The Royal Society - The Eighties Matchbox B-Line Disaster
The Royal Society Image
Metascore
84

Universal acclaim - based on 7 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 12 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Chris Goss (Kyuss) produced this second album for the UK rockers.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 7
  2. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. Confrontational, clammy, brimming with confidence... ‘Royal Society’ is as majestic as its title implies.
  2. This record is full of the illogical, instinctive, incomprehensible poetry that the BEST Rock & Roll lyrics are made of, and contains some of the most distinctive and indeed brilliant music of the last ten years/twenty five years/ever/let's get more carried away.
  3. There’s something horrific about this record; it’s possessed by an indefinable evil that permeates every song.
  4. [Singer Guy] McKnight's baritone, which could earn him a packet doing horror movie voiceovers, injects melodrama into songs already drowning in it.
  5. 80
    Explores themes of mental derailment and the black arts against a backdrop of the heaviest psychobilly, grunge-metal and stoner rock. [Nov 2004, p.106]
  6. A demented, disjointed, delicious-as-human-rump-steak modern classic. [23 Oct 2004, p.49]
  7. These songs display such moustache-twirling camp that they exert a lively pull despite the undead atmospherics. [Dec 2004, p.136]
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 8
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 8
  3. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. Foxy
    Mar 1, 2005
    10
    What a great follow-up to Hörse Of The Dög. They couldn't have got it much better!
  2. FuonqrrjetV
    Jan 7, 2005
    10
    The Disaster still hasn't come over continental europe ... ... that's the disaster actually
  3. KurdtS
    Nov 10, 2004
    10
    How can an album be so cool? Joy Division meets XTC meets Devo meets Ramones meets all those 80's one-hit-wonders in the House of How can an album be so cool? Joy Division meets XTC meets Devo meets Ramones meets all those 80's one-hit-wonders in the House of Frankenstein. Decide for yourself. Expand
  4. rokker
    Jan 26, 2005
    10
    This is an incredible record - there's nothing like these guys around at the moment. I can hear bits of David Bowie, Black Sabbath, This is an incredible record - there's nothing like these guys around at the moment. I can hear bits of David Bowie, Black Sabbath, System Of A Down, The Cramps, The Doors, Dead Kennedies, Nick Cave, Iggy Pop and much more. People tell me the live shows are unbelieveable but I haven't seen them yet. Can't wait though!! Expand
  5. [Anonymous]
    Nov 15, 2004
    9
    This is a stunning album that may take a few listen throughs for some people. Yet the boys' brilliance shines through here and should be This is a stunning album that may take a few listen throughs for some people. Yet the boys' brilliance shines through here and should be purchased by all people. Expand
  6. Kesher
    May 29, 2005
    9
    Hahahaha and indeed ha! Riffs from Heaven...Basslines from Hell...Thumbs Up !!
  7. JohnH
    Jan 23, 2006
    8
    In my opinion, this is THE most underrated band in the world TODAY. Trust me, listen to these guys. Look online for a streamed free-play. In my opinion, this is THE most underrated band in the world TODAY. Trust me, listen to these guys. Look online for a streamed free-play. Tune in to music channels, and hope that they come on. This band NEEDS to be heard. Full stop. Collapse

See all 8 User Reviews