The Resistance

User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 436 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 38 out of 436

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. BonyByron
    Oct 30, 2009
    9
    Apart from some facepalm-worthy lyrics here and there, this album is a masterpiece. Be it the stadium shaking "Resistance" and "Uprising", the operatic "United States of eurasia", the AMAZING symphony Muse had the balls to include and the GENIUS to compose. Gives me shivers and I can't stop listenning to this album. Bravo Muse, you're a bunch of geniuses.
  2. BenL
    Sep 15, 2009
    10
    Ambitious, beautiful, epic! Pure Muse.
  3. LuisC.
    Sep 15, 2009
    10
    A true odyssey in all kinds of music...with a "grande finale" (Exogenisis). Truly epic.
  4. YourMom
    Sep 23, 2009
    9
    Excellent album. I would rate it along with their best work. Exogenesis is truly great. Enjoy.
  5. LolCat
    Nov 6, 2009
    8
    Not their best but a couple of songs hit the spot and the symphony was fantastic.
  6. BenS.
    Dec 3, 2009
    8
    There are some excellent parts to this album, notably the Exogenesis Symphony, the sleek Undisclosed Desires, United States of Eurasia and MK Ultra; but you get the feeling that Muse are trying to do too much and cover too many genres, which backfires in several songs, notably Guiding Light and IBelong to You. Still, it makes for an entertaining listen, and it is still definetely worth There are some excellent parts to this album, notably the Exogenesis Symphony, the sleek Undisclosed Desires, United States of Eurasia and MK Ultra; but you get the feeling that Muse are trying to do too much and cover too many genres, which backfires in several songs, notably Guiding Light and IBelong to You. Still, it makes for an entertaining listen, and it is still definetely worth buying the whole album. However, it lacks the cutting edge of Black Holes of Revelations, and the originality and cohesion of Origin of Symmetry and Absolution in particular. Muse had a unique sound, but they are trying to hard to combine the style of other successful acts (notably Queen, Depeche Mode and U2) into their work. It appears Muse are unsure of their identity. Expand
  7. MarioP
    Oct 26, 2009
    10
    I'm a big fan of Muse and although I was a bit disappointed by Black Holes and Revelations, I liked that album quite a bit all the same. This one is fantastic, I personally rate it just under Absolution (which is my favourite 2000's album by anyone). The only weak point is Guiding Light, which should've been cut off. Other than that, a marvellous record, with a lot of high I'm a big fan of Muse and although I was a bit disappointed by Black Holes and Revelations, I liked that album quite a bit all the same. This one is fantastic, I personally rate it just under Absolution (which is my favourite 2000's album by anyone). The only weak point is Guiding Light, which should've been cut off. Other than that, a marvellous record, with a lot of high points (my favourites are Resistance and Unnatural Selection). Takes a few listens to truly appreciate. Expand
  8. AdamP.
    Sep 15, 2009
    10
    It is amazing...mixes sounds of OoS and Black holes.
  9. GeorgeR.
    Sep 15, 2009
    9
    A fantastic album, certainly not the commercial album that Black Holes was, as such if you're only a fan of that album then you will not have the same appreciation for The Resistance. There's a few songs with single potential on the album but it was more of the band playing what they wanted to I feel, and I love it.
  10. nickp.
    Sep 17, 2009
    10
    Their best album yet. It seems too short, though.
  11. Dave
    Sep 17, 2009
    8
    A while since I played a CD twice in a row, but I needed more! It sounds good straight out of the box, but hopefully I won't tire of it too soon!
  12. ChrisG
    Sep 19, 2009
    8
    Over the top and fantastic !!!
  13. EthanB
    Sep 22, 2009
    9
    One of their better works, right alongside with Absolution and Origin of Symmetry.
  14. DanielS
    Sep 22, 2009
    9
    i think this album is simply incredible, i really can't stop listening to it, Muse is one of the best bands ever, no doubt! I don't understand why people keep comparing previous albums with the new one, i mean, if it's a new album, you should be analysing it's songs and sounds, not compare it to other albums or bands .. Muse are amazing and they should get much more i think this album is simply incredible, i really can't stop listening to it, Muse is one of the best bands ever, no doubt! I don't understand why people keep comparing previous albums with the new one, i mean, if it's a new album, you should be analysing it's songs and sounds, not compare it to other albums or bands .. Muse are amazing and they should get much more credit, this album is beautiful, the simphony is a master-piece, and people should stop complaining and just listen to good music .. Fantastic album, Muse ROCK ! Expand
  15. RtArL
    Sep 20, 2009
    9
    A great piece of music . Mix of rock, symphony and electrica. The end results is epic. Like The Times wrote" Muse have made an album of genius, brilliance and beauty".
  16. JuanL
    Sep 24, 2009
    7
    It will be utterly enjoyed by fans, although it could be a bit offputting for those who have never tasted MUSE before.
  17. MarkB.
    Sep 30, 2009
    8
    Very different - some of it I like, a couple of songs I am yet to get, but Exogenesis has blown me away - truly beautiful.
  18. PasciiH.
    Jan 19, 2010
    10
    Ok, i have to admit, i never heard of this band before. but then i heard uprising on MTV and it sounded interesting. i never buy any Cd's but i thought i will give this band a try, and i don't regret it. This album is amazing, not only the track uprising but all the other songs like united states of eurasia:) they are amazing.
  19. Mark
    Oct 10, 2009
    10
    Have listened to The Resistance for over a month now and am loving it more all the time. For me, not only Muse's best album but I'm seriously starting to question whether this is my favourite album by anyone, ever. It has everything I want and there's not one song that I don't adore. Challenging, ambitious, focused and exciting. Also, Exogenesis made me cry which Have listened to The Resistance for over a month now and am loving it more all the time. For me, not only Muse's best album but I'm seriously starting to question whether this is my favourite album by anyone, ever. It has everything I want and there's not one song that I don't adore. Challenging, ambitious, focused and exciting. Also, Exogenesis made me cry which happens NEVER. Expand
  20. JakeT
    Oct 12, 2009
    8
    I think muse has created a fantastic album, filled with a slightly heavier prog sound, but a great album nonetheless.
  21. DylanD.
    Nov 3, 2009
    10
    Excellent album from start to finish, Muse comes through again.
  22. ML
    Dec 11, 2009
    10
    What a great record! I can't believe this band flew under my radar for so long. Discovering and loving their back catalog now. What a great discovery. Great band, great record.
  23. hannahb
    Oct 2, 2009
    10
    Fantastic. Can't stop listening.
  24. BlackS
    Oct 9, 2009
    10
    Wonderfully moving and thought provoking. The whole album is beautiful. Production is how it should be, perfect, IMHO. Every instrument and every vocal contribution is just right for me. The album takes you on a musical journey and lifts your soul in the way that only certain bands can, not many even come close. Another Muse classic. Ignore what others say and just listen, you owe it to Wonderfully moving and thought provoking. The whole album is beautiful. Production is how it should be, perfect, IMHO. Every instrument and every vocal contribution is just right for me. The album takes you on a musical journey and lifts your soul in the way that only certain bands can, not many even come close. Another Muse classic. Ignore what others say and just listen, you owe it to yourself and your soul. Expand
  25. MattA.
    Sep 15, 2009
    7
    The Resistance is not going to be Muse's masterpiece. Is it a bad album? No. Their best? No. A drastic change of pace and tone? ...No. Well... sort of. 'The Resistance' sounds a lot like their previous stuff... mainly from Absolution and BH&R. However, this album makes me realize why i still like Muse. And i'll give you a hint... It's not for their originality. The Resistance is not going to be Muse's masterpiece. Is it a bad album? No. Their best? No. A drastic change of pace and tone? ...No. Well... sort of. 'The Resistance' sounds a lot like their previous stuff... mainly from Absolution and BH&R. However, this album makes me realize why i still like Muse. And i'll give you a hint... It's not for their originality. They seem to take the best parts of Radiohead, Queen, and Depeche Mode Respectively and mix them together. This one further takes the step into the Depeche Mode 'Violator'/Ultra phase. Fans of BH&R and mainly the people who came into them for their catchy pop lyrics may be a tad disappointed with the accessablitly of the album. It has a few golden tracks of metal guitar and beautiful Bellamy wailing... however if you're used to Starlight/Supermassive black hole...look else where. If you're like me and enjoyed songs like "Sing For Absolution", "Invincible" "Falling Away With You" and "Citizen Erased" each song on this CD has hints of those in it. Some tracks lose their edge do to Muse's weakness...The song writing. Lyrics are often the typical Muse-Fare of establishment/tyranny cannot prevail... and it often begins to lull the listener until a cool guitar riff awakens one. "The Resistance" will sit nicely in Muse's catalog, but will not make them remembered. 7.5/10 Key Tracks: Uprising, The Resistance, Unnatural Selection. Expand
  26. MikeS.
    Sep 15, 2009
    10
    One of the best albums of the year. THE RESISTENCE is larger than life, and contains quite a few moments of sheer brilliance. If any other band made this record (say...RADIOHEAD), it would be hailed as masterpiece. Since it's MUSE, it just won't get the credit it deserves. Well, like usual forget the critics, and brace yourself for a truly unique experience!
  27. SamE
    Sep 15, 2009
    10
    grandiose, overblown, spectacular, epic! While this album may not please some Muse fans on the "heavy rock" side, it is overall a beautiful piece of art and just like their previous work, it keeps getting better with repeat listens. And you just know the songs will sound superb live! Also, songs such as "Unnatural Selection" and 'MK Ultra" will still keep even the most disappointed grandiose, overblown, spectacular, epic! While this album may not please some Muse fans on the "heavy rock" side, it is overall a beautiful piece of art and just like their previous work, it keeps getting better with repeat listens. And you just know the songs will sound superb live! Also, songs such as "Unnatural Selection" and 'MK Ultra" will still keep even the most disappointed fans around for live performances and future work. Expand
  28. EricS
    Sep 15, 2009
    10
    A beautiful album that I will be listening to for the rest of my life. I didn't get it at first, but I understand now. It takes a few listens. I didn't really like BHaR when I first listened to it, but I love it now. The attitude of this album actually reminds me a lot of,Showbiz, Muse's first album.
  29. GustavoC
    Sep 15, 2009
    10
    I think is not the best muse's album. Ok. But 40 points?? C'mon!!
  30. AlexandreP
    Sep 15, 2009
    9
    When I see some of the ratings of the album of today like Wu-tang Clan having a 9/10 or a Nelly Furtado's 10/10..... and I see people talking about muse saying: what are they trying to do with their album ?? Why are they? Who are They? ....I'm kind of worried about the future of the music....About how would it look like. First, let me know that most of the albums of today are When I see some of the ratings of the album of today like Wu-tang Clan having a 9/10 or a Nelly Furtado's 10/10..... and I see people talking about muse saying: what are they trying to do with their album ?? Why are they? Who are They? ....I'm kind of worried about the future of the music....About how would it look like. First, let me know that most of the albums of today are singing using the famous Auto-tune. NOt only rappers! lots of singers. But when I say a little band from Teighnmouth, growing up by using a bit of pop influence to do their song, and trying to be known by some media, and singing for real on stage and using real instruments.... and now decided by themselves: Ok, now it's time to shake their heads and show what we can! ....and they put out Resistance. Why do people don't like this album? Because they thought Muse would be a little more poppier, try to do songs that would be able to be heard on a radio....sadly Muse isn't completely this. I agree yes that Undisclosed Desires is a radio-friendly songs, but that doesn't change at all the rest of the album! Can you expect from some other bands in the world a complete symphony like Exogenesis? Would you expect to have an album that tries to push the boundaries and limts of what you call a ''rock music"? Muse are not made to play rock, Muse are made to play music, in all sense, and that's what defines Muse. Rather than talking about how cool they are, how many girls they got in their party, how many drugs they can sell, how many hearts they have break or lost, Muse stand up and tries to search far more than their little noses. On the other hand, there is some songs or parts of songs that I have difficulty with, but in overall this album is a classic. Queen was hated when they alive, now they are praised. I guess it will be the same......sadly. Expand
Metascore
72

Generally favorable reviews - based on 23 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 23
  2. Negative: 1 out of 23
  1. "Black Holes and Revelations" may be a more commercial record, but The Resistance is Muse's most realized effort to date.
  2. As it stands it’s an indulgent and, at times, gorgeous listen that merely helps restate your concrete opinions about Muse.
  3. While not their best, it’s decent enough to ensure there’ll be more-- even though the truly off-the-wall moments are either rare or misguided, meaning the record feels slightly anonymous.