• Record Label: OCD
  • Release Date: Jun 27, 2006
Metascore
61

Generally favorable reviews - based on 22 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 22
  2. Negative: 2 out of 22
  1. Apart from its best tracks, it’s not close to the level of his finest work of the past.
  2. The Return isn't the return we were waiting for, but it's another explosive collection of anti-hits from hip-hop's most unique voice.
  3. Octagon's verses often feel unfocused and random, but when he bears down he can be mesmerizing. [13 Jul 2006, p.103]
  4. 60
    Flavorsome but oddly ordinary. [Aug 2006, p.77]
  5. 60
    There's just enough twisted wit among the non sequiturs to redeem this controversial release. [Oct 2006, p.100]
  6. The good stuff (those [first] three tracks, and maybe the indignant “Al Green”) provides Kool Keith an appropriate showcase and sounds like nothing else, but for much of this disc, the main man appears AWOL.
  7. 50
    We've heard this swaggering, fumbling funk before from Kool Keith's gazillion other alter-egos. [#21, p.98]
  8. The Return is supposedly a Kool Keith album, but four of the 14 tracks are skits, two mangle his vocals so the producers can show off their DJing, and one is a Princess Superstar song with Keith on the hook.
  9. "The Return of Dr. Octagon" suffers from the classic case of "too little, too late."
  10. It's hard enough to decipher his demented verses without constant interference from squelchy synth-bass farts. [Aug 2006, p.222]
  11. 40
    Keith's interaction with his producers is minimal, and his creative control so thin that vocal parts often sound like samples. [Sep 2006, p.79]
  12. Compared to what went before, The Return Of... is a massive let down.
User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 10 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 9
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 9
  3. Negative: 1 out of 9
  1. petert
    Nov 27, 2006
    10
    this is where hip hop should be going!
  2. youeatdogdododeepfried
    Oct 24, 2006
    9
    yo man, christian is got my vote, sonically this definetly the most interesting thing keith has served up in a while, the rap style and the yo man, christian is got my vote, sonically this definetly the most interesting thing keith has served up in a while, the rap style and the cuts i think make it quite edgy and different, i agree the first dr octagon was an amzing piece of work, but how should it be followed...more of the same i think not. some totally different crazy mad off the wall style thats how...and they did it Full Review »
  3. christianv
    Sep 12, 2006
    9
    There have been some really good, genre-bending hip-hop records over the last bunch of years. This is better than any of them. Way more There have been some really good, genre-bending hip-hop records over the last bunch of years. This is better than any of them. Way more interesting than Gnarls Barkley or Outkast or any of that stuff. Question to the haters...If this record is what you say it is, then why is Keith touring too promote it, doing interviews to promote it and why is Kutmasta kurt doing a remix for one of the tracks? Smells like some kind of sour-grapes issue among so-called fans. Anyway, great record. Definitely one to annoy the hip-hop conservatives. Full Review »