User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 67 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 50 out of 67
  2. Negative: 15 out of 67

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 26, 2011
    10
    This is one of the most tragically underrated albums on this site. It's a cutesy-brutesy masterwork with tons of delightfully catchy riffs and melodies counterpointed by jagged, face-melting rock-outs, often in the same song. A lot of people can't get over Satomi Matsuzaki's voice and the group's undeniable weirdness, but anyone willing to embrace Deerhoof's eccentricities will find a lotThis is one of the most tragically underrated albums on this site. It's a cutesy-brutesy masterwork with tons of delightfully catchy riffs and melodies counterpointed by jagged, face-melting rock-outs, often in the same song. A lot of people can't get over Satomi Matsuzaki's voice and the group's undeniable weirdness, but anyone willing to embrace Deerhoof's eccentricities will find a lot to love here. Few albums can put anyone in a good mood as effortlessly as this glorious, sprawling mess of kitschy ear candy. Expand
  2. MartiH
    Oct 25, 2005
    9
    One of the year's best. On par with Apple O' and better than Milk Man. If you haven't heard them before, it's an acquired taste. I agree with an earlier comment - give it a dozen listens.
  3. MattA
    Apr 5, 2007
    10
    As you can see, Deerhoof reviews tend to be a bit polarizing. I personally feel that Deerhoof are one of the most innovative and creative bands currently making music, as well as one of the best. There's simply no other bands out there that sound like them. I feel that a lot of negative reviewers out there just simply don't get it. Sure Deerhoof isn't for everyone and a lot As you can see, Deerhoof reviews tend to be a bit polarizing. I personally feel that Deerhoof are one of the most innovative and creative bands currently making music, as well as one of the best. There's simply no other bands out there that sound like them. I feel that a lot of negative reviewers out there just simply don't get it. Sure Deerhoof isn't for everyone and a lot of their material is initially inaccessible. I'll admit to being a bit perplexed by the band upon first listen. But with time the album takes on a different life form and you begin to see it for the fantastic music it is. The best records never expose their greatest in the fullest extent upon first listen...it is gradual. I really feel with time Deerhoof will get the appreciation they deserve, though it is gaining a bit through opening lots for big acts like Radiohead, the Flaming Lips and Wilco. I wouldn't be surprised that years into the future Deerhoof is looked back at one of the definitive bands of this era. They deserve that stature. Expand
  4. CharlesB
    Apr 5, 2007
    10
    Food for thought: David Bowie, David Byrne, Thom Yorke, Thurston Moore, Wayne Coyne, and Jeff Tweedy all love Deerhoof. This album was 2005's greatest achievement and I hold it as the best album of the year. Deerhoof's talent is incredible, both technically as all members are immensely skilled at the instruments as well as their songwriting skills. There's an abundance of Food for thought: David Bowie, David Byrne, Thom Yorke, Thurston Moore, Wayne Coyne, and Jeff Tweedy all love Deerhoof. This album was 2005's greatest achievement and I hold it as the best album of the year. Deerhoof's talent is incredible, both technically as all members are immensely skilled at the instruments as well as their songwriting skills. There's an abundance of catchy melodies on this record, all of which originated by the band (no melody stealing here!) Fantastic! Expand
  5. MaxS
    Oct 11, 2005
    10
    Quite an amazing effort from one of the most captivating and compulsively amazing bands of the last ten years. A highlight of the year and a delight to the senses.
  6. Dan
    Oct 11, 2005
    9
    just awesome. a mature step forward.
  7. ToddG
    Oct 12, 2005
    9
    Giant step forward. Definately holds its own against this years best releases. Still can't displace The New Lows or My Morning Jacket.
  8. Jeff
    Oct 15, 2005
    9
    It initially seems pretty inaccesible because of Satomi's vocals and the eclectic arrangements, but you just need to acclimate yourself. There are some brilliant riffs on this album.
  9. JosephM
    Oct 15, 2005
    10
    Great album! After listening to it, I am not sure why some fans don't appreciate it. An impressive effort and one of the most original sounding and consistent bands of this time.
  10. JackD
    Oct 20, 2005
    9
    Wonderful record! Ranks as one of my favorites of the year. Deerhoof have always been for more adventurous listeners.
  11. KurtM
    Jan 7, 2006
    10
    This is an amazing LP. It has it's own sound and creates new music through experimentation, yet it's melodies are still catchy and accessible. Some may not like it because of it's complexity, but to any trained listener, this is a great album. The contrast between the lead singer's voice and the sounds they use is extremely effective in every song. Their musical talent This is an amazing LP. It has it's own sound and creates new music through experimentation, yet it's melodies are still catchy and accessible. Some may not like it because of it's complexity, but to any trained listener, this is a great album. The contrast between the lead singer's voice and the sounds they use is extremely effective in every song. Their musical talent is further backed by the raw power of songs like "After Me The Deluge" or "You Can See." This is certainly one of the best LP's of 2005. Expand
  12. RG
    Jun 13, 2007
    10
    aaah deerhoof. music as we know it has taken another step to shattering itself and constructing something so basic and so exciting that everynote while meaning nothng carries a sense of purpose. i can t shed that feeling throughout this record. this group is bringing back rock not as other rock gorups do by replicating a former style but creating something playful in a new reincarnation aaah deerhoof. music as we know it has taken another step to shattering itself and constructing something so basic and so exciting that everynote while meaning nothng carries a sense of purpose. i can t shed that feeling throughout this record. this group is bringing back rock not as other rock gorups do by replicating a former style but creating something playful in a new reincarnation of a former style. simply an amazing record Expand
  13. aaron
    Nov 15, 2005
    10
    you either love them or hate them, as is the case with any band that actually sounds UNIQUE (What a concept!!!!) for those that hate them, thats fine, but i strongly suggest saving your hateful comments for "artists" who truly deserve to be removed from popular culture, like ashlee simpson. love or hate deerhoof, this world is still MUCH better off with a little variety amongst all this you either love them or hate them, as is the case with any band that actually sounds UNIQUE (What a concept!!!!) for those that hate them, thats fine, but i strongly suggest saving your hateful comments for "artists" who truly deserve to be removed from popular culture, like ashlee simpson. love or hate deerhoof, this world is still MUCH better off with a little variety amongst all this boring and homogenized garbage.... Expand
  14. Jared
    Nov 27, 2005
    10
    While this album definately isn't for everyone, to those who enjoy experimental work and pop songs that kick you in the head, this is an amazing album. Check out the guitar smashing on "Scream Team" and the quiet beauty of "After Me the Deluge."
  15. Ralphy
    Oct 14, 2005
    10
    One of the top albums of the year.
  16. JosephW
    Oct 14, 2005
    10
    Best album of the year by far.
  17. crumbtrail
    Nov 5, 2005
    10
    A seroiusly great record. The production is warm and rich, the riffs are chunky and the rhythm section is on fire!!! This is the only Deerhoof record I would call consistently listenable. The others have great songs (milkman even has a few good sequences) but this is by far their pinnacle. Wrong Time Capsule and Spirit Ditties of No Tone are worth the price of admission.
  18. Daniel
    Oct 18, 2005
    9
    An excellent record. My favorite of the year so far, and one of Deerhoof's best (along with Reveille and Apple O'). "Rrrrrright" is such a fantastic song and a great closer. And as usual, Greg Saunier somehow manages to simultaneously be one of the most subtle and yet most powerful drummers out there.
  19. RyanH
    Oct 18, 2005
    10
    15 listens. Minimum. And then 5 more. All the way through. And then, maybe, I can only hope, you'll get it. Because it's all there; my intervention the purchasing of the new Wolf Parade so I'd be forced, if only for a day, to stop listening to Runners Four.
  20. SeanT
    Dec 11, 2005
    10
    perfect deerhoof. cant get enough of this one.
  21. AndrewG
    Dec 12, 2005
    10
    Best album of 2005. Nothing like Milkman, except superficial. Really nothing like any Deerhoof album before except in infectiousness.
  22. FishyBooty
    Oct 24, 2005
    9
    It isn't immediately catchy as thier other albums and I was expecting something that sounded like Green Cosmos. At first listen, it was almost too tame to be the Deerhoof I've grown to love, but something kept bringing me back. This is a "grower" and those "growers" are always the best albums. Amazing work and very charming.
  23. Aaron
    Oct 24, 2005
    9
    Wow!!! Now this is an awesome album. Experimental but very accessible. A terrific listen.
  24. JackS
    Jun 11, 2006
    10
    Hands down the best album of 2005. Absolutely amazing.
  25. DrewB
    Aug 15, 2006
    9
    is there really anything better than post-post ironic bands? the answer nope
  26. RockAbilly
    Dec 31, 2005
    10
    My favorite of 2005. I think the NY Times review was the most dead on. These guys have intricate composition that people with less atuned ears would consider "noise" and "fuzz." Listen to the guitar leads, drumming, and even singing. Musically everything is really interesting and experimental. The syncopation, the play between bass and guitar. Sometimes the lead singer's voice echoes My favorite of 2005. I think the NY Times review was the most dead on. These guys have intricate composition that people with less atuned ears would consider "noise" and "fuzz." Listen to the guitar leads, drumming, and even singing. Musically everything is really interesting and experimental. The syncopation, the play between bass and guitar. Sometimes the lead singer's voice echoes guitars and sometimes vice-versa. I was dissapointed that pitchfork had this at 6 at the year top ten. It is ten times more creative than anything else I heard this year. Expand
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 22 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 22
  2. Negative: 1 out of 22
  1. All told, it's another triumph for a band whose creative peak seems to defy gravity with each passing year.
  2. Even though the manic intensity that characterized work like Reveille is missed a little here, The Runners Four is still a far cry from typical indie rock; in fact, it sounds more like one of Deerhoof's older albums played at half-speed than anything else.
  3. The Runners Four manages to capture the unbridled intensity and utter joy these four carry across in a live setting.