The Road And The Radio - Kenny Chesney
The Road And The Radio Image
Metascore
57

Mixed or average reviews - based on 7 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 12 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The country singer's second 2005 album is poppier than the first, although it contains just two Chesney originals.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 7
  2. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. 7 This is Chesney doing what he does so very well, and his legions of fans will eat it up. [12 Nov 2005]
  2. Chesney sticks with what he knows best: drinking ("Beer in Mexico"), driving ("Somebody Take Me Home") and raising his glass to everyday heroes ("Who You'd Be Today").
  3. It's a far more sobering work than his previous album. [9 Nov 2005]
  4. More arena-ready and less ickily ponderous than this year's Be As You Are, though not as fun as the frat-rocking honkytonk from his earlier albums. [1 Dec 2005, p.128]
  5. The problem with The Road and the Radio is that the songs just aren't very memorable.
  6. He sounds ragged, out of tune in places. He simply doesn't sing as well as he used to.
  7. 40
    The melodies are strikingly generic for a star act. [Dec 2005, p.144]
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 6
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 6
  3. Negative: 1 out of 6
  1. SindyT
    Nov 21, 2005
    10
    I love his new alubum another perfect cd from one of the best country singers out there.I cant wait for the next one keep up all the great work kenny!!! Expand
  2. SadieD
    Feb 12, 2006
    10
    I love all of Kenny Chesney's CD/songs. I love his taste in music. He will never be bad for me.
  3. lauran
    Dec 6, 2005
    10
    I think it's great, true Kenny Chesney music. His voice is smooth as gold although you can hear the strain of his stressful life in this cd. The songs weren't as flashy, they are more traditional Expand
  4. ken-e-man
    Dec 16, 2005
    10
    been there from the beginning!!-this new ablum is as good as any of his other best work!!! I was leary after that island cd(total crap!!) but this one is great!!!!!!! Expand
  5. Jun 30, 2012
    8
    A solid album from one of country music's staples. Kenny delivers a fun album that fans can listen to and enjoy. Highlights off this LP are: Summertime, Who You'd be Today, Beer In Mexico and Living In Fast Forward. Collapse
  6. VaughnA
    Dec 20, 2005
    0
    Merle Haggard once commented about the current crop of Nashville performers, "This isn't country music. It isn't even good rock and roll". Kenny Chesney is the epitome of that statement. It's puka-bead music for still-in-the-closet frat boys. He sucks, and as his ex-wife declared, "He's a fraud". Expand