• Record Label: eOne
  • Release Date: Sep 13, 2011
Metascore
51

Mixed or average reviews - based on 10 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 10
  2. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. Sep 30, 2011
    80
    As a record, this The Sea of Memories is easily the most enjoyable collection of songs released under Bush's name.
  2. Sep 12, 2011
    60
    The quartet's first record in a decade is a surprisingly vital viva-la-grunge manifesto.
  3. Nov 17, 2011
    50
    The Sea of Memories will most likely please those few Bush fans who've been hoping for a reunion, but it will not change the minds of those who relegated Bush to nothing more than a disingenuous rip-off of so many more brilliant '90s alterna-rock acts.
  4. Sep 13, 2011
    50
    Memories does indeed trigger some, particularly when a big-chorused rocker ("The Afterlife") opens up like a razor-blade suitcase. As for the ballads, you're better off YouTubing "Glycerine" -- or one of the tearjerkers ("Forever May You Run" ) from Rossdale's underappreciated 2008 solo disc.
  5. 50
    What The Sea of Memories does is inject some life into the Bush brand, proving that Rossdale isn't ready to call it a day.
  6. Oct 11, 2011
    42
    The Sea Of Memories plays like an endless replay of Rossdale's past musical miscues.
  7. 42
    The Sea adds exactly zero entries to the totally awesome Bush greatest-hits album that doesn't exist yet. [23 Sep 2011, p.79]
  8. Nov 23, 2011
    40
    Bob Rock's big production ladles on the reverb, merely emphasizing hollowness at the core. [Dec 2011, p.81]
  9. Nov 17, 2011
    40
    As far as comebacks go, sadly, this is not a good one. [29 Oct 2011, p.52]
  10. Sep 9, 2011
    40
    It's a mediocre album, and I'm only being hard on you because I sincerely wanted more. Like a pissy parent, I'm not mad at you... I'm disappointed.
User Score
6.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 11 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 4
  2. Negative: 1 out of 4
  1. Oct 3, 2011
    7
    I enjoyed this album as a whole ,but i can not find one track that is going to stick in my head 10 years from now . I think they lost some ofI enjoyed this album as a whole ,but i can not find one track that is going to stick in my head 10 years from now . I think they lost some of the hunger in the early albums and replaced it with well written songs ,that are well thought out but not amazing . All in all if you like bush ,you should enjoy this . Full Review »
  2. Sep 29, 2011
    3
    What I wouldn't give for the days of even Golden State. Bush desperately needs their original bassist and lead guitarist back.
  3. Nov 7, 2011
    5
    As a whole I think it's better than their last two releases. The front end is stronger than the back end but it's medium quality is prettyAs a whole I think it's better than their last two releases. The front end is stronger than the back end but it's medium quality is pretty consistant. It's nothing special. Full Review »