The Rising

  • Record Label: Sony
  • Release Date: Jul 30, 2002
User Score
8.2

Universal acclaim- based on 92 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 80 out of 92
  2. Negative: 11 out of 92

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. NicholasT.
    Aug 2, 2002
    10
    Quite simply Springsteen's greatest album--one of the most inspired and heroic recordings ever. Beyond words.
  2. RyanM.
    Apr 29, 2005
    10
    It seems uncanny how many great songs are on this record. One of the few albums where I never skip a track.
  3. ScottH
    Feb 13, 2006
    10
    Bruce does it again.
  4. KennyB.
    Aug 6, 2002
    10
    an album echoing the best of his past styles and innovating some new ones.Both melancholy and energising-no author could handle such subject matter better!"Paradise","missing",&"nothing man"are perfection. Music to make you hold your' breath and close your' eyes!
  5. ClaytonL.
    Aug 19, 2002
    10
    I'm a Springsteen fan - and never has he or any other artist chronicled a tragedy in what it means to the many human beings who were touched.
  6. kenw
    Oct 4, 2002
    8
    Bruce cashing in on 9/11?Do you mistake him for a member of the media?Bruce disingenuous? He's not an elected official.Lyrics simple?Doesn't most of America read at a grade 3 level?GIVE THE GUY A BREAK. HE'S EARNED IT.It might not be his best BUT the man was obviously hurting and feeling our pain.It's simple my feet tap and my thoughts go to the horror of that Bruce cashing in on 9/11?Do you mistake him for a member of the media?Bruce disingenuous? He's not an elected official.Lyrics simple?Doesn't most of America read at a grade 3 level?GIVE THE GUY A BREAK. HE'S EARNED IT.It might not be his best BUT the man was obviously hurting and feeling our pain.It's simple my feet tap and my thoughts go to the horror of that 9/11.Nothing else has garnered that reaction.8/10 Expand
  7. JulianE.
    Aug 26, 2002
    6
    Maybe it's because I'm Australian and I don't get Springsteen, but aside from the fact that he's been brave enough to tackle the awful tragedy of 9/11 and admirably kept it down to earth - it doesn't make this pedestrian set of songs with bland eighties production values thrilling music. I only write this b/c I am baffled by the stellar reviews and had to put Maybe it's because I'm Australian and I don't get Springsteen, but aside from the fact that he's been brave enough to tackle the awful tragedy of 9/11 and admirably kept it down to earth - it doesn't make this pedestrian set of songs with bland eighties production values thrilling music. I only write this b/c I am baffled by the stellar reviews and had to put something down! Expand
  8. RoyalC.
    Aug 14, 2002
    9
    The Boss is surely back. The Rising is an album that yearns for that "human connection" that too many of us have been lacking. Although much of the album is rightfully melancholy, each song seems to, rather musically or lyrically, have that undying silver lining.
  9. RoyD.
    Aug 2, 2002
    10
    Easily the most diverse Springsteen album ever, "The Rising" hits on all cylinders! From ballads to rockers and all points in between, this CD is truly a force.
  10. AaronL
    Oct 7, 2002
    10
    Springsteen hasn't sounded this impassioned, rockin', personal, or just plain fantastic since "Tunnel of Love." A true triumph of heart and spirit that reflects this moment in time, yet will not grow old or dated.
  11. TessaS.
    Sep 9, 2002
    10
    You don't have to be American to 'get' Springsteen (true Ozzie comment) but I rate this as one of his best. It's poetic, touching and yet full of the raunch that we love about the Boss.
  12. Brian
    Jul 19, 2004
    9
    One of his better CDs. But definitely not his best. No way it compares to BTR, Darkness, the River, and Live 75-85. But I'd put it up there in the second tier with BITUSA, Wild, Innocent and E Street Shuffle, Tunnel of Love. FYI - Zagats guide to music 2003 says the "Rising" is the best album of this decade so far.
  13. JakeH
    Jul 22, 2004
    10
    The Rising is one of the best songs ever written and Bruce Springsteen is the greatest singer song writer since Bob Dylan
  14. PatD.
    Aug 9, 2002
    10
    Love it !!!!! Love it!!!!
  15. Troy
    Jul 31, 2002
    10
    An instant classic. Emotional, evocative and excellent.
  16. NseE
    Aug 10, 2003
    10
    Fantastic! Beautiful, moving, deep. Contains possibly the greatest song on loss ever released (You're missing). The boss.
  17. J.Mershon
    Sep 10, 2002
    10
    rating of 10! this is one man's expression of life as he sees it...just as he has been doing for the past 30yrs. He is moving on with his life and sharing it with us - let him. I drove 4hrs got lost and drove an extra 1.5 hours to be in Asbury Park 7/30/02. Thank you Bruce for letting me, & while my speakers worked, (all my neighbors) be a part - "the Rising" is another "chapter" ... rating of 10! this is one man's expression of life as he sees it...just as he has been doing for the past 30yrs. He is moving on with his life and sharing it with us - let him. I drove 4hrs got lost and drove an extra 1.5 hours to be in Asbury Park 7/30/02. Thank you Bruce for letting me, & while my speakers worked, (all my neighbors) be a part - "the Rising" is another "chapter" ... this is turning into a "great book". Expand
  18. ChristianM.
    Sep 12, 2002
    10
    Many will agree that the songs fall into place after listening to them a few times. In other words, the more you listen to them, the better they get especially after learning the lyrics. The music is also right for the lyrics and surprisingly catchy for a tragic subject. He capture all aspects of Rock. I was at the opener at the Meadowlands and as with most of Bruce's work, the songs Many will agree that the songs fall into place after listening to them a few times. In other words, the more you listen to them, the better they get especially after learning the lyrics. The music is also right for the lyrics and surprisingly catchy for a tragic subject. He capture all aspects of Rock. I was at the opener at the Meadowlands and as with most of Bruce's work, the songs take on a different meaning when played live. I don't think Bruce's intention was to out do himself in any way. Though simple, the songs are carefully thought out, and at the same time, as real as it gets. He tastefully captures the emotions of many who were directly and indirectly affected by the tragedy. Very somber and uplifting, his message comes through loud and clear. Keep Rockin' Bruce! Expand
  19. DavidJ.
    Jul 31, 2002
    10
    Poignant and uplifting...a truly great and timely record.
  20. EvaD.
    Aug 26, 2002
    10
    possitivly one of his best yet!!! he always is the voice for all americans. We can't get enough of it!!!
  21. MichaelE.
    Aug 16, 2002
    10
    Not my faqvorite, but perhaps the only album I've heard this year in which EVERY song is equally strong. And I've heard all the big ones.
  22. BobG
    Dec 7, 2002
    10
    From beginning to end this disc is a masterpiece.
  23. LydiaE.
    Aug 2, 2002
    6
    Lyrics too greeting card simple unlike the ineffable poetry of most of his work. The music without surprise or dimension, excepting the bone marrow glimmer of Missing and the Sufi track.....
  24. ChadS.
    Aug 2, 2002
    10
    Seriously, the world is a better place now that Bruce Springsteen is making vital music again. I just finished watching he, along with the E Street Band torch The Late Show with David Letterman. Rivers Cuomo is god! Doesn't quite have the same ring as Bruce Springsteen is god, does it? By the way, if anybody knows the Boss and is reading this message, could you tell him to come to Seriously, the world is a better place now that Bruce Springsteen is making vital music again. I just finished watching he, along with the E Street Band torch The Late Show with David Letterman. Rivers Cuomo is god! Doesn't quite have the same ring as Bruce Springsteen is god, does it? By the way, if anybody knows the Boss and is reading this message, could you tell him to come to Hawaii? Aloha Stadium holds 50,000. The jab at Weezer stems from my anger at their breaking up a month before their arrival here. Adam Ant cancelled too. Expand
  25. MarthaR.
    Aug 6, 2002
    10
    His best!!!!! He only gets better with age!
  26. OlavV.
    Aug 14, 2002
    9
    Though I'm european and the 11th may have had a less impact on my life, then on American's, i can't imagine you can't find comfort and console in songs as 'into the fire, u're missing, the rising, my city of ruins. It's a great album!
  27. kennyb
    Mar 12, 2005
    10
    Best album of that year and one of my favourites ever".Nothing man","missing you",and" the rising" are moving and soberly stirring, whilst "paradise" must be the most beautiful and poignant song ever!
  28. DaveJ
    Apr 12, 2005
    10
    Bruce's best since Born in the USA.
  29. MattJ
    Apr 29, 2005
    8
    It feels a little bloated - there are a couple of mediocre cuts that weigh the CD down. But, you take the ten best cuts, and you have a tight, excellent 50-minute album that's arguably one of his best. "Worlds Apart," "Empty Sky," and "Into The Fire" were later given much better arrangements in concert, but the original versions here are still good. The title track, "Lonesome Day," It feels a little bloated - there are a couple of mediocre cuts that weigh the CD down. But, you take the ten best cuts, and you have a tight, excellent 50-minute album that's arguably one of his best. "Worlds Apart," "Empty Sky," and "Into The Fire" were later given much better arrangements in concert, but the original versions here are still good. The title track, "Lonesome Day," "Mary's Place," "Nothing Man," "Paradise," and "You're Missing" are good to great songs, and "My City's In Ruins" is a great closer (though I prefer the acoustic version on the TRIBUTE TO HEROES 9/11 charity CD). The rest is mediocre stuff and the crowd-pleasing "Waiting On A Sunny Day" is annoying with really bad lyrics, but you can program those out. Expand
  30. MikeA
    May 6, 2005
    9
    Historical release. 9/11 lived through one of contemporary music's most relevant songwriters.
  31. ScottY
    Jul 14, 2005
    10
    I reserve the coveted 10 for masterpieces, and this may be the album of the decade. Bruce is truly an American rock poet and this CD really captures a lot of moods surrounding 9/11 and beyond. The production is excellent, the band sounds great, and I don't think it can be compared to his other top albums. BTR, et al, are 10s, too, but a 10 from a different time.
  32. ZackA
    Apr 6, 2006
    10
    Eloquence in music and lyric that comes from no other master than Bruce Springsteen.
  33. RickP.
    Aug 4, 2002
    10
    It's a complete surprise to get a rock album this good. Even from Bruce , I did'nt expect something that is this important and emotional.
  34. WilliamH.
    Aug 11, 2002
    10
    Nobody from our generation, both young and old can see the vision and express feelings better than Bruce. In concert - this record is a religious celebration - and tribute to the changes that 9/11 bring to our lives.
  35. PeterC
    Mar 5, 2003
    10
    From the stark vision of "The Sky is Empty" to the rollicking, rallying chorus of "Waiting on A Sunny Day" to the anthemic "The Rising" and the house party "Mary's Place," this vital album further entrenches Springsteen in the rock n' roll Pantheon. And it should demonstrate his hipness to a couple of grunge-blasted generations whose entire experience with the Boss began and From the stark vision of "The Sky is Empty" to the rollicking, rallying chorus of "Waiting on A Sunny Day" to the anthemic "The Rising" and the house party "Mary's Place," this vital album further entrenches Springsteen in the rock n' roll Pantheon. And it should demonstrate his hipness to a couple of grunge-blasted generations whose entire experience with the Boss began and ended with the "Born in the USA" video when they were 6 and who dismissed Springsteen as another Johnny Cougar. Collapse
  36. DennisD.
    Aug 8, 2002
    10
    This was one of bruce's absolute best albums. This will stand the test of time like the River & Born to Run. Great Job Bruce!!!!!
  37. JimmyJazz
    Aug 5, 2002
    7
    Great in places, but not totally solid.
  38. JoanK.
    Aug 7, 2002
    5
    Depressing and contrived. I've been a huge Bruce fan since he played at the Capitol Theater in Passaic NJ in the 70's; seen him many times. this is not one of his finest moments. I don't see what all the positive buzz is about. I bought the CD just to complete my collection, buy it's not my favorite by a long shot!
  39. EdgarF.
    Jul 30, 2002
    8
    A solid return to form.
  40. CRL
    Jul 30, 2011
    10
    This was the first album I ever listened to, and it stuck with me ever since. I was six years old on 9/11, and back then I really didn't understand what was going on. Now that I do, this album really brings it all into focus. Every song is moving in its own way and together they make a masterpiece like none other.
  41. Apr 9, 2012
    10
    This album is a fantastic return, the Boss does it again, with power, expression and fantastic tracks. While most of the songs were written after September 11, 2001, a few of them pre-date the attacks. It's been rumoured that Springsteen got the inspiration for the album a few days after the 9/11 attacks
  42. Dec 17, 2013
    9
    While the title of the record isn't autobiograhpical for Springsteen, it might as well have been. I'm not sure if Bruce ever completely lost his mojo (1995's The Ghost of Tom Joad is evidence enough) but many will agree that the once insuppressible Rock N Roller from New Jersey lost something other than his band during the mid 80's. The Renaissance of The Boss began with this reflectiveWhile the title of the record isn't autobiograhpical for Springsteen, it might as well have been. I'm not sure if Bruce ever completely lost his mojo (1995's The Ghost of Tom Joad is evidence enough) but many will agree that the once insuppressible Rock N Roller from New Jersey lost something other than his band during the mid 80's. The Renaissance of The Boss began with this reflective yet hopefull record. Over the decade or so since his come back with this album, his output has been incredibly consistent in terms of high quality as seems to continue to feed off the positivity present on this record. Springsteen hadn't sounded so appealling to the masses in almost 20 years before this and the majority of songs here woulnd't be out of place on any of his classic records between 1975 and 1984.

    The tunes have a big big sound, the lyrics are full of typical Springsteen slogan's of positivity and hope and while the cynic might call them cheesy at times, they couldn't be more suited for purpose. With plenty of epics and not a bad song to be found, "The Rising" is a must have record.
    Expand
  43. Dec 28, 2014
    9
    Excelente Álbum!!!,O melhor desde Born In The U.S.A 84,Um álbum potente em todos os sentidos baladas e rock.
    Top 9 The Rising
    1-Countin' On A Miracle
    2-Into The Fire
    3-Lonesome Day
    4-Worlds Apart
    5-Waitin' On A Sunny Day
    6-The Rising
    7-Empty Sky
    8-Mary's Place
    9-Let's Be Friends (Skin To Skin)
Metascore
82

Universal acclaim - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 21
  2. Negative: 0 out of 21
  1. Springsteen refuses to allow himself either vengefulness or excessive pride, and he avoids too-literal musings on the tragedy that ultimately undermined songs like Neil Young's "Let's Roll."
  2. 80
    The most eloquent artistic response yet to the World Trade Center tragedy. [Sep 2002, p.130]
  3. 90
    Both sober and celebratory, The Rising makes a strong case for the transcending power of rock and roll.