• Record Label: Artemis
  • Release Date: Aug 24, 2004
User Score
7.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 10 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 10
  2. Negative: 2 out of 10

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. RichardH
    Jun 30, 2005
    8
    The title track alone is worth having the disc- fiery, rocking, motivating. To Kyle C., a vast majority of great artists have always been politically inclined, and generally to the left. Tell you anything? Also, I think you meant "p*ssed [you] off to no END"-not extent. Learn your grammar from W.?
  2. kylec
    Dec 9, 2004
    0
    Earle could have been a legend, I wish artists would stay way from politics...as a Republican, this album pissed me off to no extent.
  3. BrandonS
    Aug 24, 2004
    9
    Basically, it picks up where "Jerusalem" left off. No big surprises, just more great music from the best guy out there.
  4. PaulM
    Feb 11, 2005
    1
    Used to love this guy, since he started, in fact. His Woody Guthrie of the times act is pretty lame and his politics are very immature(see; Fuck the FCC).... I saw him live tonight. His voice and energy are flagging. Maybe he should run for dog catcher somewhere and just take a break from music. He left the best of his talents back in the mid-90s somewhere....
  5. JohanF
    Aug 27, 2004
    10
    Great political album!
  6. HarlanT
    Jan 19, 2005
    9
    I cried the first time I heard "Rich Man's War." This is the finest of modern protest music.
Metascore
74

Generally favorable reviews - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. Sure, we're living in politically charged times, but Earle's Revolution warrants fewer rants and more transcendental blues.
  2. 80
    It's a fine album, mixing lean rock anthems... with the kind of ballads lesser artists would need years to write. [Oct 2004, p.116]
  3. 91
    His characters feel like individuals, not archetypes. [Sep 2004, p.114]