The Sea of Memories

  • Record Label: eOne
  • Release Date: Sep 13, 2011
User Score
6.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 11 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 11
  2. Negative: 1 out of 11
Buy On

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 29, 2011
    3
    What I wouldn't give for the days of even Golden State. Bush desperately needs their original bassist and lead guitarist back.
  2. Oct 3, 2011
    7
    I enjoyed this album as a whole ,but i can not find one track that is going to stick in my head 10 years from now . I think they lost some of the hunger in the early albums and replaced it with well written songs ,that are well thought out but not amazing . All in all if you like bush ,you should enjoy this .
  3. Nov 7, 2011
    5
    As a whole I think it's better than their last two releases. The front end is stronger than the back end but it's medium quality is pretty consistant. It's nothing special.
  4. Nov 3, 2011
    5
    Overproduced album with none of the rawness that made Bush's first two albums some of the best guitar rock of the mid-to-late 90's. Bob Rock's production has sucked the soul out of these songs. It essentially sounds more like a follow up to Rossdale's 'Wanderlust' album than a Bush album. He desperately needs Nigel Pulsford back and desperately needs a good producer. Another study in how aOverproduced album with none of the rawness that made Bush's first two albums some of the best guitar rock of the mid-to-late 90's. Bob Rock's production has sucked the soul out of these songs. It essentially sounds more like a follow up to Rossdale's 'Wanderlust' album than a Bush album. He desperately needs Nigel Pulsford back and desperately needs a good producer. Another study in how a woman with a four letter name (Yoko/John, Etty/Jane's Addiction, Gwen/Gavin) softened their man to the point of artistic collapse. Expand
Metascore
51

Mixed or average reviews - based on 10 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 10
  2. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. Uncut
    Nov 23, 2011
    40
    Bob Rock's big production ladles on the reverb, merely emphasizing hollowness at the core. [Dec 2011, p.81]
  2. Kerrang!
    Nov 17, 2011
    40
    As far as comebacks go, sadly, this is not a good one. [29 Oct 2011, p.52]
  3. Nov 17, 2011
    50
    The Sea of Memories will most likely please those few Bush fans who've been hoping for a reunion, but it will not change the minds of those who relegated Bush to nothing more than a disingenuous rip-off of so many more brilliant '90s alterna-rock acts.