User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 67 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 50 out of 67
  2. Negative: 15 out of 67

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. SandyS
    Oct 18, 2005
    3
    Obnoxious unlistenable album.
  2. DylanC
    Jan 31, 2006
    0
    Crap.
  3. ErikH
    Aug 13, 2007
    3
    I bought this CD after many recommendations from friends and critics, and wow was I disappointed. They sound like low-rate Blonde Redhead outtakes. If that sounds appealing to you, by all means purchase this CD and enjoy 20 tracks of it.
  4. mackye
    Nov 1, 2005
    2
    No idea what most of the critics have been smoking but the vocals of this band are dreadful, like a doll being strangled. Iit makes it impossible to appreciate the few moments there actually is something worth listening too.
  5. alexk
    Oct 23, 2005
    2
    Deerhoof is the just latest flavor of the month --please stop calling this annoying POS a masterpiece.
  6. [Anonymous]
    Jan 3, 2006
    1
    There is no clearer indictment of Pitchfork's penchant for pretention than their endorsement of this album as the 6th best album of 2005. Unlistenable garbage.
  7. MSixteen
    May 19, 2006
    1
    After a second listen, I couldn't help skipping the songs.. The singer is sooooo annoying with her fake cutsy-child-like voice. That's beside the fact that she never hit the right notes! People who appreciate this album must be deaf! or music illiterate! this is what I like to call "fashion music" :P
  8. JohnS
    Sep 27, 2006
    0
    Just saw them open for the Flaming Lips and I got there early because of the type of hype and praise given them--boy what a waste of time! The only redeeming quality is the thunderous balls out drummer. The guitarist churns out 3rd rate Polvo riffs that were done better 15 years ago. And finally the singer--- girly cute monosyllabic lyrical nonsense. Repeating panda 20x in a row is not Just saw them open for the Flaming Lips and I got there early because of the type of hype and praise given them--boy what a waste of time! The only redeeming quality is the thunderous balls out drummer. The guitarist churns out 3rd rate Polvo riffs that were done better 15 years ago. And finally the singer--- girly cute monosyllabic lyrical nonsense. Repeating panda 20x in a row is not inspired, clever, musical or worth anyone's time. I beg of someone to explain this rubbish to me. I have adored the Flaming Lips since 1989 and tons of other indie/alt, but this and the scores all the reviewers gave it I just don't get. I would have rated this higher for the drummer's talents, but I reminded myself that he has hitched his wagon to the horrid, untalented vocalist. Expand
  9. CanadianPhilosopher
    Nov 1, 2005
    2
    Sometimes when I listen to bands that critics rave over, I wonder... do they (the reviewers) get together and decide to play a trick on us (the listeners)? Tthe reason I ask is because this bands stinks.
  10. Mark
    Oct 14, 2005
    3
    I am not hard to pleaseand when I saw how much the critics loved this album I rushed to get it. How terribly disappointing. I might be wrong but I think they confused bad for different. Lack of talent is rephrased as child like and creative.
  11. HomerSimpson
    Dec 12, 2005
    1
    if can get over the squeaking of the lead singer, then maybe you'd appreciate the music.. have the critics heard the album?
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 22 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 22
  2. Negative: 1 out of 22
  1. All told, it's another triumph for a band whose creative peak seems to defy gravity with each passing year.
  2. Even though the manic intensity that characterized work like Reveille is missed a little here, The Runners Four is still a far cry from typical indie rock; in fact, it sounds more like one of Deerhoof's older albums played at half-speed than anything else.
  3. The Runners Four manages to capture the unbridled intensity and utter joy these four carry across in a live setting.