations, but not quite up to absolution level. The exogenesis symphony is remarkable and a few catchy singles make it more enjoyable then it's predesccor. Only complaint has to be undisclosed desires, but when trying something new you get a ton of good stuff, and a fair share of not-so-good stuff. Lets hope their next album is their best-though this would rate as number 2 for me. Expand
  59. GabrielC
    Sep 18, 2009
    0
    Pure garbage, Uprising sounds like Blondie's Call me, Marylin Manson and Dr. Who, the rest is pure imitation of some Queen songs, GARBAGE.
  60. MikeC
    Sep 18, 2009
    10
    Some of the best music they've done to date.
  61. TomS
    Sep 18, 2009
    2
    Pure songwriting masked behind pompousness. And blatant rip off of their back catalogue.
  62. JesseS
    Sep 18, 2009
    10
    Genius, genius, genius.
  63. WimL
    Sep 19, 2009
    9
    Very good again, can imagine that they will be even more impressive in a live performance.
  64. JordanA
    Sep 19, 2009
    10
    Best album by Muse so far. Dare i say it best rock album of 2009!!!
  65. JoshH
    Sep 20, 2009
    9
    A stunning album from Muse. Its one of those rare albums where you don't dislike any of the songs on the CD. Amazing lyrics are used, and the whole album is just full of great tunes, that give you that 'shiver down your spin' feel everytime you listen. My candidate for the album of the year.
  66. Mljac
    Sep 21, 2009
    10
    Fabulous fusion of music; from debussy to punk all-in-one
  67. MaxJ
    Sep 23, 2009
    10
    Spectacularly silly, yet in making it so Muse have created what I personally think is one of the best albums of the year.
  68. AlexL
    Sep 23, 2009
    4
    Even the high points on this album would feel like filler on their previous records. It's a shame because I went into this really wanting to love it. I was much more comfortable with their rockier roots; this is just overproduced, pop fluff unfortunately.
  69. ZacaríasY.
    Sep 25, 2009
    0
    Probably, Matt Bellamy thinks it: They're the new kings of progressive rock of the 2000s but this is so crap, they hurt a great Chopin's musician composition and in this ¿Symphonies? are a big fake (its a mediocre copy of some Mono's song), and a terrible copy of Queen, mixed with marylin manson, queens of the stone age (check Uprising) and call us ART ROCK, come on Probably, Matt Bellamy thinks it: They're the new kings of progressive rock of the 2000s but this is so crap, they hurt a great Chopin's musician composition and in this ¿Symphonies? are a big fake (its a mediocre copy of some Mono's song), and a terrible copy of Queen, mixed with marylin manson, queens of the stone age (check Uprising) and call us ART ROCK, come on people! Dungen, Sigur Rós is truly art rock, this is crap, this album sucks. Expand
  70. AbeH.
    Sep 25, 2009
    9
    A near perfect album. For myself it does everything so wonderfully that the disappointing moments pass by without hardly being noticed.
  71. TobyK
    Sep 27, 2009
    10
    Astoundingly creative, intelligent, subtle and in-your-face where needed. taking inspiration from the early muse albums such as Origin of Symmetry, Queen and Bach, this albums created for me a unique and extremely entertaining listening experience.
  72. JhoraZ.
    Nov 1, 2009
    10
    Its magical music. Can't stop listening. United States of Eurasia and Exogenesys Symphony RULEZZZZ.
  73. JesseS.
    Nov 26, 2009
    10
    Remarkable. Resistance is...futile. It's iIn the Lap of the Gods! Oh; am I alluding to Queen? How dare they pay homage to Queen, you say? Blast you! Amazing that they're the only band on earth capable of sounding remotely like Queen, you say? Bless you! But they're not of THIS earth.
  74. MattK
    Nov 26, 2009
    10
    The new album my Muse is an instant classic in my book. I find myself wondering if The Resistance is my favorite album of all time, which is not an easy task. I suggest all to listen to it and keep an open mind. The Exogenesis Symphony at the end of the album is one of the best pieces of music I have ever heard as well.
  75. WillB.
    Nov 3, 2009
    3
    I was really disappointed by this album, because I wanted to hear Muse. All I got was a compilation of some very obvious influences; namely, Queen.
  76. ALee
    Dec 18, 2009
    8
    Excellent Album. The Resistance is a very different album compared to prior albums, it taps into different genres in general and a little less the simple Rock style from the previous. Muse fans that loved the prior sound may not embrace this as favorably. This album is has a bit of orchestra / broadway / musical style tracks which include; Resistance, United States of Eurasia, Guiding Excellent Album. The Resistance is a very different album compared to prior albums, it taps into different genres in general and a little less the simple Rock style from the previous. Muse fans that loved the prior sound may not embrace this as favorably. This album is has a bit of orchestra / broadway / musical style tracks which include; Resistance, United States of Eurasia, Guiding Light, and the Exogenesis tracks are filled with beautiful vocals from Matthew Bellamy which I found entracing. Worth a good listen, but don't expect this to be a ROCK album. Expand
  77. [Anonymous]
    Dec 31, 2009
    10
    I think that most of the reason people who rate this album low do so is because they expected something different. To be fair, I wouldn't say that The Resistance is a rock album, although Muse is a rock band. While songs like Uprising, MK Ultra, and Unnatural Selection are rock songs, the other songs are blends of genres with rock, sometimes with only a hint of rock. That being said, I think that most of the reason people who rate this album low do so is because they expected something different. To be fair, I wouldn't say that The Resistance is a rock album, although Muse is a rock band. While songs like Uprising, MK Ultra, and Unnatural Selection are rock songs, the other songs are blends of genres with rock, sometimes with only a hint of rock. That being said, this album is amazing and is proof of Muse's versatility, musicality, and creativity. It's also a very well sequenced album with a story: while each song has its own story to tell, they also are pieces that form a meta-story. While it might not be my favorite Muse album, I think it is probably the best made album. I think the biggest weakness of the album is that it feels incomplete without every element, i.e. it almost needs to be listened to exclusively in entirety. It's not really a single heavy album. This is especially evident in the last three songs, the Exogensis Symphony. Listening to any of those songs without the other parts isn't really enjoyable. The Resistance is an awesome album, just as Muse is an awesome band. Listen to the entire album without expectations and you'll leave it satisfied. Expand
  78. MrM
    Sep 15, 2009
    10
    The exogenesis symphony is the most ambitious thing Bellamy has ever attempted and it turned out very well. Clearly a solid collection of songs from the get go. Time will only tell how they stack up to Muse's back catalogue.
  79. TonyT
    Sep 15, 2009
    9
    While there are some weakpoints on the album, mainly guiding light, this album is very solid with favorites being resistance, I belong to you, and exogenesis. It is a small movement away from the guitar with more focus on vocals (which are outstanding). Exogenesis is powerful.
  80. MikeD
    Sep 15, 2009
    10
    I love this album. Even though it may not be quite as good as Muse's magnum opus "Origin of Symmetry," it is definitely up there if not for Exogenesis alone.
  81. SteveT
    Sep 15, 2009
    10
    A really really solid album. Focused work, good all the way through, and exogenesis is really fantastic.
  82. FletchO
    Sep 15, 2009
    10
    Album of the year by far! Muse take everything great about them (guitars, piano, harmony vocals,) and up it all by a factor of a million, whilst dumping all their muse-isms that made some of their tracks sound samey. This is the album where Muse find their voice. and boy is it a voice!
  83. TannerC
    Sep 15, 2009
    4
    Muses worst album to date. Exogenesis is amazing though.
  84. GeriW
    Sep 15, 2009
    10
    It's epic. Especially the Exogenesis Symphony.
  85. SeanN
    Sep 15, 2009
    10
    A masterpiece.
  86. NickB
    Sep 15, 2009
    10
    Arguably the best alternative album of the past 5 years, maybe longer.
  87. MattC.
    Sep 15, 2009
    10
    Muse's fifth studio album is without doubt thier most ambitious one yet, as it borrows from themes and styles ranging from early romantic symphonies, to Queen, and even R&B. All the while, Muse maintains thier distinctive flavor in order to create nothing short of a masterpiece. Praiseworthy songs include: Mk Ultra, Resistance,Unnatural Selection, and Exogenesis.
  88. DanH
    Sep 15, 2009
    9
    They seem to be having fun with the R&B/Pop songs. The rest is brilliant.
  89. TristanB
    Sep 15, 2009
    10
    Simply amazing. Muse shows that they can grow and retain their old form at the same time. The Symphony and Unnatural Selection are the standouts from the album.
  90. HardiantoN
    Sep 15, 2009
    9
    Muse delivered a 'classical groove' with this album, a combination of romanticize Chopin and boldly say Queen. The 12min symphony space rock is a story telling dialogue conveyed in their music.
  91. Alasdair
    Sep 15, 2009
    10
    Some of Muse's best work to date. Contains a plethora of great tracks, and the epic three part symphony. My favourites are Exogenesis, Unnatural Selection, MK Ultra and Resistance. Overall, a fantastic album.
  92. SethA.
    Sep 16, 2009
    8
    I'm a huge Muse fan, and so the reason I only gave it an 8 is that they can do better. Their first 3 albums were phenomenal, but Black Holes and this aren't quite up to par. Notable exceptions are Knights of Cydonia in Black Holes, and the Exogenesis series in this album, which are some of their best work. However, this album is amazing compared to 90 percent of what's out I'm a huge Muse fan, and so the reason I only gave it an 8 is that they can do better. Their first 3 albums were phenomenal, but Black Holes and this aren't quite up to par. Notable exceptions are Knights of Cydonia in Black Holes, and the Exogenesis series in this album, which are some of their best work. However, this album is amazing compared to 90 percent of what's out their! Can't wait to see them live. Expand
  93. josha.
    Sep 16, 2009
    10
    With this new masterpiece, Muse continue to show why they are the best band in the world today.
  94. Jason
    Sep 16, 2009
    8
    Mostly great (Uprising, The Resistance), occasionally brilliant (Exogenisis) but sometimes a bit shit (Guiding Light).
  95. bv
    Sep 16, 2009
    10
    Every song on this album offers up a different style of Muse - all leading up to the epic symphonic finale. While The Resistance is not as focused as previous efforts like Origin of Symmetry or Absolution, this is an album that will reach out to fans of a wide array of musical genres. Highly recommended.
  96. MickUsher
    Sep 16, 2009
    8
    Steals from so many sources without much of an apology, yet works pretty well overall. Highlight for me was the middle of the album which sounded like a queen/floyd mashup a lot of the time. Still, in 2009, "Dark Side at the Races" is quite a welcome experience.
  97. ThibaultT.
    Sep 16, 2009
    10
    The song not only pushes the frontiers Muse has set for itself, it's also set a new standard for progressive rock as a music genre.
  98. Chris
    Sep 16, 2009
    10
    It is rare that I am captured from beginning to end by an album, but this one definitely does just that. A rock symphony that will be enjoyed by anyone who appreciates quality music.
  99. BarryJ.
    Sep 16, 2009
    6
    A disappointment compared to previous efforts, Muse seem not to know what they want to be. Their attempts at new stylings don't really suceed, nor do their efforts at recapturing the sound and style of their early works. Really only 'Uprising' is worth a mention. Even the Exogenesis Symphony doesn;t really work: too pretentious and meandering for its own good. For every A disappointment compared to previous efforts, Muse seem not to know what they want to be. Their attempts at new stylings don't really suceed, nor do their efforts at recapturing the sound and style of their early works. Really only 'Uprising' is worth a mention. Even the Exogenesis Symphony doesn;t really work: too pretentious and meandering for its own good. For every song here (perhaps except Uprising), there's a better version of something similar on previous albums. I think Matt Bellamy has got a little lost as to where he wants to go and has made a pretentious, un-subtle, concept album that really doesn't say anything more than previous efforts - and says it less effectively. Expand
  100. MichelleW.
    Sep 16, 2009
    9
    I'm giving it a solid 9.5 as I have listened to it all the way through non stop (yes, even while at work at my desk) since Monday night. You really cannot listen to a Muse CD once and make a decision. This album is amazing. The only reason it doesn't get a 10 is because of Guiding Light. That song rates an 8.
Metascore
72

Generally favorable reviews - based on 23 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 23
  2. Negative: 1 out of 23
  1. "Black Holes and Revelations" may be a more commercial record, but The Resistance is Muse's most realized effort to date.
  2. As it stands it’s an indulgent and, at times, gorgeous listen that merely helps restate your concrete opinions about Muse.
  3. While not their best, it’s decent enough to ensure there’ll be more-- even though the truly off-the-wall moments are either rare or misguided, meaning the record feels slightly anonymous.