The Runaway Found

User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 17 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 17
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 17
  3. Negative: 1 out of 17

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. SeanW
    Jan 2, 2005
    9
    I love this album. It is original and intoxicating! Not sure if the US will get it, but our buying public doesnt generally have very good taste.
  2. MikeD
    Mar 2, 2005
    9
    It didnt leave my cd player for 2 weeks.
  3. DeirdreS
    Jun 25, 2005
    10
    Every osng shines - one of the best albums of recent years
  4. nt.TanvilaiPong
    Jun 18, 2006
    9
    I love this album It sounds like nothing I've heard for many years.
  5. ColleenW
    Jan 14, 2005
    9
    Love, love, love it.
  6. AnthonyS
    Oct 26, 2005
    10
    In a music world where magazines will print the best ratings for the hottest acts, based solely on the fact that it will sell more copies, it feels astounding to know that The Veils will be the best kept secret for true music lover everywhere. With all of these references to Starsailor and Coldplay, I think an enigmatic band such as The Veils should be compared more to bands who have In a music world where magazines will print the best ratings for the hottest acts, based solely on the fact that it will sell more copies, it feels astounding to know that The Veils will be the best kept secret for true music lover everywhere. With all of these references to Starsailor and Coldplay, I think an enigmatic band such as The Veils should be compared more to bands who have truly opend new ground for other acts. Take Afghan Wigs, The Philharmonic Orchestra and throw in a dash of The Velvet Underground...Ladies and Gentlemen...I give you The Veils. Expand
  7. SamP
    Feb 24, 2005
    9
    Not a single bad track. Andrews voice is fantastic. 'Lavina' is one of the best songs I've heard in a long while.
  8. AndrewK
    Nov 16, 2004
    9
    It's bloody ace!
  9. Tara
    Mar 31, 2005
    9
    I've fallen completely in love this this album.. 'Lavinia' being my favorite followed by 'Talk Down the Girl' (although I really do love every song)
Metascore
74

Generally favorable reviews - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 16
  2. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. Alternative Press
    80
    Where Starsailor failed at morphing Britpop with orchestral flair, the Veils soar. [Aug 2004, p.118]
  2. They’re a perfect opening band: professional and sufficiently appealing on a sonic level without risking upstaging the headliner with any distinct personality or emotional resonance.
  3. If you like your heart soaked in red wine, and your records to sigh and sway, come hither.