User Score
8.9

Universal acclaim- based on 11 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 11
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 11
  3. Negative: 0 out of 11

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. PaulD
    Apr 12, 2010
    10
    One of my favorite all-time albums.
  2. eddys
    Oct 6, 2002
    7
    Thievery Corporation deliver an aural travel-brochure, not so much of authentic worldmusic, but of their own individual, idealised, sometimes cliched, vision of globalism. Creating an ethnic music for that global tribe dwelling in loungebars, boutiques and salons around the world.
  3. RussellS
    Oct 7, 2002
    8
    Sitar, tablas, and that Mediterranean type of percussion that makes snakes shimmy, and smoke curl around vines. Hynotic, exotic, sensual, and organic - a literal Zamfir on Quaaludes.
  4. VICKYK
    Aug 13, 2005
    10
    It's my favourite song...their live performance in Greece{26/07/2005} was fantastic!!Their chill out music really takes you in another world...
  5. JD
    Sep 20, 2002
    9
    I'd give it a ten if the first album was not my favorite. Big ups for pushing a political angle on some tracks in the dirtiest city in the land, Washington DC. Nah sayers check your selves.
  6. nunhg
    Apr 23, 2003
    9
    Great music. Live show is even better (New Orleans 04/22/03). Hope they keep up the great work and collaborations.
  7. Frank
    Apr 23, 2005
    9
    Good chillout album, as are most of theirs. Have not yet heard their newest, "Cosmic Game" cd, but have all of their others. I would rate all of theirs with a 9 save for "The Outernational Sound" which I would give a 9.5, and "Babylon Rewound" which I would give a 5 - it just didn't hit my ears the right way.
  8. Jul 3, 2017
    10
    Really enjoyed listening to it. I recommend this to other people as well.
    http://www.wikidiaries.com/2017/07/the-richest-man-in-babylon-book-review-summary.html
Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 13
  2. Negative: 1 out of 13
  1. Urb
    80
    These Thieves have finally come into their own, developing a sound that's growing increasingly distinct. [Oct 2002, p.100]
  2. Playing exactly like past Thievery Corporation albums that sounded preordained from the start, The Richest Man In Babylon adopts various degrees of swagger and repose, but the cumulative effect is striking mostly for its vacancy.
  3. Q Magazine
    40
    Settles for inoffensiveness rather than innovation. [Oct 2002, p.118]