• Record Label: Red Ink
  • Release Date: Mar 6, 2007
User Score
8.7

Universal acclaim- based on 21 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 21
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 21
  3. Negative: 1 out of 21

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. GMan
    Mar 30, 2007
    9
    Great album. I keep playing the 5 first songs over and over. Circadian Rhythm (?) is pure gold. The previous album was great too, but this one is more relaxed and diverse.
  2. TimA
    Mar 5, 2007
    10
    Farrar and company add some new instruments and technique to their signature sound to great effect without coming off as experimental or forced. The same great songwriting and familiar voice remain. Great album.
  3. MikeJ
    Mar 7, 2007
    10
    Excellent album! The best Son Volt record since Straightaways, and it's as good as that, just in a different way. I didn't think it would be this good after the spotty Okemah, but it's really a great record. Highways and Cigarettes, the Picture and Methamphetamine are all classics.
  4. A.Gray
    Apr 16, 2007
    10
    Best since Trace. "Mthamphetamine" and "Underground Dream" are classic alt-country songs.
  5. bryante
    Apr 6, 2007
    9
    I listened to it in the store. I thought it sounded awesome with just samples of each song listened to. Definately on my list of things to buy. After I own it, my opinion my rating could very well go up.
  6. ScottS
    Mar 10, 2007
    10
    One of Son Volt's best albums!
  7. EPort
    Mar 10, 2007
    10
    downright phenomenal. Farrar keeps proving himself to be one of the greatest songwriters of our generation.
  8. RobS
    Mar 16, 2007
    9
    Very good album! I would give it an 8 normally but I pushed it up to a nine because it was great to hear Son Volt (Jay) stretching out a bit. It's very consistent, although for me, ther wasn't anything that quite reaches the heights of Bandages and Scars or Atmosphere from Okemah.
  9. DaveH
    Mar 18, 2007
    10
    Incredible. "Highways and cigarettes" is the most hauntingly beautiful song I have heard in years.
  10. TomS
    Mar 8, 2007
    10
    This is the record I was waiting for. I liked Okema but it was a little one-dimensional. This seems to have a breadth that has been lacking since Trace. At one point during (I think) satellite, I was equally shocked and amazed - is this Son Volt????? Awesome. And Methamphetamine - is there anyone who does this genre better? Now if only they'd play Bonnaroo again this year....
  11. drewc
    Mar 20, 2007
    10
    Best album Jay Farrar has created yet!!
  12. jakos
    Mar 6, 2007
    10
    Awsome! Jay has done it again
  13. MikeB
    Mar 19, 2007
    9
    A fabulous album that sees the band switching it up as much as thay (I mean 'he") did in Straightaways. Methamphetamine may be the next "Left a slide."
Metascore
65

Generally favorable reviews - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 16
  2. Negative: 1 out of 16
  1. While it may be impossible for this Son Volt to ever reach the pinnacle of their 1995 debut, no one can accuse Jay Farrar of going through the motions.
  2. It lacks the spark of the band's classic catalog material. [Apr 2007, p.191]
  3. On The Search... Farrar discovers some genuinely exciting new haunts, and frontloads them conveniently. [Mar 2007, p.62]